We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montebello Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Montebello Beach Hotel
Belcekiz Mah, Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from mb last night and I am straight on the net booking for next year, it was our 4th visit to mb, as usual staff were really friendly and helpful and with a mention, Jonte, oner, Ali, memhet and seko, rooms were very good, cleaned every day, people have posted on here about doors being banged, who's fault is that ? Close them gently, not rocket science is it !, free aircon is a plus as it is £5 a day in most hotels, the olive grove resteraunt has a huge menu including Chinese , also10% discount for mb guests, staff here also very good, toga, suliman and harun. Roll on next year, olu deniz, best place in the world!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    83
    51
    17
    15
See reviews for
52
128
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

What an absolute dump!

POSITIVES:

Its location to the beach is good, approximately 200 metres. Second positive, the shower (when there was water) was quite powerful, free air-con, a fridge and hairdryer.

NEGATIVES:

We were in Block 3, top floor. So whether we had different cleaners to the rest of the blocks, I cannot say, but what I can say without any exaggeration was that the room was far from clean. There was hair in the beds and the shower waste hole, the toilet was filthy, the fridge was grimey, there was hair and lord knows what in the few drawers we had. The shelves in the wardrobe had never seen a cloth. Consequently, we wiped out a few of the surfaces, cleaned out the shower and de-haired as much as we possibly could. Nice start to the holiday. There was absolutely no sound proofing so you could hear everything from those next door to you and below you. On our penultimate day, the cleaners didn't bother to change towels or clean the room. Rooms need upgrading, or at least re-grout the bathroom tiles and update/deep clean the WC. Disgusting is all I can say about the place.

The pool (plunge pool) and bar area was shrouded on three sides by buildings, and trees on the fourth, it was in a hollow giving it a distinct black hole feel. The photos of this hotel gives the impression of an open airy central area, there must have been some clever photoshopping done to achieve this. There are an awful lot of steps to negotiate with suitcases. People with walking difficulties, should steer clear of this hotel for that reason only.

The attached restaurant. Didn't look appealing, we were advised not to eat there by other holidaymakers, so took their advice. Therefore cannot truly comment.

On check-in you are given a room charge card. This is the biggest con going. The only time we spent in the hotel was to sleep/shower. So you can appreciate our shock when they wanted money from us for supposedly using it in the bar. After some discussion and phone calls,this charge was waived and they apologised for their error. Would hate to be one of those staying there who used the card. You would really need to keep track.

Our flight back to the UK was in the early hours of the morning, so asked for a late check-out. The cost was £25 up until 5pm. There was no way we were going to pay that for such a short time and the thought of giving them any more money was galling, so went around to another hotel, the Lemon Tree and paid £15 which was their nightly rate for that time of the year. Very basic room but clean!!!!

Whilst I appreciate £255 (room only) for a week is not a great amount of money. It is not unreasonable to expect a clean room and to be able to use the pool area. We had friends and family staying in other hotels around Olu Deniz who had paid less and were in far better accommodation, so I believe on this ocassion, as we have other hotels to compare it to, this review is completely justified. Unfortunately we could not get into their hotels.

When we booked this hotel, there weren't too many negative reviews, however the closer we got to the holiday, they started filtering through. Whilst we try to keep an open mind, as expectations differ, the dread did start to seep through and we were becoming concerned about having booked the place. These concerns were justified as soon as we stepped out of the taxi and viewed the hotel for the first time. As they say, you never get a second chance to make a first impression and as first impressions go this one was not good.

Overall, I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anybody. You can get better for a lot less if you look around.

Room Tip: Wouldn't waste your money booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a great time here, basic but clean and comfortable rooms with aircon and small balcony. Mix of couples and families and the turnover of holidaymakers even over a week's period meant we had quiet days and busy days at the pool but never felt overcrowded and on the whole quite chilled. Great location for beach, shops and bars but off the main drag so it's not noisy. Staff were lovely and friendly throughout. The poolside bar and attached restaurant were reasonably priced - you can take your own water into the hotel but understandably they don't want you bringing in full meals etc. They cater for both European and Turkish palates. I'd definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant and would not hesitate to come back. You do need to pay for safety deposit box key (at the time around £15 for a week) but no surcharges as some hotels had for air con or use of fridge.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a room with balcony overlooking the internal courtyard/pool area - the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

great holiday.excellent staff all very helpful. this is the second year we have stayed here and we have already booked for next year. cant understand the negative reviews as many people return here time after time and these people are of all ages. suspect some people will just never be happy no matter how good the place is.rodney and ilker where fantastic and great company in the pool bar area and both have a wicked sense of humour.all the bars and resturants in the area where great value and quality of food is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed at this hotel for 11 nights 27th aug we found the hotel and rooms very clean and comfortable we had clean towels every day and the maids worked very hard .The reception staff were very friendly and helpful also the bar staff (jonty) were very friendly and funny . the olive grove restaraunt was really nice plus you get 10% off your bill if you stay at this hotel . the breakfast was a traditional turkish breakfast which we didnt like so we just had cornflakes . very close to the beach and shops . we had a great time and would consider returning .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Really don't understand all the negative reviews on here, we stayed from the 3rd-13th of september and our stay was nothing but brilliant. We had two basement rooms and nor were they dark, dank or smelly! The rooms was very clean, especially the bathroom; I have high standards anyway and it was more than acceptable! The balcony was adequately sized with more than enough room to sit out, hang towels and bikinis out etc. All the hotel staff were all amazingly helpful and we all felt very accommodated for, any problems or questions we had they sorted out straight away. As for previous comments about noise this really was not an issue, you have come to be on holiday so don't expect everyone to be in bed at 10pm! and the music did not 'blast' out at all, in fact the staff were very conscious of the noise levels. All the staff in the olive tree restaurant were also very attentive and friendly, especially our favourite 'Jimmy' aka pappa jon!

I personally have been to this area 3 times and would rate this hotel the best one I have stayed in. It matched up to its 3 star rating, I think some people always expect the ritz when they go away, you get what you pay for and I would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came here for 2 weeks in August and is the only time we were glad to leave Turkey. We have been coming to Turkey for over 20 years and have stayed in everything from 2 star to 5 star platinum, so are well experienced on Turkish accommodation. We had 2 rooms booked and both were dark, dank, smelly and dirty. Our daughters bedroom was only slightly better than ours except for the bathroom door frame that was missing for half way up the wall!!!!! Our room although big was on ground floor and looked straight onto the main pathway, you couldn't even open the curtain for people passing constantly, you couldn't possibly sit out on the balcony's as they are only 2 feet wide, the very faded blue plastic chairs are placed sideways on (they can't fit any other way!!) The noise from the stairs and other rooms was horrendous (very thin walls). The decor is drab, the fridge and telly didn't work in either room. lights didn't work or bulbs just missing. The bathroom had a stain on the floor under the toilet (???) when we moved in and it was still there when we moved out. Complained to rep who told us to complain to reception who told us not his fault speak to manager, we tried that thru a waiter (as he didn't speak English supposedly!) didn't make any difference!!! Must point out that our room was our second room and only marginally better than the one we had been allocated when we first arrived (reception did tell us take it or leave it as there was nothing else) the first room we had looked onto a concrete yard (with no means of escape) and had no fridge at all!!The linen was clean although our daughters didn't have a towel change for over a week, just remember to wipe the muck off your feet before climbing into bed!!!!! to keep the sheets clean ha ha!!
The pool itself is NOT as shown on the photos (for any of the holiday company's) as part of it has been filled in, there is no garden/lawn area, there is a soil area!!! with a dilapidated table tennis table that the cleaners use to sit on for their breaks. The bar staff was surly to the point of rude on occasions. The hotel felt like it was run-down and nothing was being repaired.
If by chance you do stay here then I hope you are not in block 3 or on ground floor of any of the other blocks.
Thank god we weren't half board as we passed this food every night on our way out!!! It's served around the pool area and is left in open buffet style!!!!!!!
On the plus side the Olive Garden restaurant (were you are served breakfast of eggs, eggs and eggs) does do great evening meals (with a 10% discount for hotel guests). the hotel is also in a great location, but definitely needs the same attention that has been given to it's sister hotel the Montebello |Resort - knocked down and re-built!!!
Don't know how this hotel has 3 stars as we wouldn't rate it all!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montebello Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Beach Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mah, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#16 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montebello Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montebello Beach
Montebello Beach Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montebello Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.