We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As we say in Greek Fantastico meros kai servis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Mandarin Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   Kizilcakaya Mah | Faralya/Uzunyurt, Oludeniz, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 53 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
athens
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“As we say in Greek Fantastico meros kai servis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Fantastic place and service, we where more then delighted to have found this little boutique hotel, located near the hussle of Oludeniz but in a quiet location with excellent rooms and all the facilities including the double size Jacuzzi in each room, and the delicious meals offered,the company of Pasha which entertained us, and the hospitality of the owner who spoke perfect greek and show us the delights of the region...
Will be back soon with friends for a celebration...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    10
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
89
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This boutique hotel offered superb accommodations. The comfort and service was fantastic and the 5 course dinners were absolutely amazing. Truly a perfect place to feel completely relaxed while on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I stayed at The Mandarin Boutique Hotel for 4 nights with my boyfriend. Let me tell you, the hotel exceeded my wildest expectations! The room was lovely with a big Jacuzzi tub (romantic!), flat screen TV, and DVD player. There was a hair dryer in our room which was very convenient since I came from the US, so I did not have to worry about a converter. There was also a large size shampoo and body wash in the shower so you do not have to worry about taking travel size items. We had a balcony with view of the Mediterranean!

Breakfast was so good. They start out by serving olives, cheese, bread, jam, tomatoes, cucumbers, mild peppers, and then a main egg dish. They also have tea time and they always serve real sugar cubes! The five course dinner is at 8 PM. Perfect time to watch the beautiful sun set! The food is excellent and is nicely presented.

The pool is very classy. Comfortable lounging beds and beautiful mountain views. There was also a lady that came to the hotel to tell us about excursions. The bus is right outside the hotel and it doesn’t take long to get to Oludeniz. We went paragliding and took an all day boat trip. I had so much fun and I recommend it to all couples. It is very romantic and relaxing. I hope everyone gets a chance to visit this piece of paradise!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

I stayed here for a week last September and loved it. Small and secluded, pretty gardens, rooms are vast and each have their own jacuzzi. I stayed in a ground floor "garden room" and had my own sitting room, bedroom ( huge) and fab bathroom with a monsoon shower. The food was excellent, ( 5 courses each night) and dinner was served on a huge wooden balcony overlooking the pool and surrounding mountains. As the hotel is so small, visitors are warmly treated as guests not tourists, and all the staff are local women who do all the cooking, cleaning etc, so if you are a lone female, you will not get hassled. I booked with Cachet Travel, and while there the airline XL went bust, but I was assured that I'd get a flight home, all was arranged for me, I didn't have to do a thing, (secretly wished that I 'd have been "forced" to stay a bit longer). If you want night life and lots of amusemets, don't go, but if you want to totally relax, recharge and be pampered, you'll love it. Not for children, and the drive up from Feithye is hair raising, but fab views, walking, hidden away tiny restarants, and dolmus can take you to Olu Deniz.
m

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin in sept 2008 for 10 days for our honeymoon.
There were good points and bad points to the hotel.

1. The rooms were absolutely stunning exactly as pictured with a huge king size bed and jacuzzi. There was also a lovely big walk in shower, with good water pressure and an abundance of hot water.

2. The decor in the lobby/kitchen was gorgeous really rustic and artfully put together, its not so much a hotel but a really big guest house.

3. The kitchen staff/ maids are really helpful and eager to please but they have very limited english so it made asking for even the most basic of items and requests very difficulty and frustrating. i.e(Dinner? Towel, Soap? were phrases they were not familiar with).

4. There is a resident dog (Pacha) who at first seems charming and fun but quickly becomes tiresome and irritating due to its lack of discipline. He runs amok across the grounds while you are eating, stealing and slobbering drool over your shoes and drinking from the pool.

5. Due to the high altitude the grounds were covered in wasps!
It made eating outside in the morning very unpleasant and with Pacha chasing them around your table and the pool area didn't equate to our idea of relaxation! Also finding dog hair in the pool wasn't very nice either.

6. Dinner was delicious and everyone had the same (all 5 courses of it, EVERY night) and took 2 hours get through from starter to dessert which became very restrictive as some evenings we only wanted a bite and then to retreat back to our room but it wasnt possible to modify the meal and trying to explain that to the cook was virtually impossible so we often went without to save the hassle.

7. There are only 8 rooms at the Mandarin which meant it was lovely and quiet but it meant that at dinner we felt obliged to talk to the other guests when all we wanted to do is enjoy our honeymoon privately and we felt that some were a little nosy and intrusive!!! ("Not coming to dinner this evening eh?" , "Didn't see you at dinner last night is everything ok?")

8. The hotel is very secluded and tranquil tucked away high up in the mountains away from noisy trashy Oludeniz with stunning views across Butterfly Valley. You absolutely need a car as its a 15 min drive down an steep winding and frankly quite dangerous road. Although there is a bus service that runs past the hotel which is always on time, a car in my opinion is more convenient or you will be restricted to time.

9. The management are patronising and lack adequate communication skills. My husband and I are seasoned travelers and are well aware of hotel procedure and etiquette. We were never informed of our check out time verbally nor found a satisfactory answer in the information booklet (12am?!)
As we weren't due to be picked up until 7pm and it was a small hotel we assumed we would be fine to check out later. We left the hotel at 10 am with the manageress waving goodbye to us if we were due to check out then there was no mention of it at all.
At 1pm ish we get a phone call insisting we come back to our hotel as we were supposed to check out at 10.30 and they wanted our room for another guest.
When we arrived we found they had taken our personal belongings and dumped them in a heap in the middle of the bed.
They had also gone into the cupboards and bathroom and moved valuable and delicate items and just chucked them onto the bed aswell!
We were so furious that we decided to leave right there and then even though we weren't due to be picked up until much later.
The manager was so rude and patronising that we weren't prepared to give them anymore of our money until an explanation or apology was made and we told her that we would settle the remaining bill through our travel representative as we weren't happy with the service that we had received.
When we got to Oludeniz town we were suprised to be met by the POLICE and taken into custody! After much embarrasment and stress we finally managed to explain and we were allowed to go but only after we paid the remaining bill AND a extra nights stay!!

Words cant describe how much that spoilt our otherwise beautiful and relaxing honeymoon. Turkey is gorgeous and the weatheris beautiful and we did lots of wonderful things but the hotel really put a dampener on everything. We wouldn't stay there again nor would we recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — The jacuzzi in the room and the huge walk in shower.
  • Disliked — Wasps, slobbery dog, 2 hour/5 course dinners EVERY night, rude and patronising management.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aysegulnakkas, owner/manageress at Mandarin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2008
Check in and check outs are almost standard in every hotel and if as they stated they are season travellers they should know this..
Also we did not charge them any extra for the extra hours that they spend.
In the countryside flaura and fauna are something from the nature, nothing to do with high grounds.
No one was forced to eat the 5 course, you can ask just for either starters or main course, have it and go and enjoy your suite.
The story described is a bit different then what we have seen by this couple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avion
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We stayed at the Villa MANDARIN (situated in the hamlet of Faralya, away from the busy resorts but close to the popular Ölüdeniz lagoon) for 3 nights last May and I wish it had been 3 weeks !! We LOVED it !! It was wonderful ! MANDARIN boutique hotel is the nicest and most unique hotel we have ever seen or experienced. Everything was fabulous : from the magic, luxurious and spacious rooms (nice hand-carved furniture with some traditional Turkish touches, private jacuzzi, large balcony with sea views offering a very intimate and romantic atmosphere) to the excellent five course evening meals based on traditional Turkish recipes. An unforgettable time, topped with great quality of service & friendliness (very attentive staff, including Pacha the "funny" dog !). Besides from the hotel we could hear the sounds of the village life and it felt like at home. A small, sumptuous and charming hotel I would recommend to anyone visiting Turkey.

  • Liked — the sumptuous bedroom with the private jacuzzi and Turkish homemade meals
  • Disliked — the small swimming pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

The best things about the Mandarin are that the hospitality and meals were the best by far that we had during our 11 days traveling in Turkey. This small hotel (a pension in the true sense) is a perfect spot from which to explore the quieter side of the Turquoise Coast. This latter has some of the most spectacular unspoiled beaches in the country - but they are accessible only by foot. Day trips by car are easily made to remarkable archeological sites such as Xanthos and others.

Not for the faint of heart, the hotel is located about 10 miles up a narrow winding (paved) mountain road with vertiginous fall offs. A rental car is highly recommended.

The rooms are comfortable enough though my one negative was that I would have preferred the $$ spent on the in-room hot tub (pointless) be used instead on better mattress and pillows.

If the careless cheap tourist development of what seems to be the entire Mediterranean Coast from Spain to Turkey puts you off, then Mandarin will be a welcome relief.

The owner/proprietors can be trusted to provide useful advice & recommendations regarding your visit, an important point for the self-directed, first time visitor to the area..

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Boutique Hotel

Address: Kizilcakaya Mah | Faralya/Uzunyurt, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mandarin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unspoilt setting, luxurious surroundings and a warm, personal welcome... Opened in the summer of 2007, Mandarin is a delightful boutique hotel situated in an unspoilt natural setting close to south-west Turkey's magnificent Turquoise Coast. Perfect for nature lovers who also value a touch of luxury and a high level of personal service, Mandarin has been designed as a stylish and supremely comfortable hideaway, which nevertheless boasts a pleasantly informal atmosphere without any hint of stuffiness or pretension. Mandarin comprises just eight guestrooms and thus offers a very intimate ambience, making it the perfect venue for a small group to rent for a special celebration, club event or even a business meeting. However, the hotel is equally suited to romantic couples and guests wishing to stay in unspoilt surroundings, relax in unperturbed peace and perhaps indulge in a few nature-based activities. Please note that, to maintain its air of tranquillity, Mandarin operates a no-children policy (with the exception of group bookings renting the hotel in its entirety). ...introducing one of Turkey's most exclusive retreats ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fethiye Mandarin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.