We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach and bar, clean, mediocre breakfast and looks toooo old!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanedan Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hanedan Resort to your Saves list
Hanedan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4 Mersinaki Koyu, Club Med yani, Foca 35680, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Foca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely beach and bar, clean, mediocre breakfast and looks toooo old!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in Foca, the Hanedan was our only choice since everything else was fully booked. First impression was very bad because they gave us a room with a strong smoke smell but they changed it right away after we asked to move.

The room itself was very clean but, as other comments pointed out, it looked really too old and ugly as if anything has been changed since the late 80's. Our friends where hosted in the "studios" small apartments close to the main hotel which looked much better than hotel rooms and price was the same. BTW The hotel hosts a lot of families with small children so this could be annoying sometimes.

Breakfast was below average but bar near the beach serves very good food at about any hour and its really close to the very beautiful beach which is peaceful during the week and becomes crowded on weekends (really crowded).

So, all in all a pleasant stay but next time i will book some other hotel in the area....

Room Tip: ask for studios and ask to check the room before accepting it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    23
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
20
15
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

i didn't expect big quality with 3 turkish stars, but a 3 stars hotel can be pretty good, with a good maintenance but it wasn't !! The shower leaked, the air conditioning didn't work ....
Food was very very so-so , too much repetitive, and not very typical.
Staff : very nice ( thats a good point ! )
But FOÇA is a pretty nice little city, very beautiful !! From Foça , 1h you have Bergama (north) and 2h (SUD) you have EPHESUS. 1h30 IZMIR.
If you dont stay at the hotel all day long, hanedan is correct.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I hate to write negative opinions about the hotels we stayed in, but Hanedan Resort was a major disappointment. It was probably a 4-star hotel in early eighties, but hardly anything has been done to maintain the quality. Even though the price may sound good, the service you get is not worth the price.

Here are the main reasons I will never go to this hotel:

1. It is advertised as rooms having Air Conditioning, but only the fans work with no cooling at all. They insist that the central AC works, on the other hand they have two individual AC units in the reception which is the only cool area of the hotel. We had a very hard time sleeping due to the heat.

2. The resort caters to families with kids, and even though there are two pools, both are occupied with kids at all times. Unless you have several kids and no other options, I could not recommend this hotel.

3. The beach is not sandy, and you will need sea shoes to get in due to pebbles and stones of various sizes. It is fairly clean, especially in the early mornings, but gets very crowded. A lot of families come from the surrounding areas, especially during the weekends, and it becomes impossible to find a chair, or even a spot to get in the water.

4. Except for the window frames, everything seems very old and outdated. The beds are uncomfortable, the mini refrigerator hardly cools, you are asked not flush toilet paper in the toilets, etc.

5. Worst of all, you are not treated as a guest but like merchandise. For example, there were two small bottles of water in the mini refrigerator (no other drinks), and they charged for them (the bottle costs only 30 cents in the markets). We naively thought it was a welcome treat on a hot day.

We stayed in the hotel rooms, and not in the villas, so I cannot say anything about the condition of the villas.

During our trip to Turkey this July, we stayed at three other hotels and all of them exceeded our expectations, Hanedan will remain as the dark spot in our otherwise very great vacation.

Room Tip: If you have to go to this hotel, try to get a room facing North with less heat from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Although the service and meals are moderate, it is very close to Old Foça (Eski Foça) where you can reach easily and enjoy good food. For us the best part of this hotel is the apart rooms -there you can find many different constructed rooms which one of them surely fits you. If you have more then one kid such apart rooms are perfect choices. The "blue flag" beach is perfect. But crowded in the weekends. There are two swimming pools which we never used since the crystal clear sea was there....

Room Tip: the room configurations in the aparts are different; try to see more then one so that you can choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a nice hotel

+
a lot of space in the garden, beach very clean, quired
food is also nice

-
during lunch it is sometimes chao, not very well organized, our bedroom was near global climatiser so not well located

However I re"commend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

hotel was really under my expectation it does not even deserve to have 3 stars. Food was bad, employees was rude, beach was rocky and dirty , but it is the only hotel close to foca center. Hotel needs to change its appearence immediately, cause it has a good location but bad serving

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

staff r friendly but bullied, owmers make it obvious they don,t listen to staff or customer welfare. Big time human right issue. Staff don,t get paid most of time, beach is not nice like photo and if they recomend gp do not go there, Military doc who can kill u, beleive me i nearly died there and had to be taken to another town. Hospital is non existant, gardener is nice, same cheap food everyday, chicken or pasta. very limited menu. Same choce of breakfast daily. beach is stoney and man made, why do u think no british tour operators go there????

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanedan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanedan Resort

Address: 4 Mersinaki Koyu, Club Med yani, Foca 35680, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Foca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanedan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hanedan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanedan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.