We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un peu décevant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hanedan Resort

Save Saved
You added Hanedan Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hanedan Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4 Mersinaki Koyu, Club Med yani, Foca 35680, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Foca
Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Un peu décevant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

i didn't expect big quality with 3 turkish stars, but a 3 stars hotel can be pretty good, with a good maintenance but it wasn't !! The shower leaked, the air conditioning didn't work ....
Food was very very so-so , too much repetitive, and not very typical.
Staff : very nice ( thats a good point ! )
But FOÇA is a pretty nice little city, very beautiful !! From Foça , 1h you have Bergama (north) and 2h (SUD) you have EPHESUS. 1h30 IZMIR.
If you dont stay at the hotel all day long, hanedan is correct.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benicia, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I hate to write negative opinions about the hotels we stayed in, but Hanedan Resort was a major disappointment. It was probably a 4-star hotel in early eighties, but hardly anything has been done to maintain the quality. Even though the price may sound good, the service you get is not worth the price.

Here are the main reasons I will never go to this hotel:

1. It is advertised as rooms having Air Conditioning, but only the fans work with no cooling at all. They insist that the central AC works, on the other hand they have two individual AC units in the reception which is the only cool area of the hotel. We had a very hard time sleeping due to the heat.

2. The resort caters to families with kids, and even though there are two pools, both are occupied with kids at all times. Unless you have several kids and no other options, I could not recommend this hotel.

3. The beach is not sandy, and you will need sea shoes to get in due to pebbles and stones of various sizes. It is fairly clean, especially in the early mornings, but gets very crowded. A lot of families come from the surrounding areas, especially during the weekends, and it becomes impossible to find a chair, or even a spot to get in the water.

4. Except for the window frames, everything seems very old and outdated. The beds are uncomfortable, the mini refrigerator hardly cools, you are asked not flush toilet paper in the toilets, etc.

5. Worst of all, you are not treated as a guest but like merchandise. For example, there were two small bottles of water in the mini refrigerator (no other drinks), and they charged for them (the bottle costs only 30 cents in the markets). We naively thought it was a welcome treat on a hot day.

We stayed in the hotel rooms, and not in the villas, so I cannot say anything about the condition of the villas.

During our trip to Turkey this July, we stayed at three other hotels and all of them exceeded our expectations, Hanedan will remain as the dark spot in our otherwise very great vacation.

Room Tip: If you have to go to this hotel, try to get a room facing North with less heat from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Although the service and meals are moderate, it is very close to Old Foça (Eski Foça) where you can reach easily and enjoy good food. For us the best part of this hotel is the apart rooms -there you can find many different constructed rooms which one of them surely fits you. If you have more then one kid such apart rooms are perfect choices. The "blue flag" beach is perfect. But crowded in the weekends. There are two swimming pools which we never used since the crystal clear sea was there....

Room Tip: the room configurations in the aparts are different; try to see more then one so that you can choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This is a nice hotel

+
a lot of space in the garden, beach very clean, quired
food is also nice

-
during lunch it is sometimes chao, not very well organized, our bedroom was near global climatiser so not well located

However I re"commend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

hotel was really under my expectation it does not even deserve to have 3 stars. Food was bad, employees was rude, beach was rocky and dirty , but it is the only hotel close to foca center. Hotel needs to change its appearence immediately, cause it has a good location but bad serving

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

staff r friendly but bullied, owmers make it obvious they don,t listen to staff or customer welfare. Big time human right issue. Staff don,t get paid most of time, beach is not nice like photo and if they recomend gp do not go there, Military doc who can kill u, beleive me i nearly died there and had to be taken to another town. Hospital is non existant, gardener is nice, same cheap food everyday, chicken or pasta. very limited menu. Same choce of breakfast daily. beach is stoney and man made, why do u think no british tour operators go there????

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

What's a studio? When I've booked studio accommodation in Greece it's been a simple room with a basic kitchen in which one can cook. Here it does not mean this. I was <expecting> to be able to do at least some self-catering. The kitchen equipment here was a sink, a fridge and a few glasses, cups and side plates; no cooker, pans etc. to be fair, I can see no reference to these on their web site, so i was making an assumption when i read that word "studio" and saw a photo of what looked like a kitchen.

We had chosen the studio room rather than one on the hotel because what I had expected re kitchen and because we thought it would be quieter than in the main hotel. It was quiet and we appreciated that (see "sleep quality" rating.... quietness and comfy bed ensured a good night's sleep). When we first walked into the room our hearts sank. It was big (more later) very big, but dark, and painted a cold light blue colour ( I now believe this to be traditional in the area and to do with keeping it cool) and with few very small windows. Not very cosy or welcoming.

Yes it was big. The double bedroom part in itself was generously sized and then there was the same again with the "kitchen" area and a single bed. I guess it was about seven metres long in all; half as wide. PLENTY of room.

Breakfast was good. A varied buffet with breads, fruit, eggs, cheeses, meats, tomato, cucumber, honey, yogurt, jam , etc AND someone cooking lovely fresh pancakes.... lovely. Freshly squeezed orange juice was 5 TL extra; juice was included wherever else we stayed, though it wasn't freshly squeezed.

The pool was fine. The beachside bar /restaurant was OK for lunch or snacks. Prices OK. We ate out in Foca at night; there's a good selection of eating places there. We had excellent food at one of the fish restaurants on the left as one looks at the sea. The Hanedan Resort beach itself isn't much to write home about: sand and shingle; parasols. OK to swim. There is a good, spacious level grassed area where it's possible to relax in sun or shade or play games. Lots of sunloungers and big cushions to make yourself comfortable on.

So all in all, not bad. It depends on what you want. Tripadvisor asks me to put the thumb up or down at this stage; there is no half-way, which i'd have chosen.. It's going down because I really would not recommend this hotel to my friends, and I would not return myself. If I were to return to Foca I'd choose one of the hotels in town.

We had a car and chose this hotel partly because we'd been in Istanbul and wanted a place very different and a place to chill out. It's possible to visit Pergamon/Bergama from here as a day trip (recommended if you're into ancient cities).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanedan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanedan Resort

Address: 4 Mersinaki Koyu, Club Med yani, Foca 35680, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Foca
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Foca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanedan Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hanedan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanedan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.