We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed a Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turquoise Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Turquoise Hotel to your Saves list
Turquoise Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
gateshead
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not to be missed a Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Arrived on the 1st aug 2009 This hotel is very clean and the staff very freindly. A family run business who take pride in the cleanliness of the whole place, especially your rooms (stayed in block 7 room 707 ) Our room was huge and the bathroom just as big with a corner bath and shower, childs bed for my 12 year old was a good sturdy sofa bed (not a rickerty sprung low to the floor contraption!! which she normally has to put up with!) our bed seemed to be a kingsize.Extra chairs and small tables in the room with great air con and a fridge which was a mini bar but we bought our own and stored it in with there goods( maids keep a tab of what is taken out and is logged into a cashless system that is put on a tab that you pay for at reception this also operates by the pool and snack bar ) Safe was £1 english per day. Balconony small bur quaint 2x chairs 1 small table. Food at the snack bar was nice. Daily water polo, aqua areobics and belly dancing lessons if you want to particpate. Turkish Bath in hotel very good £20 for bath and full body massage. Hairdresser and barber there doing manacue and pedicxures also £7 Lovely Alsation dog "Jonny" lazes around hotel very freindly.Dorian Hotel NO PROBLEM as i had read some reviews about noise and our roon was opposite i have no compalints. Mosque just up the road from the hotel which does do call of prayer a few times a day including early morning but also not a problem, makes you feel a bit of turkish history and my 12 year old gave me a history lesson at the same time explaining all about it! Head to the beach and your breath will be taken away with the views. Need beach shoes though to get into water 10-15 lira there £4-7 .Sunbeds and Brolley 6 lira each for the day £2.50 approx. Head to Billys Beach for younger kids as water is calmer and shallow free bus service there and back order from reception, you only pay for sunbeds there not brolleys they are free. Resturants Captain Cooks the best went about 6 times Steak, chicken and lamb shish excellent. Also China Sun chinese , Bella Gusta of the front fab pasta and lasange. Draganora Chinese in Hisonaru Fantastic ! But SUN TRAP terrible a Gordon Ramsay Nightmare! and Ozzi OK. Hisonaru is alot busier than Olu Deniz use Dolmush 2.50 Lira each £1 approx will take you there in 10 mins just put your hand out on main road they will stop. This will also take you to fethiye market for 3.50 lira each about 20 mins hot but worth going and haggle like mad ! Focus Jeep safari Fantasic fun take your water gun and any old water bottle to water fight the other jeeps great laugh but be prepared to get WET no need to do hair and make up! you will look a wreck by the time you gat back and wear old costumes and shorts for mud baths as they can get ruined. 6 island boat trip ok but a bit boring for kids there was a water slide on the boat shoots you out into the sea . There is also a new water park in Ovachik just on outskirts of Hisonaru looks good. Turkish people very freindly they will kiss your wife, children and shake hands with you but dont be offended it is just there way! Still a bit of hassle in street getting you to buy and eat in ther resturants after a while you will learn to ignore them which sounds harsh but if you get into a conversation you could be there all day and night! In general though we had a fantastic holiday at a great hotel in a stunning resort!! and we would Definitley go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    305
    102
    40
    17
See reviews for
415
325
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have just returned from a week's holiday at this hotel with our four children, 16, 14, 11 and 9.
We arrived at dawn and as predicted by previous reviews our room allocation was wrong. One of the triple rooms in the basement of one block and the other on the first floor of another! We made a polite but firm fuss and were moved by midday by which time we had some sleep. Two nice clean rooms, a double with an extra bed. Pool was nice but the loud music all day every day drove me insane but our teenagers didn't mind it at all. Sun lounger bagging goes on as described which amused us no end. The majority of guests don't sit by the pool all day so there are enough to go round.
The food here is a disappointment but OK. The same buffet style for breakfast and dinner. We upgraded to a half board basis as it would work out to be cheaper for us than eating out every night. The staff are all very friendly and helpful and there were some hilarious entertainment evenings - not usually our thing at all but there was a friendly atmosphere and we found ourselves drawn in! We loved the beach and had delicious kebab/sandwiches from the Buzz bar take away kebab place, directly beneath the restaurant.
We would higly recommend the boat trips - we booked with Focus for about £6 per person including lunch. We had the fish option which was delicious fresh fish barbequed on baord while the children had the chicken option and were disappointed - five morsels of very average chicken. We took our own snacks and bottles of water although they do sell all this on board. A great day trip, all our children enjoyed this - definitely a must do.
We also spent a day at Sugar Bay beach resort which was really nice. A nice sheltered lagoon, great for families with young children. Nice bar, quiet beach and no loud music - bliss.
On our last day we hired a speed boat for ourselves which was the highlight for us. Not wildly expensive (£60 for the day including fuel) and we took sandwiches from Azda (local supermarket) drinks etc and had a great day exploring.
Fantastic weather - clear blue sky every day. The resort is built for tourism and although small and low rise, we felt it lacked any authentic Turkish feel. The restaurants are all much of a much-ness and higher price-wise than some other resorts.
As for travelling with teenagers, they are all very relaxed about serving alcohol to teenagers, this was not an issue for us but could for some.
For what we paid it was a good value holiday in the sun - we would return to Turkey but probably to a resort that wasn't quite so tailored to tourism alone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This hotel is ideally located, and all amenities are with in within easy walking distance. The hotel is clean, however, I had read reviews mentioning the Hotel opposite (The Dorian) being noisy, although there is some noise at night, it is nothing compared to the bloody awful heart thumping music that plays around the pool area of the Turquoise. No tranquil sunbathing opportunities here. This is a shame as the pool area is quite nice.
Breakfast is ok, but nothing special, and I certainly would'nt waste money on half board here, when there are so many good resteraunts nearby.
To avoid the awful noise around the pool, be sure to go to Sugar Beach (lagoon) you can get a free bus from the hotel, and it's absolutely lovely. If you want a clean decent room to sleep in as a base and nothing else then this hotel is ideal, bet there is probably better nearby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here from the 2nd to the 16th. At the back of the resort which gave us an occasional breeze in temperatures which were in the low 40"s. This hotel is very clean with well kept gardens & public areas. Our room was in block 2 overlooking a road & the Dorian Hotel, this did not bother us as both are fairly quiet. We had maid service daily & one day we returned to find our towels laid out on our bed in the shape of 2 Swans decorated with flower petals from the gardens. As this was only our second visit to Turkey we stayed half board but we found the food to be a bit basic but well cooked & plentifull. For breakfast if you paid 5 or 6 ytl extra you could also have a choice of, Pancakes, Omlettes ( choice of fillings ) or a full English. When having our evening meal we found the restaurant, although very spacious, did get quite hot. The price of drinks in the Turquoise were the same as in the local bars. All the staff here were always courteous, friendly & nothing was to much trouble. We also had a Turkish Night with a Belly Dancer & Dance Troup on the grass a Barbecue Night around the pool as well other events on most nights by the bar.
Oludeniz is a gem with loads of restaurants, We had a meal in Simons restaurant, on the road up from the main bus stop. It was a set meal for 2 for 24 ytl which was fresh Sea Bream & a starter, bloody gorgeous.
Visit the Anfora bar on the strip just up from the beach & say hello to Ozzie & the crew, he makes the best cocktails & it has a great atmosphere, we were always laughing at there at their antics. Opposite here is a shop which sells the best Turkish Delight we ever tasted, but taste it loose in the trays, not the boxed stuff.
The long beach here is gorgeous & at night close to the Buzz Bar it is lit up and laid out with big bean bag type cushions. Also check out Sugar Beach in the lagoon, there is also Searhose & Billys Beach as well.
We also went up to Hiseranou on a Dolmus ( Bus ) cost about £2. We also did a chill out cruise on a small boat from Fetiye with a meal cooked by the crew.
We hope to return to Oludeniz next Summer but on B&B as we want to eat out more as some of the meals look fantastic.
Paragliding off Babadag Mountain, well maybe.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We unfortunately were allocated a basement "dungeon" room but managed to get moved to another room on the second day. Our new room overlooked the Dorian Hotel and do not believe all the other reviews about the noise - yes there is some but this is a holiday resort and I think it stopped around midnight anyway (earliest we were back was about 2am and was quiet then lol). The staff are amongst the friendliest and most helpful I have ever met. The pool is huge with a safe kiddies splash pool as well. We enjoyed sunbathing on the large lawn above the pool which was quieter than at pool side. There was always plenty of sunbeds and bean bags to go round so no having to get up at silly o'clock to get your towels out. The food in the restaurant was reasonable with lots of choice and the two BBQ evenings we had were fantastic. Olu Deniz is a modern purpose built resort so don't go there if it's history etc. you want. The beach is large pebbles by the sea with a steep dip into the sea, so not safe for young children. The nightlife is pretty good with Buzz Beach Bar a must for anybody visiting. We went on the island boat trip - fantastic value, out from 11am until 7pm, including lunch for approx 15tl. Would I go to the hotel again - yes, would I go to Olu Deniz again - probably not, would I go to somewhere else in Turkey - yes.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My girlfirend (30) and i (23) stayed at the Turquoise Hotel for 8 nights at the beginning of the month. I booked though Travel Republic and got a great deal so check them out.

Firstly Olu Deniz is a beautiful resort catering well for all with pleanty of activities, excursions, and resturants but its quite small and you can walk from end to end in about 15mins. A short and cheap bus ride will take you to other resorts and Fethiye which is a massive town with a beautiful harbour. The main strip and along the beach is car free which means its nice and peaceful and also safe for kids. Its a very modern resort but looks traditional and is very clean and well looked after and there are no buildings higher than 2 stories so not to disturb the views of the mountains which are breathtaking. The Beach is good although very stoney towards the sea so i advise you buy 'beach shoes' which you will see sold everywhere from about 15 to 20 TL (about £8). The Blue Lagoon is a 15min walk from main strip (20 from hotel) and is about £1.30 each to get in. Its amazing. Get a pedlo for an hr and go round the edge of the mountains in the lagoon. We didnt see any turtles but other people we spoke to had. There are loads of daytrips available but prices vary so shop around. We done the 12 island boat trip and the jeep safari, both i would highly recommend. The safari with 'Bloody Georgeous' was brilliant although prepare to get wet so keep you camera safe. you visit Sakklikent Gorge which is amazing, and a mud bath which is fun. Also the Turkish Bath is really good.

Anyway, the hotel. Set at the back of the resort its nice and quiet and only a 2min walk to nearest shop and the start of the main strip. Its basic as you'd expect from a 3* but very well looked after with friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast is ok but quiet unusual with cereal and toast but lots of salad and olives and stuff which im not into. You can still get a full english but you have to pay. The rooms are adequate and clean with comfortable beds. The balconys are small but you get chairs and a table, adequate for a couple. I had seen reviews on here and other sites where people had complained about rooms on the road side saying its noisy and the hotel next door (Dorian) plays loud music. I have no complaints but i suppose for an older couple it may not be ideal. Anyway the window and balcony door is practically soundproofed so you cant hear a thing. And the road is not the main road into the resort as it looks on a map, so its very quiet. I would strongly advise you get a room that is NOT on the ground floor as they are set below the ground down a few steps and have absolutely no views. The pool and pool bar are great, pool is large, there are plenty of sunbeds, and the prices of food and drinks are the same as outside which you wouldn't expect. The hotel had theme nights with bbq's which are great fun and there is table tennis and pool which we played alot.

I found it hard to find prices of everyday goods before i went so heres some:

pint beer: 5TL (£2)
cocktail: 10TL (£4)
soft drink: 3TL (£1.20)
Pizza or Burger: 12-18TL (£5-£7)
Fish or Steak meal: 20TL-30TL (£8-£12)
English breakfast: 9TL (£3.50)
Ciggarettes: 5.5TL (£2.20)
2 Sun beds and parasole on beach (all day): 16-18TL (£6)
Ice cream (e.g Magnum): 2TL (80p)
Paragliding: £40
Boat trips: £3-12 (inc lunch)
Jeep Safari: £12 (inc lunch)
Turkish bath: 20TL (£8)

I hope my review helped. I booked this hotel (and Olu Deniz) based on the reviews it recieved and it paid off. I would recommed it to couples and families of all ages and i hope to return myself oneday. Please check out some photos i have uploaded. Have a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Stayed here with two friends, we are all 18 year old girls and were very pleasantly suprised! did lots of research beforehand on the hotel and was told to request a room that wasn't on the ground floor, this is a must as the ground floor rooms seem to be below floor level and thus very dark. we had also heard that block 4 was the best, and so put this in our request along with the request not to have a ground floor room. We had room 411 which had a pool view, was big enough for 3 girls with lots of luggage, and had a double bed and a single, not a camp bed as we expected!
We stayed on a B&B basis and breakfast was good, big buffet which was constantly topped up, some strange options like olives and a LOT of salad items but i guess they have to cater for everyone! was a little disappointed that you had to pay extra for omelettes and cooked breakfast though, so we did not have these.
Lots of staff around all the time, pool bar staff very friendly, as were the cleaning ladies. rooms were cleaned and tidied thoroughly every day, even with fresh flowers used for decoration sometimes.
The hotel is at the back of the resort, but is a short and nice walk through the town to get to the beach, though the pool at the hotel was really nice, big enough even though the hotel seemed full, and enough sunbeds for everyone.
We went paragliding with Focus for £45 (definitely worth it!) and also went with them for a boat trip, an absolute bargain at £5 for a full day trip on a big boat with a waterslide with cooked lunch included!
Buzz beach bar is a must for both food and cocktails (made our way through most of the list!), we also ate at Sultan Pepper's, Captain Hook's and the Karbel Hotel which were all delicious
All in all, Olu Deniz is a fabulous place for a chilled out beach holiday, only downside i can think of is that the beach was pebbles and not sand, but wasn't a huge problem! beach shoes might be a good idea also.. The turquoise hotel gave us everything we wanted and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turquoise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Hotel

Address: Belcegiz Mevkii, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#35 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turquoise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turquoise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turquoise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.