We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware with booking - This is not the same as The Hotel Karbel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karbel Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Karbel Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karbel Beach Hotel
Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 91 hotels in Oludeniz
Rotherham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beware with booking - This is not the same as The Hotel Karbel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Having stayed at the Hotel Karbel the previous year, we loved it so much we book to go back again.
HOWEVER we got palmed of with the sister Hotel - Karbel Beach. BE AWARE! this is not the same hotel! (it ay be the same company that runs it but its no where near as good quality as the Hotel Karbel) After speaking to various other people this has also happend to them!

The hotel is very small, rooms are small, The food is poor, the pool is tiny with only about 30 sunbeds. Theres not much to it apart from that.
It is however very close to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    88
    34
    13
    8
See reviews for
50
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010 via mobile

we stayed at the hotel 4 2 weeks with our 2 children. The location of the hotel is excellent, 5 mins from the beach and local restaurants and bars. The hotel itself has a quiet and relaxing enviroment which is surprising due too its location. We stayed half board. The breakfast was adequate, what you'd expect a continental to be. The food in the evening was again adequate. My only gripe would be they dont really cater 4 children which was fine 4 my eldest child but my youngest is very picky so was a struggle to get him to try different foods. The staff were very polite, freindly and helpful when asked 4 information and advise about the resort. We stayed on the ground floor which faced the bar area of the hotel and had no problems with noise. Overall no complaints what so ever about this hotel and would recommend it to others. Would probably go bb if i were to return to the karbel beach.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Having read some reviews before we left home we departed with some trepidation!! On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff & shown to our rooms. Our 15 year old teenage girls were in one of the 'dungeon' rooms directly below our room - but it was more than adequate. The rooms were modern, clean, light & airy with lovely bathrooms, small balconies & fridges. Our room was cleaned daily with linen changes every other day - the maid made arrangements of swans & fans on the bed with the clean sheets & towels - a nice touch!
The pool area was a little cramped & hot with the surrounding buildings giving no air flow but as the beach was only 2 minutes away it wasn't an issue. The bars and restaurants in Oludeniz are also varied & good.
The hotel bar was quiet at night - our room faced directly onto it but we had no problem with noise.
Will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Booked to stay at the karbel, got told 1 week before by jet2.com they were booked up and had to move to the sister hotel, not impressed, small, very quiet, couldn't eat food,
not really friendly, ( DEFINATELY BOT GOING BACK !!)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Returned from a very nice stay at the Karbel Beach at the end of July. Had requested a ground floor room as did'nt fancy hauling heavy cases upstairs, and got one of the rooms I think people were worried about, the so called " dungeon room"!
Well, I think they are needless worries as it was light, a reasonable size (you only sleep there after all!) and very clean. The balcony area IS very small, with no room for a table, but it was far too hot to sit out there during the day and in the evening the wet towels from the balcony above would be dripping down on you!
The pool area was spotless and you could get a sunbed at anytime of day, no problem! (The first time I've encounted THAT anywhere in high season!)
The breakfast was a bit boring but we were used to that, this being our 6th time in Turkey and the 3rd in O.D. You can get a full english there for 10tl which was good, and an omlette was added to the menu once a week.
We went B+B and did'nt eat there in the evenings especially as we'd heard from other guests that the food was'nt that good, and at 25tl for the buffet, quite expensive! Did find the luchtime snacks excellent and good value for money.
There are as many bars and eating places as you could possibly want, right on your doorstep without being noisy at night.
We had previously stayed at the Karbel Hotel, the Beach's sister, which was also good but this suited us much more. Taking a stroll down there for old times sake. we found it packed and very lively! Great for families with teenagers in tow! But we definatly made the right choice for us!
All in all we would defnately visit the Karbel Beach again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed 8 nights in this hotel. It was clean, some servers are so lovely but some (especially one with long hair) can be so cheap and irritating but if you don't show any interest he is harmless. The rooms are small but clean. Internet was not always working. The location was good! No enjoyment in the hotel but it is a quite hotel so it is good for the couples who don't want to see any screaming kids around. You can go to many tours but be careful and don't buy your tour from Pegas. They defrauded us and didn't give back our money. I complained them to the state funded consumer organizations so now waiting for the process. Oludeniz is a good place for sea, sun and beach and Karbel beach should be preferred for the money you paid and the service you received and the location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Myself and my partner have returned from a 2 week stay in Olu Deniz staying in the Karbel Beach Hotel.

We had a lovely hot holiday and would describe the hotel as basic but clean. It was very close to everything about 5 mins from the main strip and beach.
It has a nice pool area and the water is pretty warm the rooms are cleaned daily, however we realised that they make it seem like they change the towels but did not which after 2 weeks is not good! We had a litle balcony overlooking the pool which was nice, however we made the mistake of sitting out there one night and leaving the door open and we got bitten to death that night! I was not expecting very good air conditioning as we had stayed in similar priced hotel elsewhere in europe with non-existent air conditioning but it was really good here which is great as it was 40 degrees when we arrived!
We stayed as B&B so cannot comment on the evening meals as we ate out every night. The breakfast is nice as it is buffet style but there is not a large choice, there is bread, cheese, meats, cereal, boiled eggs sometimes scrambled egg, tfruit, tea, coffee and juices.

We had never been to Turkey before and had been recommended Olu Deniz, it is a purpose built resort so is very touristy and unfortunately when you wanted to escape it had areas which were very british! The beach is very bustly and there are paragliders coming down and landing regularly.- be prepared ot be constantly aproached to but stuff and make sure you haggle for everything as they are willing to go down on price.

Our favourite area was the blue lagoon which was beautiful- it is about 15 mins walk but you have to pay to get in which we were not aware of and is pretty cheeky. The beach is pebbled but the water is gorgeous, there are floating rafts to swim on to and sit on and if you swim out to the rocks the view is amazing it's a bit of a swim but worth it and i recommend snorkelling by the rocks where you see the most amazing fish!
We rented a canoe for 10TL which you can have for an hour and investigate there are pedlos which i think were about 20TL- we ended up going to the blue lagoon most days as it was so good but it is very busy. The view are fab with the mountains behind I think the blue lagoon is the most beautiful places we have ever swam in.

There are lots of places to eat out and there is a big range of food, it's a shame there weren't more turkish places. One place to definately eat was the restaurant opposite our hotel The Blue Star, it was traditional turkish with some turkish dishes and the staff were lovely, we loved it there and went there four times it was our favourite in terms of food and atmosphere. There are lots of cocktail bars and happy hour ranges from 9 in some pklaces to 11 in some places so it's worth going in cocktails hours to make it cheaper as normally a cocktail is 15TL. Def try the cocktails which you drink on bean bags on the beach which they bring to you bliss!!

Olu Deniz was not as cheap as we thought and some of the food was expensive but it is still cheaper than the rest of europe being outside the euro.
Would recommend going to the mud baths if great and your skin feels so good afterwards! also the boat trips are so relaxing- but be careful going for the cheap trips from companies that appraoch you on the strip as they jam on people like sardines! We booked a boat trip through first choice which went from fethiye but the cheaper trips went from the beach in olu deniz where the water was really rough we saw a few people get off and be sick!

Be careful we went with First Choice and changed up money to TL you had to pay for the trips in english money so we ended up having to pay the exchange rate to change it back- how ridiculous we were not warned of this previously so not happy about this at all as we had no english money on us at all- not impressed!

We had a lovely holiday, but 2 weeks was a bit too long esp as we ran out of money so couldn't do as many trips as we wanted- so would recommend about 10 days. There are loads of trips to do but you need the money as not cheap so it's worth doing lots of the trips. It is very pretty and extremely hot but very touristy, wouldn't recommend Olu Deniz if you're looking for culture so that was a shame as didn't want to go to an indian restaurant or a british pub!! It's good for couples and families not for singles as only restaurants and few bars to go to.

Good if you want sun, sea, cocktails and food!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karbel Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Beach Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 91 hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Karbel Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Beach Oludeniz
Hotel Karbel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karbel Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.