We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Tulip Oludeniz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Magic Tulip Oludeniz to your Saves list
Magic Tulip Oludeniz
Belcekiz Mah 224 sok, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just returned home from another fantastic holiday in Olu Deniz.This was our 2nd holiday to Olu Deniz but our first stay at this hotel. We booked this holiday as a late deal just 2 weeks before departure. We had a look on here for reviews and as usual there are good and bad but we arrived with an open mind. When we arrived in the early hours on Fri 4th July as soon as we got off the transfer coach there was a man who took my suitcase straight into reception where we were then given our room key (Room 105) and the man then lead us to our room. We we in a basement room and if you've read other reviews from this hotel then you'll be expecting us to say it was awful. However, our room was very spacious as was the bathroom, a larger balcony than those with rooms on upper floors perfect for what we needed for the week :) The rooms were cleaned everyday, fresh bed sheets and fresh towels every day.
Breakfast was a typical turkish breakfast with meat, bread, olives, cheeses, eggs and cornflakes.
The bar staff were very friendly and extremely hard working with very few hours sleep. We attended the turkish BBQ night which they host on a Wednesday night with Belly Dancers and a fire eate, although we didnt stay for the entertainment, the food was great. Before the BBQ there was a photographer taking pictures of couples/families etc with a parrot and a pirate. We decided to buy our photos on a CD as they were holiday memories and we have arrived home to find the photos have not been saved onto the disc correctly so if you decide to buy photos from this man please ensure the photos are on the disc before you leave or you could be like us and waste £20 (70lira)
We didnt pay for air conditioning, we were only in our room to shower and sleep so just having the patio door open was enough for us. However it was available for £35/week as were a safe and mini fridge for £14/week.
This hotel has free wi-fi in the bar/ swimming pool area :) There is a pool table free to use :) The swimming pool was small but big enough for the hotel. As previously mentioned people did struggle to find a sun bed but they were the late afternoon risers, you snooze you lose :P but to be honest it depends what the other guests are like some times you will get people who put towels out the night before or early hours of the morning but we didnt experience this at all. We went down for breakfast at 8 every morning and there were few sunbeds occupied.
All in all another fantastic holiday in Olu Deniz and we would return to this hotel tomorrow.
As said in a previous review some people expect 5* hotels for 3* prices. One last thing i will say is this hotel is not wheelchair friendly nor does it cater for those who struggle with stairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    109
    54
    35
    47
See reviews for
68
159
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Spent a week here and was more than pleased with the service food and room for the price we paid. We spent the first night in basement as hotel full but they were more than happy to change us to a lovely room the next day. I loved the relaxed feel to the place and the Turk is night was fun and worth the cost. If I ever end back to Olu Deniz I would definitely stay here.And Sam the surly barmen made me laugh.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Me and my boyfriend have just come back from our 11 nights holiday at the Magic Tulip! To be honest I was a bit nervous after reading some reviews on here but all I can say is some people expect 5* hotels for 3* prices!!

We arrived here in the early hours of 29/6/14 and were greeted be a shy bloke who took our cases and checked us in at reception. We got lead to our room which was a new row of bungalow type appartments. We were suprised to see how clean and new our room was, new bathroom, new kingsize bed, wardrobe ect. The only thing was we didnt get a balcony as we requested but were not picky.

Anyway, we got up early for breakfast which was served between 8-10am which was a traditional turkish breakfast. Tea, coffee and a few flavoured fruit juices were also included. Pool could have done with been a tad bigger but was fine for the amount of people round the pool. Staff were really friendly and our room was cleaned everyday and clean towels was provided. Air con cost us £50 for the whole of our stay and boy did we need it! It was absolutley boiling in the rooms. We only ate in the hotel once as it was cheaper elsewhere.

Olu Deniz is soooo soooo cheap aswell you cant spend your money, well we couldnt! A few restaurants I would recommend would be Secret Garden (just across road from hotel) Jade (on sea front) N-joy (half way down the strip) Josephs Bar (on strip) and aslo Phillips bar (across from hotel). Shopping is good too, you can get some good bargins if you can haggle! We went on the 6 island boat trip which cost us 10tl bewtween us which included your dinner too! It was beautiful and you was out 11-5pm so well worth money, went to Feitye market which was a bit intimidating but a good experience and we also went up to Babadag mountain which was breathtaking!! Stunning views all around you, we watched all the paragliders take off which was good!

We also went to Billy's beach a couple of times. If you give reception 1tl they phone the beach and they send a free shuttle bus to pick you up and take you back and within 5 mins they are waiting for you outside your hotel. The beach was out of this world and the food is lovely. It costs 18tl for x2 sunbeds and a parasol which works out about £5.

So all in all I would definately recommend this hotel and Olu Deniz if your wanting a cheap, amazing and a beautiful holiday to remember!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you're looking for a very budget hotel when in Olu Deniz, then look no further than the magic tulip.

It's right off the main strip and about five minutes walk to the beach so location is good.

Stick to bed and breakfast or full board though as we went half board and got a smaller range on our breakfast and an evening meal menu with only 5 starters and 5 mains on, not ideal when you're staying for 2 weeks!

Those who were full board seemed to get better service overall whereas we were somewhat ignored the whole time, and the bar tender that did talk to us just looked constantly annoyed or hungover...

Also be very careful with the bar and keep a note of what you've ordered. Rather than having a card which you can charge drinks to your room, you simply shout out your room number waning it's very easy for other guests drinks to be charged to your room, as happened to us.

The rooms were ok although the AC wasn't very good so can't fault it there. If you're travelling on a budget then stay here but if you can afford a slightly better hotel then take it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel was ideal for us as my boyfriend has family living in the area so we were not planning on being at the hotel much.
We had a basement room and they're not half as bad as suggested basic and very clean. Rooms are cleaned everyday and clean towels are also provided. The cleaners were always happy and helpful. Good power shower, balcony isnt the typical expected as our didnt get much sun but we managed to dry our stuff all the same.
All areas are cleaned daily and aircon is available from £5 a day. Nice bar area. Breakfast wasnt very nice we skipped breakfast 5/7 days we were here. We never went to the pool because there was never any room for us! This was our biggest issue. We over heard two English couples one night and they had just arrived at about 1am and were planning on reserving sunbeds that night ready for the morning! We found this very unfair! Luckily for us we have connections with other hotels through my boyfriends family and were allowed to use their pools but this isnt possible for everyone.

This hotel is GREAT if you want to be out everyday and not lounging around the pool area.

Overall we had a good holiday and it's not the hotel that makes your holiday it's what you make of it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

it's been our 4th year at Olu Deniz and each time we've stayed at the Magic Tulip. It's situated just off the main strip and a 10 minute walk down to the sea front.Its a family run hotel and very friendly.It has a nice pool and bar area and you'll be greeted by Sam and Boo on the bar who provide a great service as well as friendly banter.There are some basement rooms but we have been fortunate enough not to have stayed in one. The rooms we have stayed in have all been very nice with a balcony and have been a decent size.Maid service every day and clean towels.Fridge, air con & safe are extra on arrival and costs £ 9.50 per day.
Breakfast is traditional turkish and served between 8am and 10am.Food at the hotel is good and make sure you do the turkish night great value for £10,Belly dancer, fire entertainer and buffet.
All in all this is a great budget hotel we've stayed here 4 times and really enjoy the atmosphere and friendly staff we've never found it too noisy. Drinks at the bar are charged to your room as they don't take cash over the bar. We always settle our bill the following day at recepton and have never had any issues.
If your looking for an hotel on a budget we woud definitely recommend the Magic Tulip.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weeks holiday at the Magic Tulip. We booked the holiday a couple of months ago and this is our 3rd trip to Olu Deniz but the 1st time at this hotel.

The hotel itself is actually quite nice. The staff are friendly enough and work very hard.

There is a nice bar, clean pool area and roof top sun terrace. All of the food we had in the snack bar was tasty and good value.

The breakfast was ok - typical toast, cereals, cheese & eggs - but for an extra cost you can order other options that looked nice.

Unfortunately the room we had was on the ground floor and located down a dingy outdoor corridor at the rear of a tall accommodation block. Sorry but no matter how modern and clean the room was, nothing could make up for it being dark, dingy, having no balcony, no view at the front or rear and stinking of stale drains! A horrible experience rather like being in a cave for a week! We honestly think if you were lucky enough to get a better room, your stay here would be much enhanced!

The bar at the hotel doesn't accept cash and they run a system where anything you order is put on your room tab. We meticulously monitored what we had and apart from 1 x 2 lira bottle of water that we didn't purchase, it was spot on, and it was actually quite nice not having to carry cash around all the time.

The BIGGEST issue for us with this hotel is the noise. We knew the hotel was just off the main strip, and were fine with that, to be honest we spent most of our time down there in the evening anyway! Strangely we didn't have any trouble sleeping and the music level was fine at night.

What did bother us was the traffic noise outside the hotel. It was impossible to relax on the sun terrace due to the constant comings and goings of cars, vans, lorries, motorbikes etc pulling up outside delivering to the strip, radios on, horns blaring. Certainly spoiled the atmosphere for us, so we ended up having to go out every day just to escape the noise.

To sum it up, the hotel is good value for money, and a good location, yes it's noisy, but if you want a decent, cheap week in the sun in this fantastic resort, you could do worse than staying here. Would we visit the Magic Tulip again, probably not. Olu Deniz 100%!!

One last thing re the resort itself, we really enjoyed the breakfast we had at Joseph's, Sultan Ahmet & the Best kebab & pizza (& chilli peppers) - are all very nice and excellent value. Drinks at the Harry's and cloud9 are also a must! The Elvis show on tues & fri at the Flying Dutchman is also really good!

Have a great time on your hols :-) hope this review helps.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Tulip Oludeniz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Tulip Oludeniz

Address: Belcekiz Mah 224 sok, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magic Tulip Oludeniz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Tulip Oludeniz Hotel Oludeniz
Magic Tulip Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz Magic Tulip Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Tulip Oludeniz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.