We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, great location and good all round hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Hotel to your Saves list
Turquoise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
TAG30
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, great location and good all round hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I travelled with my husband and 4 kids aged 14, 12, 10 and 4 and having been to Olu Deniz before had high expectations of what to expect. I have tried to cover a bit of everything below but please feel free to ask me any questions

ROOMS
We stayed half board and had 2 rooms booked due to the size of our party; which unless you have interconnecting rooms is not ideal. However, on arrival we were offered the room above the reception (708 i think) which was a small suite or we could still have our allocated 2 rooms. We had a look at the suite and although it was just crammed full of beds in the main living area it was more than adequate for what we wanted it for, sleep! There was a separate bedroom with double bed and a bathroom ensuite. The only negative things i can comment on were the beds were very firm, the shower cubicle was very small and the temperature of the water had a mind of its own sometimes. Though none of these points made any difference to our holiday and on talking to other guests their showers were huge!

FOOD
Breakfast was plentiful and had a huge choice including fried and boiled eggs, toast, turkish sausage (think it might just be recooked hot dog), beans, the biggest mushrooms youve ever seen, cereal and all the usual continental fare including fresh fruit. At dinner there was a section that they would change every day as well as about 60 different meze dishes such as salads and vegetable dishes which was all delicious and most of us gave everything a try. Though after the 1st week it did feel a bit samey and we ate out for a change.
i am a dry white wine drinker and found a passable bottle they served though i cannot remember what it was called! It was 35tl and was written and the top right hand side of the wine list. But the beer is so nice i didnt drink too much wine, especially at the those prices!
Their turkish night is worth going to and if you are half board or AI there is no extra charge. On one of the England match games we upgraded to AI as we were planning on staying around the hotel all day which was £12 extra each with children under 12 half price and under 5 were free.

HOTEL

The hotel is probably one of the largest in the area and the pool is just as big. We did experience the putting your towels down early and coming back after lunch by some of the guests and towards the end of our holiday as the hotel was getting busier it was hard to find some beds together that hadnt been 'bagged'. That said there were 6 of us so smaller families might be ok.

Myself and my husband went to the turkish bath which was lovely and relaxing and my husband also visited the barbers regularly for a face and complete head shave.
They also have a gym with some weights in, tables tennis and snooker table that has seen better days and more balls but who goes on holiday to be a pro snooker player!

There are 2 dogs on site who amble around the grounds who were never any trouble even with my 4 year old running after them every time she saw them.

ENTERTAINMENT

Well we were certainly entertained! The lovely Emre works tirelessly throughout the day playing water polo, water basketball, eater gym and funny pool games. My kids loved getting involved in the pool games and myself and my husband also joined in some of the polo and basketball. There was never any pressure to play and to be honest there was always a full team. I have some great video of my kids playing surf basketball.

My youngest daughter of 4 fell in love with Gizem who keeps all the young children amused in the childrens play area with face painting, games and crafts. Even the two teenage girls spent half their holiday helping her out with the younger ones and playing games. Without her i would have been running around chasing after the 4 year old. I was given a real break and managed to get through a whole book! Big thanks to both of them and Ceynur for enabling us to have a really relaxing holiday.
My kids loved them so much that there was more than a few tears on our last night :(
Evening entertainment is of good quality and there are always prizes to be won such as free cocktails, days out (including paragliding, bowling and turkish baths). Again, i have some great footage of my husband dressed as women. We dont normally get involved with such benidorm type games but because of the camaraderie between all teh guests and staff it was fun without being embarrassing.

STAFF
Well what can i say about the staff? Well our holiday just wouldnt have been what it was without them. As mentioned above Gizem, Emre and Ceynur were the ones we dealt with most as they are there interacting with the guests and ensuring everyone was happy. Other staff worthy of note are the bar staff whose names i cannot remember but who were so friendly as well as the restaurant staff who always remembered you and greeted you each time you went to dinner.

Just a quick note on trips which i will put in more detail under the correct forum but i booked all my trips with Tiny Akropol as well as return taxis to and from the airport. There were 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 younger children as well as 10 pieces of luggage so we felt it would make life that much easier to book a private transfer. As well as working out that much cheaper there were no stop offs at other hotels which cuts transfer times in half as Olu Deniz is the last resort on the journey. Worked out at about £40 each way - well worth it.
When booking the trips i just emailed them to say which ones i wanted and he sent down a man on a scooter to give me the tickets and collect the cash. This negates the haggling when walking down the strip and because we had booked taxis, we got a discount. Kids half price or free depending on their age.
We went to the mud bath and having been before with another company, found this one 100% better than the one we had been to before. I will add some pics soon. It seems the one we went to last time was the usual tour operator one and was so busy and not half as impressive as the one we went to this time.
Also went to Sugar beach club which is heaven on earth. Food was amazing as were the cocktails and its a lovely safe beach for young children. The prices are really reasonable too.

We had a fantastic time and really fell in love with the hotel and the area. We all experienced the post holiday blues on our return which we never normally get. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone young and old as it really does cater for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    305
    102
    40
    18
See reviews for
415
326
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

Initially a little disappointed by the room - a bit basic and tired (no chair or stool, no complimentary toiletries, small balcony) however we were in block 1, the oldest in the hotel so maybe the newer blocks are different , and all the balconies seem to be small. That said, this was more than compensated for by the cleanliness, the frequent linen changes and the friendliness of the maids. and the room was a good size.

The pool, pool bar and gardens are beautifully kept with plenty of sun beds and beanbags around the pool and the grassed area.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the food was more than adequate with the usual Continental and English dishes and hot food. The only extra to be paid for was an omelette which was cooked while you waited. We ate at the pool bar a couple of times and found the food reasonably priced and tasty.

There are facilities for children - we were there during term-time so there were only small children around but they were well catered for with organized activities every day and also activities for adults in the afternoon.

The staff were all lovely, the reception desk, the maids and waiters were without exception helpful, courteous and fun!

The only downside was the noise in the evenings from the entertainment in the pool bar and the hotel opposite, but this always ended promptly at midnight. As we seldom went to bed before 11.30 this was not a problem for us but might be if you have small children to settle.

This is a really nice friendly, family hotel. Although we are wrinklies we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I could waffle on about this hotel, but I will keep it short! - Basically, if you're looking for value, great service, great location, great food and friendly staff you wont go far wrong by booking this hotel.

I travelled with 32 members of my family to this hotel and what summed it up for me, was on the morning we were due to fly home, my 7 year old daughter said that she didnt want to leave Turkey, my sisters children said exactly the same!!

We opted for the all inclusive option which we paid for upon arrival as did all of our party, which we all agreed was very good value. The food is buffet style, the choices were varied, and for a buffet style menu, it was very good quality indeed. My mother who is usually fussy about her food was impressed, and that takes some doing!

My partner and i are looking to go back in September this year alone, it will be a different type of holiday but we know we will enjoy it just as much.

If you are looking to book this hotel you must try the newley built A la Carte restaurant, the back drop of the mountains is spectacular, it was simply excellent, you wont be dissapointed, the portions are very generous to boot!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Despite confirmation from my travel agent, we did not have a room available when we arrived. This did not appear to be an isolated incident as several other guests were dispatched to other hotels whilst we were waiting in reception to discover our fate. The hotel general manager did not appear to care and when I asked questions (in a civil manner) he walked away. Thompson allocated us another hotel but sadly our first day was wasted.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

The first time I came to this hotel was 2006, and 4 years on it still brings us back! The rooms are nice and the majority of them come with a brilliant view from the balconies. They are also made up every day by the cleaning ladies who are more than helpful. There is a mixture of entertainment throughout your stay there so no one night is the same. The children are kept more than happy with the new "childrens entertainer" they did all sorts of things in the childrens play area (which is in the shade) like paintings, making their own t-shirts, mini discos, they were always happy. There is also stuff for the adults to do like, crazy pool games, water gym, water polo, water basket ball, table tennis, pool..... the only thing I would say is that the music in the afternoon around the pool could do with being a little more chilled out. There is plenty of variety of food in the restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but if you fancy a change there is a new a la carte restaurant above the childrens play area, all our family went for a meal there and is was gorgeous! The greatest thing about the Turquoise is that the staff, they are so friendly and i just have to give them a mention.... Freddie (photographer, who is brilliant!), Bar and food staff Ogun, Rose, Koray, Niyazi, and Osman, Assistant manager, each one of them always go that extra mile to make sure that your holiday is a good one that you wont forget!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billcampbell1960
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

we traveled with thompsons to this hotel it was our 2nd time here. you will find the staff very helpful they will bend over backward to help if you want something or need anything just ask. the hotel is kept very clean. the maids come in every day and some days you get your towels folded as animals etc left on your bed. there are a few problems the food is not always up to much and if you are there for more than a week it repeats the second week. the other problem is the wasps the hotel set up tables for your evening meal twice a week around the pool but you can't eat there because you will get stung this need to be sorted out we did complain but not sure if anything will be done. the hotel is in a good location and is very good for people who may use a wheelchair. we recommed using paradise beach it's a private beach they will come and collect you and bring you back (free) if you want to try it just go to the 1st bag shop on the right hand side of the high street ask for glad she will sort it out they give a good rate for changing your money to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We loved the Turquoise Hotel. We did have problems when booking in as we had booked 2 rooms and were given one. This was eventually sorted out to the credit of the staff who were very obliging. The hotel and grounds were immaculate. We had no complaints regarding our room although basic they were kept clean by the wonderful staff. Breakfast was adequate and better than we have had before in Turkey, although sometimes the food could be cold but it most be diffuclt to cater fro so many. We tried the Terrace a la carte restaurant which opened whilst we there the food and service was excellent. We enjoyed the Barbecue night too.. The pool area was lovely. We personally loved chilling out on the benbags and big cushions every hotel should have such an area.!!The staff did a good job and once they got to know you they were friendly there were the odd exceptions mostly the restaurant staff- but isnt there always. Myr daughter had her beloved teddy taken which she has had from being young. The management tried to cheer her up and even bought her another although it wasnt the same it made her smile and we thought it was a nice gesture. Thank you!!
( Incidentally I hope the person who took it has all the bad luck that can be wished upon them for doing something so cruel !!!!sorry I am just hoping they read this review! ).

Try the Barbers at the hotel it is very reasonable

Olu Deniz is a perfect place and we loved the resort - it is a little walk into town but its worth it for the hotel. We didnt have a bad meal and all the restaurantswere clean. We would recommend Bello Gusto and Sugar & spice and the Buzz bar and The Madras indian all excellent. I disgree with the person saying you were hounded when walking into town they should try going to Spain or Greece. The people are trying to make a living and are pleasant enough give them a break!!!. We did a boat trip which cost £6 for adults and the kids went free well recommended. I would take GB£ as you got a better deal at the Supremarket and when booking trips etc.

We also used the freeee bus services to the beach Billys Bar and Seahorse just ring them and they will pick you up
All in all we had a fab time and would definitely go back but we have heard the hotel is to go all inclusive next year which would be a shame!!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#35 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turquoise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turquoise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.