We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Meri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Meri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oludeniz Caddesi, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 91 hotels in Oludeniz
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The much photographed lagoon is as good as it looks in the brochures. The water is warm, clean and flat. The hotel is a bit of a 'marmite' ; you either love it or hate it. It is not luxurious, the rooms are adequate and spotlessly clean and probably overdue for a make-over but there is a certain charm in that. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. Our only gripe on this visit was that small children dominated the dining area, sometimes encouraged in their running around and screaming by the kindly- intentioned staff. We all love kids don't we but it is my holiday too! In spite of that we will probably return, if only for a week, for the sheer lazing around in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    26
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Hotel is set in the 'lagoon' at the end of Oludeniz Beach and is towards the end of a no-through road so there is not much passing traffic.
It is ideal for all who want a quiet holday and especially for families as the water is clean and quite shallow with a lifeguad for even better safety.
it is all-inclusive; the food is consistently good and the local drinks all very good quality. There is always a lot of free mineral water for drinking.
Rooms are good size and clean. As hotel is set on slope of hill there is a small funicular ralway to carry people up & down.
We had some problems with the air-conditioning which took a couple of days to corect but the satff were very willing and friendly.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a dea-facing balcony so ak for one if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This blotted.l. Is I. N a very good location the staff are brilliant this is our third visit can highly recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Hotel Meri is much maligned by some British who are never happy unless they can find fault.
We stayed for a week 5 May 2012.
The hotel was superb, good food, top quality local drinks, the management and staff were 100% for their guests. The rooms although a bit small were spotless.
The best thing as much reported is the hotel location. You can hire sun bed towels if you wish and there is a Dolmus from the hotel about every hour if you don’t fancy the 20min walk into Olu Deniz.
Each room has a TV but I don’t know if ours worked, I don’t go on holiday to watch TV.
Don’t believe the whiners, go with Anatolian Sky their rep Alison is one of the best.

Hotel is on a cliff but there is a venicular railway (lift) from top part of hotel down to reception, if located middle part of hotel you will need to walk down stairs. If problems walking ask for either top floor or bottom. Review added on behalf of Mr Mrs Hume.

Room Tip: Hotel is on a cliff but there is a venicular railway (lift) from top part of hotel down to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012 via mobile

My father paid for us to have a lovely chilled out all inclusive family holiday for 4 adults and 2 children, on arrival they showed us our rooms 1 standard & 1 family (both rooms were exactly the same) they tried to pack 2 adults and 2 children into the so called 'family room' but it was a standard double with two extra beds crammed in it which was extremely cramped & tiny, you couldnt even move around the beds to get to the equally tiny bathroom, so we complained and we were told there was nothing they could do as nothing else available! They were totally uninterested, so we refused to take such a room and eventually they found us a proper sized family room! Which we were grateful for however the manager made a point of saying they had given us a free upgrade!!! My father Paid alot of money to stay here and in no way lived up to our expectations. unfortunately Anatolian sky and the hotel manager were most unhelpful and did nothing about any of our complaints. We are such a quiet reserved family and the last thing we expected was to have to complain. There seems to me a huge misrepresentation of this hotel in the anatolian sky brochure and there descriptions are way off, this hotel is no way 4star, in fact it gets 5 stars in their brochure. It would be pushing it to get a 3 star in the real world!! The food was awful, butlins serve better and we found the staff to be quite nonchalant at times giving certain holiday makers preferential treatment, there was very limited wine available, actually it was just red or white!! With no option to buy a better quality, no ice creams for the kids either! Total shambles. The only staff we found friendly & helpful were the bar staff and the maids. The only good thing going for this hotel is the location it's stunning, it certainly was the saving grace of a totally disappointing & expensive holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location and from a distance it looks nice. It is at the deep end of the lagoon, kind of buried with pine trees. But everything else is pretty bad. Service is poor, room decorations are terrible and bathroom is pretty dingy. Perhpas it is not unusual to get an uninspiring hotel room in Turkey but unlike others this one promises a lot, delivers little. Breakfast was very mediocre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

After what was just about an acceptable week on a gulet with Anatolian Sky they transferred to this hotel for the second week of our holiday which was on an all inclusive basis.

Dingy poorly decorated room, no tea or coffee making facilities, a fridge with no water in it and the noisiest air conditioning ever

The dining rooms were like school canteens, wine was undrinkable and if you wanted cold water you had to go to reception where you were given a bottle of tepid water

After our evening meal there was nowhere to relax except in a small overcrowded smoke filled bar or in the dark on a deckchair on what was once a grassed area but which is now just a large patch of inhospitable soil

Food was definitely below par and very little choice of mail meals

As for the beach it was just a10 foot strip of sand which in no way could be termed a beach

After one night we told our rep to find us another hotel or fly us home, we were relocated to a wonderful hotel in Kal Kan for the rest of our holiday, however this cost us in excess of £500 for food and drink which we had not budgeted for

The Meri Hotel should be avoided like the plague

Room Tip: The only advice we can give is do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Meri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meri

Address: Oludeniz Caddesi, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Meri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meri Hotel Oludeniz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Meri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.