We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rare calm in a busy world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocakkoy Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocakkoy Holiday Village to your Saves list
Ocakkoy Holiday Village
Catallar Mevki Alacik Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Rare calm in a busy world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Pretty cottages scattered throughout the hillside (beware the climb to some can be steep). The cottages are small and basic but comfortable and have a real charm about them. The aircon is effective enough to keep them cool even when it is very hot outside and despite it only being in the main bedroom. Basic cooking facilities are provided and are sufficient to cook supper if you can't be bothered to go out. The on site restaurant is good enough, we found some dishes worked better than others but you will find your own way thought the overly large menu. The family pool is wonderful, warm water, great slide and generally very quite (apart from the kids that is) and plenty of beds available with decent shade. Goats, cows, chickens and lizards make for great entertainment. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area and trips are easy to book, if you don't want a crowd then Cemil the local taxi driver can take you. All in all a great place to stay a bit off the beaten track but close to everything you could possibly want. Just a shame about the ever encroaching nearby town with it's bright light and loud PA systems!

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, those by the pool are probably easiest access wise but those scattered thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are glad you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you this summer. Thanks again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    34
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked a week at Ocakkoy to take my partner's 12 year old daughter on a treat holiday, as she had done so well in her first year at secondary school. We had a wonderful time, because Ocakkoy is that rare thing: a place where you can truly relax. The owners are so confident in the beauty and peace of the place that they do nothing to spoil it. There is no music by the pool, ( a pet hate of mine), just the sound of the birds and the crickets. There is no 'entertainment', apart from a fantastic weekly BBQ with an amazing troop of Turkish dancers who are also out of the ordinary to match Ocakkoy. There is even a pool for kids and a pool for adults, well away from each other, so everyone is happy.
The staff at reception and in the restaurant are incredibly helpful and friendly and the food is great. Most of the rooms, which are basic but very clean and comfortable, come with a terrace area and a small kitchen and we self catered for breakfast most mornings and a few lunches and suppers. There is a little food shop at reception, but the market at Fethiye every Tuesday was where we stocked up on fantastic fruit and veg.
I noticed that a recent review said it was quite a walk to pick up the mini bus service into town. It is about a 10 minute walk through a pine forest and we never waited longer than 2 minutes for a bus. Fethiye is a great local town, but we loved Ocakkoy so much we only left it a couple of times to go on a few excursions, which were also excellent, especially the lazy day cruise. Most of the people we met there had been many times and we are already planning our return. That, plus a very sad 12 year old as we left for the airport, speaks volumes. If you like your summer holiday quiet and very relaxing then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Cottages by the adult pool are very quiet as are the cottages numbered 11 to 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for that review. We are very fortunate that most of our guests feel the same way. Hope to see you this summer also. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a lovely place to relax and get away from it all. With lovely veiws and traditional Turkish rooms, this is a great place to stay. The only downside I have of this place is that you're quite alone and even though there is a mini bus service which runs all the time it is a long walk to the dolmus stop and any restaurants or bars. We found ourselves eating in the restaurant at resort but this was quite expensive. So if you are visiting then pack a torch! Or you can pay for a taxi. Also depending what cottage to get put into makes a massive difference to the holiday as some are small and very basic but have nice veiws over the mountins and other are larger but don't have the veiws. The self-catering facilities are also very basic and I wouldn't of thought you'd be able to cook a meal with what's to offer. Overall a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting us. We always try our best to serve our guests. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenahm UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our tenth visit- yes tenth! That should say it all. This place is so lovely. The people cannot do enough to help from Deria to Gorkan. Chef is excellent and food lovely. If you try this once you will return over and over again as we and many others do every year. Yes I have already booked for next year! How long were we there- 5 weeks!!"!"!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for being one of our valued guests over the years and looking foward to seeing you and your family this summer also. Thanks again.


Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We traveled Turkey and booked through Thomson holidays to stay at the Ocakkoy Cottages on the 21st June 2013 for one weeks holiday, What can we say.The best holiday we have ever had. We arrived at approx midnight and were welcomed by the night porter at the reception area. He took our cases and escorted us to our room which was the end of a 4 block terrace No 34.The room was really spacious with the first room having two single beds which led onto the well equipped kitchen with kettle, 2 ring gas cooker, fridge with ice compartment which is certainly most needed, pots pans, plates , glasses etc.There was even a welcome pack consisting of coffee, tea bags, milk, sugar, fruit and most important a bottle of chilled white wine. To the left was a double bedded bedroom with plenty of storage space for clothes and an free air conditioning unit. Just off the bedroom there was the bathroom with a walk in shower with all the mod cons you could ask for. To the front was a very spacious terrace where we sat most nights listening to music with a cool cold drink or should i say a few cold drinks. The main adult pool was only 10 meters away from our cottage which was fantastic when you needed a dip to cool off which was every hour. The breakfasts and the meals in the restaurant were great with no complaints from us. The staff at the reception could not do enough for you and spoke very good English, In fact all the staff from the cleaners to the bar staff were fantastic,nothing was too much. they would even arrange for meals to be brought to your terrace if you fancied dining alone. The cottages are set in a beautiful gardens with roaming chickens. A lot of the food is produced and grown in the village or in the local area.
Ocakkoy cottages is set approx 400 meter of the beaten track and be warned if you should venture out during day light hours and return after dark ensure you have a good torch with you or hire a taxi. Without one or the other you will never be seen again ha ha ha. only joking but the road is very dark with no lighting needless to say we forgot the torch and hired a taxi each time we came home.
If you want to explore the local area then use the local buses which are called the dolmus. If you have been to Turkey before then you will expect the dolmus to be an old ancient bus. These are new Mercedes mini buses and are great to travel in.
Hisaronu is just 10 minutes away by bus from the resort, Hisaronu is an inland resort with no beach or sea front but is the main place to go both night and day. There are fantastic shops, bars and restaurants to explore. We found a beauty parlor called Booty's, not normally our thing but was recommended by our rep. I had 3 Turkish shaves and my wife had a massage, a pedicure and eyelash extensions. I can say its the only place we've been to where you walk in sober and come out drunk. The amount of free drinks that they give away is unreal. just 10 minutes further on is Oiu Deniz. Here you have beaches, water sports and the famous blue lagoon. You can book all of the boat trips and water sports on the beach front. We booked the lazy days cruise at £5 each. we left at 10:30 are got back at 18:30. There are shops, bars and restaurants for all to enjoy
In the opposite direction is Fethiye. Again a beach resort but here you will find the local market and the well known fish market where you buy the fish and its cooked in the restaurants for you.
All i all we had a fantastic holiday and cannot wait to return in the near future

Room Tip: We had an end terrace no 34 which was great. There are semi and detached bungalows. No 34 has the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We in Ocakkoy always try to do our best to make our guests happy. Looking forward to seeing you this summer. Thanks again.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is our second visit and this place is the nearest thing to heaven on earth we have found. Relaxation is the name of the game, I'm writing this with a beer, under the shade of a vine-covered pergola, listening to the Muzzeine calling the faithful to prayer......what's not to like?
The staff are friendly and efficient and the surroundings beautiful, flowers abound here.
But shush, don't tell anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting us second time. We would be delighted to accommodate you and your family this summer also. Thanks again and looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanley county Durham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stunning location cottages cleaned every day the ground staff and cleaners fantastic.We ate in the onsite restaurant 3 times unfortunately on the second occasion they forgot about our meal order and had to wait 90mins don't know how this happened when there was only 8 couples in the restaurant , the food was of good quality although slightly more expensive than outside restaurants.There are 2 adult pools only next to the restaurant and a family pool at the bottom found it strange all the adults without kids decided to migrate down there defeats the object really.For me the resort was just that little bit out the way if you want to visit the surrounding areas a hire car might be a good idea.So to summarise fantastic location to relax but just not for me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocakkoy C, Director of Sales at Ocakkoy Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for visiting us. We work really hard to make our guests happy. Hoping to see you this summer also. Thanks again.

Ocakkoy Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocakkoy Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocakkoy Holiday Village

Address: Catallar Mevki Alacik Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#40 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Those who have been to Ocakkoy once admit that this really exists. To be in love with a place where nature is still allowed to remain nature, where time seems to have come to a standstill and where a respectful attitude towards the environment has resulted in the creation of an idyllic holiday environment. The holiday village of Ocakkoy lies close to the Lycian coast, halfway between Fethiye and Oludeniz, arguably the most beautiful beach in Turkey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Ocakkoy Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Hotel Oludeniz
Ocakkoy Holiday Village Fethiye

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocakkoy Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.