We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at the Gorkem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorkem Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gorkem Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gorkem Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ovacik Mah, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay at the Gorkem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience of the Gorkem Hotel and I was not disappointed. The family were welcoming and friendly, the pool and bar area was very smart and the room had everything I needed. The rooms have been described as basic, which is true, but this doesn't really do them justice. I personally found the bed really comfy, the shower was fully functioning and everything was spotlessly clean - what more do you need?!

The bar/restaurant has a wide variety of food and snacks which were all delicious. The drinks are also very good value, especially considering the size of the measures (very generous!) The hotel organised a traditional Turkish night complete with belly dancer, which was good fun and got everyone mingling.

The Gorkem is well situated to see Fethiye, Olu Deniz and Hissaronu. Plus, if you want to do any trips they will arrange it for you and you'll be picked up/dropped off at the door.

Overall, a fantastic hotel in a great location. Thanks Ilyas and family!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    40
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Immingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just returned from the Gorkem after spending four weeks there.
Once again we had a wonderful time and met up with old and new friends. The family that run the hotel work extremely hard, are friendly, make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The hotel is set in beautiful and peaceful surroundings with a lovely pool area which is kept immaculately clean. We stayed in the apartments which are spacious and cleaned everyday, with bedding and towels changed regularly. The food is excellent and compliments to Chef Reggie.
For those who want nightlife, then a 20 minute stroll into Hisaronu is where you will find bars and resturants. Olu Deniz and Fethyie are a short Dolmus ride away.
Yes you do hear the Mosque, the cockerel crowing and dogs howling but hey this is Turkey .
Thanks to Ilyas who does a fantastic job as Hotel Manager (shame he is a Chelsea supporter) and to the rest of the family Sadik, Saban, Hatice,Emmine and Gorkem for making our stay such a memorable one.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, excellent value for money and hopefully we will be back there next year.
So to the Tahanci family Tesekkurler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic family hotel and nothing is too much trouble. Definetely recommend it. staff treat you like one of the family and always have time to chat. Very impressed with the food in the hotel and very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

hotel is run by family especially Ilyas who is a lovely young man staff and Ilyas were very friendly and helpfull could not do enough for you Hotel very basic but clean and comfortable except for bed too hard for me Would reccomend gorkem to all my friends had a fantastic time there and would definately return

Room Tip: room with view of pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Discovering The Gorkem Hotel earlier this year was such a result and has been the highlight of 2013. I went with my 12 year old son in May and we had such a good time, I had to book again. I took the opportunity last week as he's on a school trip. As a single woman, I fancied the idea of holidaying on my own but never thought I'd be so brave. Well, to my surprise and delight, I am! This decision was helped in no small part by the friendly welcome always received at The Gorkem. The family do all they can to help make the most of your time with them and are so approachable and hard working (well done Ilyas for battling through a serious case of man flu :) Most guests are also really friendly and happy to chat which meant I did not spend much time alone (special thanks to Steven and Diane who kindly took me under their wing). This time I opted for Bed and Breakfast which was great for me - I enjoyed every bit of the Turkish breakfast - but I'd probably still go for a self catering apartment if (or when) I take my son again, although I'd happily pay extra for breakfast. The room had everything I needed and was immaculately clean. Ilyas, Sadik and all the staff are total professionals, as highlighted on Tuesday evening when they turned over the Turkey v Holland football game in the bar, so us guests could watch England play! (sorry guys). All food and drink is of high quality and so reasonably priced although I did need to keep reminding them not to make my G&Ts too strong as the measures were very generous. I ate at the hotel restaurant several times and thoroughly enjoyed each and every meal. I was lucky as the evenings had warmed up again during my week but I had some cardigans with me, just in case. 6 out of my 7 days were gloriously hot sunshine (late 20's). The pool was chilly but I soon warmed up after a few lengths - it just made me swim a bit faster. The hotel provide plenty of blankets to keep you snug at night, if the temperature drops. I've been home a few hours now and I'm already working out if/when I can get back there next year. Just sad it's over for now! xxx

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have travelled for 30 years and have always said we would never return to a hotel we have visited before. However, this was the exception. Having stayed here for a week last year and experienced such a warm welcome from the family, along with the tranquillity of the setting, we simply had to return. For us it just hits the spot for a relaxing week. Yes, the rooms are basic, but clean - all you need to sleep and shower in.

Hotel is ideally situated for trips to Hisaronu, Olu Deniz and Fethiye. Food in the hotel is excellent but there are also some good restaurants within walking distance if you fancy a change.

Thank you to all family and staff at Gorkem for another wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Got back from the Gorkem on the 14th October after being there for 5 weeks we regularly have been coming to this hotel for the past 5years = we have been here in May, June July Sept and Oct since 2009 and know that depending what time of the season it is, it ranges from being very quiet to noisy it up to you what you want and plan accordingly - There are many people who return year after year and meet up with people they have met before but for want of a better word they are friends and now with facebook keep
in contact at home. yes I think is were the cliques come in -(Please note correct spelling) We have met many people and normally will make conversation with most. The management cannot be blamed for the guests behaviour and when there have been issues I think they sort them out well although some guests might not like the outcome. Ilyas is a good Manager and likes to make all welcome and don't forget he has to run the hotel for the familys income and only has six months a year to make it and the all work hard to keep the hotel running well. We again experienced the apartment being kept clean and if we required any thing it was sorted willingly and quickly we will certainly return again next year. The one comment I would like to make is to
Paul the Evertonian from the Wirral I am John from Liverpool with whom you had a good few conversations with me and my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gorkem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorkem Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mah, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gorkem Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorkem hotel provides its guests a very peaceful atmosphere in a-so-green setting. In our facility, along with a A-la Carte Restaurant with various choice of food, there is a bar and an open swimming pool surrounded by trees and colorful flowers. In Gorkem Hotel’s all rooms air-conditioning and hair-dryer provided , the balconies have the perfect panoramic view of the garden and the Babadag mountain. Due to our location we are in such an appropriate position inbetween Ölüdeniz and Fethiye that you can reach either within 10-15 min of bus journey. On th other hand we are only 36km away from the Dalaman airport. We also do provide our guests airport transfere service and free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Gorkem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorkem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.