We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellis Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mellis Beach to your Saves list
Mellis Beach
Carsi Cad. No:11, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 105 Hotels in Oludeniz
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

This is a great hotel, handy to the beach and bars, the mian one is the Tequila Bar. We go twice a year for 3 weeks maybe next year for 4/5 weeks, (hopefully) Our friends own this hotel,(friends for 11/12 years) in our view there is no other better hotel to stay in, its nice and small, no kids etc running around the pool (if your looking for piece at the poolside) sooooooooo the next time your thinking of going to oludeniz, give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

i was recommended this hotel by a turkish friend after a Trauma earlier in our Holiday.
All I wanted to do was relax and be calm, I found that in spades here. I cannot compliment the staff highly enough. If you are a light sleeper then it may not be the place for you because it,s situated between 2 busy lively Bars and there is some noise, it didnt bother me in the slightest, once my touched the very fluffy pillows. The beds are spotless & comfortable. The rooms are Extremely clean, taken care of by a beautiful lady who treated us as if we were in a 5 star* Hotel. The pool was a private small Beautifully maintained area, it felt more like a Boutique Hotel during the daytime, Peaceful & Calm. Awesome views of the Mountains. If you are on a budget this is the place for you. Reasonable prices. A Fabulous Trukish Breakfast (yummy)served evey morning as part of the price,. Fantastic! Warm! Wellcoming! Helpfull! Staff & in the Middle of a Very Lively Location. We met some Awesome! people and after a Hugh hiccup to the start of our holiday found a Diamond in the rough.
I,m glad we left our previous hotel in Ovacik and found this little jewel. Thanks To eveyone we met, you were great!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I really recommend the Mellis Beach, we did not initially plan to stay here but ended up here on a friends recommendation after walking out of our booked hotel because of an absolutely awful experience and rude unhelpful people.
The Mellis Beach could not have been more different, we were warmly welcomed right away and given lots of support after the trauma of the first few days, the people were absolutely lovely and couldn’t do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The hotel itself is quite basic and I must admit at first I was worried about the lack of luxury in the rooms but I soon found that it had everything I needed for a comfortable stay, the rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable the pool area was lovely and quiet, the included Turkish breakfast was superb, service was great and the fellow guests were all really lovely friendly people (a huge change from our earlier experience)
There was a bit of noise at night from the busy Main Street and bars and I wouldn’t have initially chosen to stay in the middle of a busy tourist strip because I prefer to see a bit more culture but it was actually a really good experience, once you are in your room the noise is minimum and I had no trouble sleeping. Its cheap and easy to get out and explore other less touristy parts of the area if you want to which suited us.
I would return to Mellis Beach hotel as i think it is great value for money and the staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Having searched the net on numerous occasions my fiancee and I found a great deal to Olu Deniz staying at the Mellis Beach. I had been to Olu Deniz on two occasions the last being approximately 6 years ago so I knew (or at least thought I knew) the town. From memory the Mellis Beach was a nice hotel with a great restaurant attached to it and with a great location.

We arrived at the hotel at 4am and immediately we were disappointed with our choice. There didn't seem to be anyone there to greet us and when the staff did approach us they weren't very welcoming. The next day Pauline the owner did say that they hadn't been given a time for our arrival so didn't know when to expect us, so this kind of explained the situation.

We were given a room (very basic but what you'd expect for the money) on the ground floor under a grape vine canopy which although we were disappointed with at the start proved to be very beneficial. It was very shaded and provided easy access for those lazy days around the pool - it was just a shame that we were missing a view. So everyhting up until now had been average, however the best or worst was still to come.

When we went to bed on our first, second, third, fourth, firth, sixth and seventh night we failed to sleep due to the noise coming from the Kareoke bar ajoining the hotel at one end and the Tequila Bar playing rock music at the other end. This would continue every night until at least 1 am if not 3 am on a Saturday. The hotel is small, personal and clean but the location is awful if you're looking for a quite relaxing holiday.

Olu Deniz has unfortunately started to take on many of Hisaranous negative aspects. It has become infested with neon signs, tacky shops (including Tesko, Sainsbury and Azda) and overly loud music. As a result the Mellis Beach has gone from being a nice hotel in a great location to being a nice hotel in a bad location. They have changed the great restaurant twith uniformed waiters to just another eatery serving the British tourist. Luckily the beach in Olu Deniz is still very appeailing and the scenery is as amazing as ever. With great bars and restaurants (such as Buzz Bar and Help) on the sea front there are still reasons to make this a worthwhile holiday destination.

Pauline was lovely and couldn't do enough to help as were her two managers.

If you are looking for a late night, loud, party holiday then the Mellis Beach is a great hotel for you. However if you are looking to relax, unwind and chill out then it's great during the day time around the pool but you may want to find somewhere else to stay at night.

I can't help wondering if in the long run Olu Deniz would have been better off staying as the chilled out turkish beach town it once was - but then that's commercialism for you!

  • Liked — The swimming pool
  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2008

We have been staying at Mellis Beach for 7years staying twice a year, staff are brillant, the owners Selami & Pauline are wonderful we have become very good friends, we go again on the 19th May for 3 weeks and then again 15th September 2008 for another 3 weeks can't wait

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2008

with less than 3weeks until we visit the mellis for the 3rd year in a row and like were ever you go you pay for what you get the one thing that you dont have to pay for is a very nice small quite family run hotel , pauline and salemi treat you like long lost family the staff have always been polite and friendly from the day you arrive and the complimentry drink to the day leave , to relax around the pool in relative pease and quite is bliss the hotel resturant serves exellent food. id go as far as to say weve never had a bad meal any where would recomend this hotel and area to anyone

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The New Forest, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I found this hotel by chance a few years ago ('04) and have been back twice ('06 and '07). I'll certainly be returning because it has everything I need at a good price. And the staff are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2004, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mellis Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellis Beach

Address: Carsi Cad. No:11, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mellis Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mellis Beach Oludeniz
Mellis Beach Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellis Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.