We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but very clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tolay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tolay Hotel to your Saves list
Tolay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kayakoyu Yolu Uzeri | Hisaronu, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Basic, but very clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent a few days at this hotel and can't fault it for cleanliness. We had a large room, with a large wetroom style bathroom. The only downside was the noise from the Carmina Hotel next door. In the evenings we would walk past at midnight and all would be quiet, but at 1.00 am the music would crank up for about an hour. Breakfast is typical turkish. We have stayed at a lot of Turkish hotels and I have to say that the quality and freshness of the breakfast ingredients at the Tolay was really good. Very friendly Manager and staff. There have been some comments on here about it being 200 yards down a dirt track, but if you walk on the path along the side of the hotel and then on to the paved road, there is only about 20 feet of dirt track. Like a lot of older Turkish hotels, it is built inside out, so what you first see when you arrive is the equivalent of the backyard (hence the comment on here about the washing and the chickens), but once you walk through the entrance you are then on the inside and everything is very clean and tidy. Definitely value for money and we will stay there again. When you are paying Travelodge prices, you shouldn't expect to get Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the Carmina Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thankyou for your nice review of Tolay hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the noise from the neighbouring hotel, we are very sorry about this and it is a problem we are aware of, but unfortunately it is out of our control. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    73
    18
    21
    18
See reviews for
53
103
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

after reading some reviews about this hotel i was beginning to think i made a mistake booking it but i have to say im glad i ignored them.the hotel itself is basic the rooms cleaned everyday[cleaners never stop]pool area fine prices in bar on a par with rest of village. to those people complaining about the chickens we have been coming to hisaronu for many years and have yet to stay anywhere were there no chickens running about;these family hotels are also the peoples homes.
all in all a very pleasant stay we were never pressured into spending money at hotel and all the staff went out of there way to make sure we had everything we needed.
so a big thank you to ali murat kamil and tolga we will be back next year best beds in hisaronu
gerry and annmarie belfast

Room Tip: try to get a room on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Gerry & Annmarie, we are so pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and would love for you to come and stay with us again in the future. We are always happy to help with anything our guests require and I will pass on your regards to all the staff. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying at the Tolay, and it is still super value for money. The pool area was lovely and peaceful, they play music, but it's not blaring and usually something alternative to the usual Top40 you hear around pools. The pool did feel colder than last year though, but maybe it was because we were there a little later on in August this year.

All the staff are very pleasant, and while we spent quite a few days round the pool we never felt pressured to stay and eat at the hotel or drink during the evening.

Rooms are basic, but for the price you pay, you can't complain. It's a place to rest your head and get washed. with regards to the shower situation. I have stayed in many many hotels and apartments across Greece and Turkey and the majority have been wetroom style (I actually think its more hygienic than having a closed in shower as there are less places for the dirt to hide. Last year our room had a closed in shower, this year it didn't. No problem.

The only thing I would have a little moan about this year was that our room was in the second block (not the one with the pool bar attached) and our room and balcony overlooked the pool and bar area of the neighboring hotel The Carmina.This hotel likes to play it's music very loud until at least 1-2am. Our room had mosquito netting on the window, however on the one night we wanted to have an early night it was impossible to sleep with the window open because of the loud music, luckily it wasn't so warm that we couldn't sleep comfortably with the window closed (which surprisingly blocks out much of the noise - very good double gazing!) If we had been staying for longer we might have asked for a room in the other block, which I know from experience is much quieter, but as we were out most nights it wasn't really a problem.

Location is still great, only a 2 minute walk into the resort centre, and the pool bar does lovely home made style slush puppies which were perfect for keeping cool in the hot sun.

Would not hesitate to book this hotel again for excellent value for money and perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the Carmina Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thankyou for your review. We are glad you had a good stay with us. As for the noise from next door hotel, we are aware of this and unfortunately it is beyond our control. All we can do, as you have mentioned, is close the windows as the double glazing does block out the noise.. We hope to have you back to stay with us very soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just back after spending eleven days at this hotel, read the reviews before i went and was not expecting much but what a hotel. Ali, Murat, Tolga make everyone so welcome and the atmosphere at the hotel is so relaxed, cant wait to book and go again next year

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Allison, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We can't wait for you to come back and stay with us very soon. Tolay staff are always happy to help, I will pass on your kind comments to Tolga & Murat. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days, had a room overlooking the laundry, which was ok, however noise from hotel behind in the early hours was sometimes annoying! The staff - Ali, Tolga, Murat and Kamil were all very helpful, nothing too much trouble. Breakfast was ok, it was something to fill the gap every morning after all only greedy people need a full english everyday! We used the hotel as a base and went out most days but when we used the pool it was clean, sunbeds were always available. The bar and meal prices were similar to those in town so for some where to drink after a meal out it was ideal as there was not thumping music like every bar in town. This was a cheap holiday for us and we really enjoyed it, we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Debbie, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the noise from the neighbouring hotel is a problem we are aware of but unfortunately unable to control. We hope this did not spoil your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hi all, i recently went to the tolay hotel in hisaronu well what can i say.you wont find a much better hotel for the price especially in the peak time.
The hotel staff are superb so all my thanks to the tolay team so thanks to Ali ( The hotel manager ) Tolga,Murat and Kamil the bar staff these guys are great and they all know your name within hours of meeting you also any advice on the surrounding areas these guys know all about it.
Overall the hotel tolay was clean tidy nice pool great food and they looked after everyone really well the breakfast included in the price was typically turkish and consisted of tomatoes,cucumber,cheese,honey,jam,olives,boiled eggs,bread and butter,tea and coffee all in all plenty to choose from and healthy too,if you want english breakfast they sell a variety of full english breakfast items.
Hotel is situated 200 yards from the town of hisaronu so great location but you are far enough away as not to hear the clubs and bars at night,also lots of eateries and all very good where i ate,
The hotel pool is not as big as a lot of other hotels but even in peak times you can always get a sunbed and always plenty of room for a swim.
If i had one criticism it was the price of the drinks they were 5 lira (about 1.75 ) for 30 cl of draught efes most other places it was between 4 and 5 lira for 50cl and choice of bottle or draught and believe me the bottles are a lot better this might seem petty but 30cl works out to be about £3.50 a pint and over two weeks adds up.
All in all i would recommend this hotel to anybody and i am booking here next year as for the drinks if they sold the 50cl bottles instead of 30cl of draught for 5 lira i think they would double there custom as the 2 weeks i was there a lot of residents went elsewhere for their drinks then just come back to hotel later for a couple before bed i hope this helps you all and like i said dont be put off because of the drink prices as the hotel and staff more than make up for this once again thanks again to all the staff and i will see you all next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Hi Andy, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and thankyou for your review. We have taken in to account your comments about the prices of drinks. We are going to review our prices more in line with the prices in town for next year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

First 3nights was woken at 2am in the morning by guest who feel the need to shout a conversation to each other whilst being sat right next to each other did not go down well when it woke me and my 3 year old up, staff didnt do much about it as i suppose they dont want to ask them to be a litlle more considerate of other guests didnt spend much time at hotel and glad i didnt really the staff were okay but the pool was merky and i dont think i ever seen it cleaned the food was limited choice no cold drink offered with breakfast this was additional and a lira to toast your bread i'v stayed in turkey more than 10 times and never know to be charged to toast my bread, the only good thing i have to say is the room was a good size and the housekeeper was great friendly and polite.

Room Tip: hard to say as if you get a main block room you have the bar noise to deal with if you get the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali T, Manager at Tolay Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
We are sorry to hear you had a few issues with your stay with us. First of all, we do ask guests to be considerate of others late at night and any guests who do cause any disturbance are asked to keep the noise down by the staff. The pool is cleaned in the early hours of the morning, every morning, however when people wearing suncream use the pool during the day is can cause the water to appear "glazed over" this may be what you are referring to. We have a company we come to check the pool water every week to make sure it is all ok, the findings of this are put into a report for anyone to see. We have a wide range of food on the menu, and can also accommodate any special requests. The contract for the bed & breakfast offered is for a Turkish breakfast which includes only tea or coffee. We've read your comments about toasting the bread at breakfast and will take this into account for next year. We do this, as we find when people ask for the bread to be toasted and are paying a lira for it, they don't waste it. I will pass on your comments to the housekeeper for you. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tolay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolay Hotel

Address: Kayakoyu Yolu Uzeri | Hisaronu, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tolay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tolay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tolay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.