We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value at this years price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marcan Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marcan Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Marcan Resort Hotel
Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Oludeniz
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value at this years price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed here beginning of July 2013 in a family room which was located on the top floor so not ideal with a buggy and a toddler
we found the breakfast to be pretty normal for the area and probably the best meal of the day. lunch was pretty much the same every day except from changing 3 dishes, chicken nuggets and brussel sprouts one sunday was a very strange combination.The snack bar pizzas, pides and toasted panninis were pretty good but you do get fed up with them after two weeks.
One major thing that concerned me was the placing of raw burgers on the griddle then straight away handling the buns and other food with no washing of hands etc. surprised nobody was ill from this, I did try one burger but it was so undercooked i left it.
Evening meals were very bland and we managed to force ourselves to eat in there 4 times in total in two weeks, we did go in and look but it was very unappealing so decided to sample the great local food on offer.
we found lots of flies and wasps around when eating and the dining room was very hot, there are holes in the ceiling for fans so when these go up it should help.
these are the main issues we found
unwashed salads
no kids food except nuggets one day a week and chips
sewage smell in room
no seating any where or around the pool bar (was tables for one night)
no shaded areas
no bins in rooms
pool area not cleaned down properly
housekeeping take 5 minutes to make your bed and mop the floor with a smelly mop, our bathroom was not cleaned in two weeks.
i watched a cleaner clean an ashtray in reception that took 8 minutes almost double the time they took to clean our room.
pool is nice but they do wait until it gets cloudy before adding more chemicals.
plates and glasses that get taken out of the rooms just get left in the corridors or slung on the grass for days, some were there for over a week.
There is only one toilet for the whole complex other than your room toilet, fine if your ground floor but not very good if your on the top floors.
Major issue with the water coolers is that they top them up with tap water, i was told this by a member of staff and have photographic evidence of it happening, these should be sealed up and not refilled.
The hotel is located at the top of the resort and you do get a bit fed up of the walk up the hill especially 6 times one day.
we ate out 10 nights during this break as we found the evening meals very poor quality and tasteless but at the price we paid this year it was still value for money.
I would consider going back but if they increase the price by much it will not be competitive.
Overall we had a lovely time and the drinks and staff were pretty good, iron out the little issues and it will be a nice little hotel
It was our 6th visit to olu deniz so know the area well and what is available so we know what is on offer else where.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    171
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
106
199
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We arrived at the hotel at 3am on the 8th July, we were checked in quickly and smoothly and was shown to our rooms. There was 5 of us and we had a triple room and double room. Rooms were very clean and although not huge it was all we needed as we didn't spend much time in them, I do not go on holiday to spend time in a hotel room when there is so much more to do outside.
The staff in my opinion were superb and always willing to help, especially Serkan and Sena the animation team. They worked so hard to keep everyone entertained without being over the top.
I have got to mention the cleaners- the weather was extremely hot but they were always busy and worked tirelessly for long hours to keep things clean. I never had any problems with bedding and towels and our rooms were cleaned every day. I am a VERY house proud person at home and seriously had no issues with cleanliness. I for one could not do their job in that heat!! I'm sure some people are only happy if they have something to moan about and I witnessed a couple of things which were so petty and pathetic that it made me feel quite angry!!
On our first day my daughter and I decided to have a Turkish bath which was lovely. We spoke to Caroline (the red haired English girl) in the spa who was lovely and she booked us in. I think a previous comment made about her was unfair and quite rude!! She was really sweet to us.
The food overall was good and there was always a lot to choose from, lovely salads, soups and hot dishes and good breakfasts. There was no complaints from the 5 of us staying there:)
We did a boat trip and used Pioneer, we had a brilliant day.We chose Pioneer because it was a smaller boat for a maximum of 35 people which was great. We visited 5 island locations and they provided lunch which was delicious, we also met some lovely people on there.
Oludeniz is a lovely location with lots of things to do, the paragliding looks amazing but I'm just not brave enough.
So, please, if you are going to this hotel you have nothing to worry about. You are there to relax and enjoy your well earned holiday and I for one am so jealous. I will speak for the rest of my family and say we had a fantastic time :)))
Would I stay here again? Absolutely!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have just got back from 2 weeks here and I have to say the hotel is amazing but has a few things that really need working on.
The food is really good for all inclusive with breakfast having omlettes and pancakes as well as cereal toast and cold meats and cheese! Can't comment on hot breakfast as I never ate it but it was an option! Lots of different fruit juices which were nice!
Lunch could be hit an miss but towards the end we found they started putting Atleast one hot pasta dish for lunch that was nice.
Dinner was good but chips every night, new potatoes or mash or anything than chips would have been nice! Sunday dinner on sunday was lovely too!
The staff couldn't do enough for us, and were excellent!
The one big thing letting this hotel
Down is the housekeeping, only had our sheets cleaned twice in 2 weeks and only had towels 3 times! Bath mat got taken away so my friend slipped and nearly fell into the glass wardrobe! The floor was never cleaned properly and the shower wasn't either! Our cleaner started playing tricks like swapping the bedding between our two beds thinking we wouldn't notice... If you take it off one and put it on another surely it's easier to change it? Anyway the cleaner came in one day after we had complained and shouted at us in Turkish! Which we didn't appreciate!
I'm not a moaner, and this hotel is brilliant, and I think next year the creases will be ironed out and it will be amazing place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After an initial mix-up with rooms when we first arrived (this seems to happen rather frequently!), we were delighted with the standard of our accommodation. Throughout our two week stay the staff, other than some of those on the reception desk, were friendly and helpful. The maids worked very hard for long hours, and on a whole the standard of cleanliness was good. However, during the first week of our holiday the towels were changed only once, then during the second they were changed most days, so there didn't seem to be much of a system in place. All the waiting staff and the entertainment team were also friendly and keen to do whatever they could to help make our holiday a good one.
All six of our party found the food to be tasty and as varied as buffet style will allow. The chefs took a lot of pride in what they produced and in the way they presented it. The snack bar also produced delicious pizzas and paninis, and it seemed that at most times of the day it was possible to get food from somewhere!
In conclusion, lots of positives, just a couple of minor negatives - we were disappointed to find we were only allowed one key per room, as this caused some strategic issues if we weren't all going out to the same place at the same time. Also, as lots of others have commented, there is a real issue with sunbeds. While we were in the resort the management brought in a rule about not reserving with a towel before 7 in the morning, but how much that would continue to be enforced I'm not so sure! These two slight problems were far outweighed by all the pluses of staying in a lovely hotel with a beautiful resort and stunning coastline just a short stroll away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are currently staying here and have found things not quite right. We have not had not water in the morning for the last four days which I have raised daily. The entertainment is limited to a half hour in the evening and because of this everyone goes out. Last night was a movie on a big screen which is not entertainment. There had been no mini disco at all whilst we have been here.

The restaurant requires air conditioning and fly killer type boxes.

The male staff spend all there time chatting to females and ignore others resulting in distracted, poor service. I have o say the personal hygiene of some male staff is terrible.

The rooms are lovely but very small for a family of three.
They just need one staff training and illy things like having more than one omelette on at a time in the morning and coffee cups put out as they get low and not when they run out.

Ski all not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looks nice and new. The receptionist checked us in quickly and we were shown promptly to our room. A twin room for 3 of us with no 3rd bed??? After a trip to reception a camp bed was added to the room making a small room rather minute. Our first morning I was up early and managed to get a sunbed and they now have a policy that any beds reserved before 7am will have the towels removed. So by 7.05 all are taken and a lot not being used till later in the day. In fairness it has not resolved the issue.

The hotel itself is nice but very understaffed. The cleaners do not do their jobs properly. Twice our bathroom was not cleaned and even the bathroom bin was not emptied. Other occasions the public pool toilets were not cleaned after the night before with filthy floors overflowing bins and dirty toilets being left until complaints had been made.

The food was typical of an all inclusive buffet restaurant with a variety of salads cold meats and hot food. Plenty of choice at the snack bar and was very nice. We did not eat in the hotel at night so can't comment on the evening variety.

A word of warning regarding a receptionist named jack. When we went to check out he told us that we owed 97 lira. We said we owed nothing and were not paying. Apparently we had a Turkish bath and hasn't paid for our safety deposit box. He gave me the room key back and said we could hand it back in when we paid the money. After 5 minutes of disputing things he started to laugh and said he was only joking. Not at all funny in my opinion. Had that been someone vulnerable or who didn't like confrontation they may well have paid up. Very naughty I think.

All in all the hotel is nice but needs improvement on the staff side of things.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Breakfast - Can't complain, a good range of choices. Always good quality, except the scrambled egg which was a bit iffy...

Lunch - The snack bar was very enjoyable, freshly cooked food to order (e.g. pizza, burgers, chips, hot dogs, toasties) and always received good service. The lunch in the main restaurant was also nice if you couldn't wait long enough for the snack bar. However they did put up a sign towards the end of the holiday saying no swim wear allowed in the restaurant which can be awkward when you are spending a day by the pool which just meant the snack bar got even busier. There weren't many staff serving the snack bar therefore there could sometimes be quite a wait.

Evening meal - Always high quality food, which was nice and hot. There wasn't a vast range of choices but there wasn't much repetition, i.e. 2-3 different main meals a night and you didn't often see these main meals come around again. There was lots of choice of things to put with the main meal, chips, rice and a vast range of salad. The only problem we had is that we wanted to sit outside for our meal but had to move and then stop doing that due to there being a lot of wasps and flies around.

Drinks - The wine was lovely! I also really enjoyed the amaretto and peach schnapps on the all inc. However it was a big disappointment that the cocktails were no longer available on the all inc as this would be what I normally drink at hotels like this. Occasionally a lack of bar staff at the bar meant there was a long wait. It would also have been nice if there was waiter service to the tables for drinks (had this before)

Staff - Staff were very friendly and helpful. We particularly got along with numerous bar staff, benjamin at the snack bar, waiters and the animation team. The man at reception was also very nice and welcoming when arriving and checking out. The maid was also very pleasant. To be quite honest everyone was lovely and up for a laugh even whilst they were working very hard and long hours. The only exception was one girl who waited in the restaurant slash walked around it all night checking her phone and getting herself drinks and worring about which shoes to put on next. However she seemed to disappear during our second week. So no problem.

Room - Small but adequate for our needs. Nicely decorated. However could also smell a bad odour from the toilet which lingered around the whole room and was not pleasant. For some reason there was no extractor fan or window either in our bathroom? There was no lifts up to the room which made carrying the suitcases up and down VERY difficult when we were on the top floor. It would not be suitable for a person with physical disabilities, there are a lot of steps around. One problem in the room was the covers on the bed were thin and tiny, they did not cover the both of us and could often lead into a cover war. Also the call for prayer could disturb your sleep during the night/early morning.

Area - Not at all what we expected. We were very disappointed with what we found, it was very over rated. It was very touristy and mainly catered for the english guests. Not very much traditional turkish culture to be seen. Beaches in Oludeniz no way as good as turtle beach in Dalyan. Also we much preferred walking round fethiye rather than oludeniz. Some people seemed like they were on clubbing holidays which is not somewhere we would normally visit.

Overall the hotel was lovely and we had a nice time. There were no big issues with the hotel and the staff made your stay enjoyable. However the area just wasn't for us. If anyone else felt the same way we highly enjoyed Side in Antalya, this may be more up your street :)

Feel free to ask any questions you have!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marcan Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcan Resort Hotel

Address: Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 105 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marcan Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcan Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.