We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hasn't changed a bit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocakkoy Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocakkoy Holiday Village to your Saves list
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Catallar Mevki Alacik Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Central England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Hasn't changed a bit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

How lovely to go back to somewhere (after 4 years) and find it hasn't been overdeveloped, or spoilt ... in fact, it's hardly changed at all despite now being under new management.

Okay, they've changed the road access so it now seems a bit more remote than it actually is and they've built a terrace for the restaurant - but that's it! The other good news is that the villa development around seems to have halted for the moment, so Ocakkoy is as peaceful as ever.

We keep recommending it to family and friends ... and they all feel the same. Just great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing us again for your travel destination. Looking forward to seeing you and your family again this summer.Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

The previous comments by "It is what is says on the tin" just about sums Ocakkoy up.

We have now been three times over the last 6 years, and the boys have graduated from the children's pool to the adult pool.

Relaxing, friendly, unique... no wonder so many of us keep returning there! I have met families that have returned 6/7 times... and so quiet and peaceful, at the top pool, but lots of kids enjoying themselves in the larger family pool (out of earshot completely). If it weren't for BBQ nights you would never know there were other families there!

All the staff are friendly, although I was a bit worried initially when I found that the ownership had changed last year... but nothing to worry about... all as good as ever.

One member of staff deserved of a mention is Tourgai (probably wrongly spelled) who runs the adult pool bar and restaurant and is a very good backgammon player. He has replaced Mugio, who is "in the army now" doing nat service, and anyone who remembers Mugio, rest assured that you will continue to be well looked after.

This year we booked direct again (saves a fortune!!!) and it all runs smoothly, although the transfer didn't arrive... not their fault. A taxi at an agreed price was actually slightly cheaper so no problems.

My one slight criticism is the restaurant, which is not as adventurous as some others and whilst we sometimes eat there in the evening, we tended to use the Yakamos next door (around a 1000 mtre walk) It is truly superb (and they give you a lift back to the hotel).

We love Ocakkoy, and have already decided we will return, although we NEVER go to the same place twice (although there are always exceptions)

PS Don't tell anybody else about this place... we don't want it to get busy do we!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for preffering to stay with us. We do our best to satisfy our guests needs as much as possible. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Ocakkoy—5th July -26th July.

The Ocakkoy is situated almost halfway between Ouldeniz and Fethyie access to which is via an approx 400 meter drive/walk from the main road through the forest along a dusty track.
Here the Ocakkoy sits, in a national park, dedicated to conservation and responsible tourism and in glorious settings, surrounded by mountains on 3 sides and overlooking the town of Hisarano across the valley below.
We booked this holiday directly through their website www.ocak-koy.com and it has to be noted here, that all through the enquiry/booking process as well as the many emails over a period of 8 months or so, contact was exceptional and all questions answered. We are both extremely grateful to “Pinar” the young lady who was our main point of contact throughout, praise at the top level for her customer service, who arranged everything, including transfers from the airport as well as the champagne and flowers for our cottage, was also equally pleasant when we finally met up, many a tour operator could certainly learn from how we both were dealt with and received. Flights would have to be your own responsibility, we went with Thomas Cook, paid a little more than the budget airlines, but that was after reading many a review in reference to Kiss flights, Saga Airline (Turkish Company) and Viking Air, we had dealings with customers of these airlines and the stories were not good.
This destination here is like no other we have ever experienced, having spent all our holidays in the Greek islands, our stay in Turkey was a first and what a place to find for our 3 weeks. You could suggest in some ways that this may be a problem? As from now on, any accommodation in whatever setting/country will always be compared to the Ocakkoy and sadly I doubt if you will ever find better.
The location is an old abandoned hillside village from many years ago, and in1985 was opened to accommodate the tourist industry, which consists of many old Turkish style cottages as well as some studio apartments, restaurant area, 3 swimming pools, (2 for adults only and 1 for children some distance apart). The reception, run by a truly magnificent young lady, known as Aylen, here contains a small market style affair for the basics, also money exchange, safety deposit box (chargeable) she is a mind of information and eager to please with bookings for trips etc.
We were fortunate in that this being a 3 week stay for our honeymoon, Pinar booked us into Cottage 29, situated towards the rear of the village as we wanted peace and quiet through our stay, it has to be said that no matter where you stay here, peace and quiet is guaranteed. Being an early riser the first sound you here (0450am) is from the mosque far across the valley, calling all to prayer, then as the sun appears over the mountain, one can detect the sounds of herders moving their goats somewhere off in the distance hills and other farm/wildlife animals making ready for the new day. Presently as I write this from our terrace here at the Ocakkoy, I have 3 red squirrels playing no more than 12 feet away on trunk of the tree, the tortoises which frequent the village will be on the move soon also, grapes and melon always guarantee a visit, not to mention the village cat, which will be popping in sometime for its milk, not to mention all the other animals and reptiles which come to life.
The cottage here (No29) and like all the others are set well apart, giving each one privacy,all come with a terraced area under the grapevines above and a magnificent view across the valley below as well as the mountain range which surrounds us. No doubt all cottages have been maintained at the same level, in that the internal side is pure Turkish in its decor, scattered carpets, all very basic but every so charming in its content. From the front door you enter the living room, a wide open area with white washed walls, an open fire for the winter times, large cushioned settee and the kitchen area, which again although basic, provides you with everything you need to rustle up a meal, should you not wish to eat out, fridge, kettle and 3 ringed gas appliance are as standard.
The bedroom is off from the main room, consists here of a comfortable bed, with the air-condition unit above, window to the views outside and a built in area to hang your clothes. Off the bedroom, the bathroom/wet room is situated, light and airy as well again, small window to outside views.
The terraced area to the front has a large table and 4 chairs, set under an old timber frame, with grapevines covering as well as wall flowers, a small 2 foot old rock built wall surrounds that also, providing great homes for the smaller wildlife as well as your very own lizard, which pops out from time to time, though very camera shy!
The village itself is adorned by trees of all varieties, cactus and many different types of plants, which are carefully maintained by the ground staff, all very much geared towards conservation, no cars are permitted beyond the reception area, so any luggage or food shopping has to be carried from the carpark.
Ocakkoy’s restaurant, also contains the bar area, which serves the main adults pool, the restaurant itself offers a wide menu, starting with breakfast, throughout the day snacks are on offer to those with a greater appetite, all freshly cooked and prepared on request, evening meals again are wide in choice and every Tuesday, a BBQ is set up, all this food is cooked by a magnificent chef as well as his kitchen team, who obviously take a great deal of pride, in the way these meals are presented. Just as point here also, I visited the chef in the kitchen and was blown away by the hygiene and overall standard, as he told me, we cook and always have a cloth in one hand keeping it clean. The kitchen would not look out of place on a military camp, everything within was spotless and neatly laid out. Praise indeed too for the bar/waiter staff, everyone is very much geared up for you to have a wonderful time, as quoted to me by the manager, “if you are having a good time, then we are too in the knowledge we are doing it right”.
The pool area for adults only, consists of 2 pools, the smaller being for chill times, the larger for us adults wishing to be kids again, both are immaculate in their presentation, cleaned daily and is open from 0900 onwards, plenty of soft matted sun loungers as well as 3 covered areas for those that wish to keep out the sun, adjacent to the pool area, are table and chairs as well as a massive cushioned area for relaxing and reading. Off that again, is the massage table, again all under grapevines and providing shade as well as the sun as required. The family pool, a short distance across the village is equally well presented and with its own bar etc, guarantees those with children have fun also, under the palms which surround you here.
May I also recommend you take time out for a massage here with the visiting masseur, Haydar. He is just fantastic at what he does and infact teaches this technique over in the UK at the Royal Berkshire Hospital, also around the world. For approx £40 for an hour or so, you come away feeling terrific and de-stressed.
From the Ocakkoy base, there is much to do and experience, be it by car or by bus (which are cheap and frequent), by car the better as taxi’s here in Turkey are very expensive. Take time out to go off beat and meet the real Turkish people, who are kind and generous, certainly not the ones you see in main resorts like Ouldeniz and alike, who you feel just want to get as much out of you as they can, basically getting ripped off with extortionate prices. Here off beat they expect little, yet offer a great deal and you get to feel the real side of Turkey in general.
As for those wishing to come to Turkey, looking for comfort, peace and tranquillity and just wonderful all round staff, please look no further than the Ocakkoy, I cannot praise this place enough, it’s a diamond amongst the jewels
On the brochure the title obviously is “Ocakkoy” underwritten a phrase.... Love at first sight”, well believe me never was a more truthful phrase written.
This as I say was our honeymoon of 3 weeks, and my last words will have to be to Pinar and the entire team. Thanks to you all for a memorable stay, just wish we could depend on the same with our future holidays elsewhere in the world, but I doubt it, we had the best here at the Ocakkoy.
P.S, please feel free to ask any questions via the message outlet on Trip Advisor, will be more than happy to respond.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

A very friendly service without being the least bit intrusive. The room was in the hotel part just 5 metres from our door to the Adults only quite relaxing pool. Everything about this place was perfect. If I rack my brains I might say the resturant did not have a very large selection of food for someone staying there two weeks but that really is a very minor minus in a huge sea of relaxed plesure. We went with out two teenage sons and they enjoyed the the place very much as it was only a 10 minute bus ride from oludiniz with its night life. My wife and I have booked up to return this July and am very much looking foward to our first Holiday without our kids in 20 years and could not imagine a better place to spend 2 weeks relaxing. The only problem telling people how good this place is is that we might not be able to get in next year. In fact its a dump avoid it PLEASE!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing us again. We look forward to seeing and serving you again this summer. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

most perfect place to relax.... very friendly.. away from the crowds and it is like part of heaven..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to hosting you again for the upcoming summer season. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCountry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I (in 40's!) stayed in Ocakkoy, a deserted and converted village about 2.5 miles from the coast in August.
We stayed in the 'hotel' accommodation literally 5m from the upper pool. Our room consisted of bedroom and wet room bathroom, very basic but very comfortable and with AC; although for our next visit we'd probable go for one of the holiday cottages (bit more space and privacy).
The 'village' was full of British couples OR families and the resort managed to cater for both groups very very well, a quiet pool for the couples and a lovely large pool+ inflatables and fun for the Mums/Dads and children.
The whole site is set in the foothills and was very well maintained and had lots of garden features and rest areas etc.
The restaurant catered very well for both Breakfast and Lunch, with a simple menu. For diner however we would strongly recommend the nearby hotel (can't think of the name, about 100m from front gate!) OR take a trip into town and really recommend THE BEST restaurant THREE CHEERS, there are plenty of others but this was head and shoulders above them, and was recommended by one of the other guests a food critic from the UK!!.
Local buses are fun! and easy to use. A car for a few days a good idea, and the canoe trips etc all worth while.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again in summer. Thank you.


Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This holiday village is the most beautiful holiday accommodation I have ever stayed in. We travelled with Simply Turkey through Thomson Holidays and it was pleasurable experience from start to finish.

The staff are amazing in providing an excellent service and are more professional than any I have met in other hotels in Turkey in that they leave you to enjoy your holiday without interfering with your time!

I am 27 and my partner 32 and although the majority of the clientele were aged 45 + we found that there were a good mixture of people and plenty to casually chat to around the pool.

There were no problems in getting sun loungers; some mornings we would get up at 11 and there would only be another 6 people round the pool! The 2 adult-only pools were very relaxing and easily located by the bar/ restaurant area. The family pool area was massive & full of inflatables for the kids and loads of rooms around the pool for parents to lounge around.

The food at the restaurant isn't bad- the lunches are very reasonable and the weekly BBQs are pretty amazing!

The cottages are very pretty- we travelled as 2 adults and from the information online I assumed we would get a bedroom/ living room/ kitchen combined area but we were lucky to get a separate bedroom. The kitchen was ample for cooking light snacks for lunch and the wetroom/ showerroom was pretty big- 2/3 of the size of the bedroom. Outside there was a nice terrace area with a table and chairs and room to dry towels/ bikinis. Our only grumble was that we did not have a great deal of storage space- 1 small wardrobe and 2 small drawers under the wardrobe was all we had for 2 weeks, for 2 people. Other cottages may have had more... (next door had 2 extra drawers as bedside tables).

The location is set about 10-15 minutes from the main road- during the day/ early evening this is really a 10 minute walk through the forest (initial hill, mostly easy walk) although at night time when it's pretty dark you should take the dirt road which meets the main road. This is more 15-20 minutes but isn't very strenuous. From this main road visitors can get the dolmus to Fethiye (15 mins), Hisaranu (5 mins) and OluDeniz (15 mins) for a very cheap fee. Otherwise there is a private taxi service which can be arranged from the bar/ restaurant area and is quite reasonable. We got a bit lazy and got taxis in our last few nights! I there are 4-6 of you it is not much more of an expensive to travel this way.

We enjoyed the night life in Olu Deniz where there were a few "nice" bars and restaurants. Hisaranu is full of the bright lights of Azda, Marc Spenger and other such fun but if you're young or fancy some people watching, it is definitely recommended. We liked the Bees Knees (good fish dishes) and the Turkish Ivy (garlic lamb) where the food was pretty food and the staff were friendly.

We visited the market in Fethiye around 3pm on Tuesday afternoon but it was about 50 degrees and pretty unpleasant. Most of what was sold is the usual tourist tat of fake bags, wallets etc- things which can be found in the shops so probably little point in trekking that direction unless you specifically fancy some of this bartering!

Best experience was paragliding which we booked independently through Sky Sports (Olu Deniz)- I would really recommend this company for their professionalism and services provided. They are a little more expensive than some other operators but they have a great reputation and there are additional staff at take off and landing to assist you. We also booked a lazy boat trip through them and this was also a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are glad you had fun time during your stay with us. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocakkoy Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocakkoy Holiday Village

Address: Catallar Mevki Alacik Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#40 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Those who have been to Ocakkoy once admit that this really exists. To be in love with a place where nature is still allowed to remain nature, where time seems to have come to a standstill and where a respectful attitude towards the environment has resulted in the creation of an idyllic holiday environment. The holiday village of Ocakkoy lies close to the Lycian coast, halfway between Fethiye and Oludeniz, arguably the most beautiful beach in Turkey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Venere so you can book your Ocakkoy Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Hotel Oludeniz
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocakkoy Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.