We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ela Quality Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ela Quality Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Ela Quality Resort Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iskele Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 80 Hotels in Belek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have stayed on this hotel from 1 to 13 August 2010. We have book this hotel on Alpha rooms, in internet. We were 4, two adults and two teenagers age 14 and 13. We had booked the family duplex room land view

The following is a description of the positive and negative points for each area and service on the hotel according to our own opinion.
As a conclusion we would say we have loved the hotel and we recommend it for couples with children and teenagers.

Rooms:

Positive:
1 –Room, which has two complete bathrooms, is big and have everything necessary. There is a sitting area on the first floor. Bed are comfortable and there is a pillow menu for all taste There is a little balcony which is not used as it is too hot but where we can place our clothes to dry.
2 - Rooms have two separated air condition which work very well

Negative:
1 –The housekeeping does not work very well . There has been days where even the basket with rubbish was not clean. Our room has never been clean before 14:30 and in one day, at 18:00 the room has not yet been clean. The maid does not clean the dust not clean properly the bathroom
2 – There is no air condition on the corridors of the rooms nor on the elevator which is panoramic. These areas are very , very hot.

Swimming pool:

Positive:
1 – There are several swimming pools all very clean and the water is warm. The pool for children in separated as it is the pool with the water slides
2 – There are a huge amount of beds and you always find a space

Negative:
1 –The music sound at the swimming pool is too loud

Beach and Pier:

Positive:
1 – It is a private beach which is always guarded. So you can leave your belongs when going to walk, make water sports or going to lunch, without any problem.
2- The beach is clean daily and had a lot of sun beads and so it is always easy to find one without need to reserve it in advance.
3 – The sea has very warm water. There are some waves but not very high, so it is safe to swim.
4 – There is a pier which has also sun beds and in spite a part of it is to be used by people who pay 50 Euros per day, the majority of the space is free. In the pier there are showers and a bar.
5 – There is always wind , very refreshing and also useful to do water sports

Negative:
1 – The sand is black and has little rocks specially where the waves touch the land. That can heart a little bit the feet but nothing specially. It is more difficult than usual to play in the sand as the sand is very thin
2- The water on the sea is not very clean . I believe this could be related with all the water sports that use gas that exists on this and all other hotels
3 – There is music at the pier, not so loud as on the swimming pool but still bothering. As there is only a CD, you will hear all day the same Turkish music, which you will hate after two days
4 – Life guard do not do there job. They are always at the pier bar drinking and talking

Restaurants:

Positive:
1 – We thought food at main restaurant very good, with a lot of salads, different dishes (both meat and fish) and delicious cakes and fruit. There is a corner with Italian food and another with Chinese food which is cook in front of you. This restaurant has been warded with the titles of the best 2010 Turkish restaurant. The presentation of the food and fruit is made with a lot of care
2 – A la carte restaurants were excellent . We went to the Italian, Fish, Mediterranean and Turkish. The service was quick and the quality excellent. Again the waiters made an excellent job, being very polite ,friendly and always trying to help. It is very easy to make the reservation, as there are two places at level -1, where we can see the menu and book for the same day
3- The service on all restaurants was very good. There are a lot of waiters always cleaning tables and offering drinks
4 – The main restaurant in spite is big, is divided on several rooms with very beautiful doors , which have at maximum 12 tables. So it looks always cozy


Negative
1 – The time table of the main restaurant, is from 12:30 to 14.30 and from 19:30 to 21:30. And when the time to close arrives the food is really removed. I believe this timetable should be a little longer as it is on breakfast, where there is a late breakfast from 10:00 to 11:00 which is excellent
2 – Once per week, at lunch time, there is a different lunch at the Mediterranean restaurant, which replaced the service of sofa restaurant and the pool snack. This allows the guests to heat all type of foods without having to go to the main restaurant. We believe this should be done more often, as the only alternative to the main restaurant at lunch time is the pool snack bar the the sofa restaurant, which do not have a lot of variety (more pizza, pasta and burgers and some Turkish specialties)

Entertainment by the hotel:

Positive:
1-Excellent animation team
2- Daily Night shows of high quality for all ages
3- Fantastic parties at the pier and at the beach
4- Very good alive bands
5 – Outside and inside cinema with good movies
6 – Very good water slides

Negative
1 – DJ music is very bad , no at all appropriated for the type of guests


Hotels surrounding:

Positive
1 – The hotel is very beautiful and has areas well distributed. There is the main hotel buildings, lake houses and villas. In spite being a hotel for 1400 people it is so big and there are so many places to stay that it nevers looks crowded
2 – Gardens are amazing . There are many trees which helps to support the heat
3- Hotel is very near Belek (5 Euros taxi) ,which is a touristic city where shopping can be made . Shopping is not chip but has a very high quality

Negative
Nothing to say

Water sports:

Positive:
1-The are outsourced by the hotel but they are at the hotel area. They work very well. The equipment is good. There is parasailing, banana, jet sky, windsurf, catamaran, canoes, peddle boats, etc
2 – We have taken a trip by boat to Antalya to see the water falls which we recommend

Negative:
1-Prices of motorized water sports are very expensive. As an example :Parasailing cost 45 Euros per person

All inclusive:

Positive:
1 – It works perfect, as good as the Caribbean concept of all inclusive

Negative
1 – We need to pay 8 Euros per person on the a la carte restaurants and the japonese one is not part of all inclusive
2- There are some sports that are not free of charge , like bowling, and some machines to play. Some water sports are free if you have license (catamaran and windsurf). Of course the motorized ones are not free of charge and as gas at Turkey is very expensive, these sports are very expensive

Other services:

Positive
1 – There is a phone number 1000,which can be used if you need anything . I have used to ask for a new key as my did not work when trying to enter my room,also used to ask for housekeeping when my room was not ready at 18:00 and also when the movie at cinema was not working OK. They came straight away
2 – There is a doctor, which in case you need send you to a private hospital. This was used by my husband due to an infection on the hear and it was very effective as they even take you to the pharmacies . It is however expensive
3- There is a gymnasium with machines free of charge to make sports.
4- The SPA looks lovely but very, very expensive if you want to make any kind of treatments
5 – There are several stores, from grocery to clothes store and phote store and leather store. This is expensive
6 – At nigh shows there are pop corns and sweet sugar candy and also ice cream (ice cream is available all day).
7 – There is tennis , mini golf, jumping beds, basket ball and table tennis. This is free of charge. There is also segaway which is outsourced and again very expensive (20 Euros for 30 minutes)
8 – There is a service for car rental that works OK. We have rent a car to go to Pamukkale. It is a 3.5 hours ride and it is very hot. It was not so beautiful as expected as there was not too much water on the natural swimming pools probably due to the fact that we are on summer.
9 – Transfer to the hotel was done on a private van , with fresh drinks. This was expensive (170 dollars) as it is only 35 km from the airport (more or less 30 minutes) but worked OK
10 – Hotel allow a late check out up to 18:00 that cost 70 Euros which worth the money as in spite you need to move to another room , you can use all hotels facilities and have all meals
11 – There is a club for kids and another for teenagers. My daughters did not used the teenagers one so we do not know how it works. The kids one seem to work very well if we judge it by the two shows that were made by them . It is amazing how they were able to teach so many children and the costumes and scenarios were very good
12 - Internet wireless is free and works OK. If you bring your computer you can work at on the room. There is also internet corner but that is chargeble
Weather:

The weather is very good, hot but very humid. The problem is that at night it remains very humid, which makes the majority of the guests to prefer using the inside restaurants tables instead of the outside.

Guests:
It is a hotel with 40% Russian, 40% Norwich and Belgian , 10% Turkish and the remain are from England and all other countries. The presence of so many Russian seems to bother other guests, as it can be seen on the last reviews. For us this was not an issue at all. They are different from us is many things but that does not mean their behavior is worst than ours

Air flight recommendation:
We are Portuguese and there are direct flights from Portugal to Antalya on the summer time. But those flights have a timetable which is not pleasant at all, as you arrive at 2:00 am on the next day to the airport, which means you have lost one day of holidays and will be very tired on the second one. Also on the last day you only have the morning.
So looking on internet we found out that Germany, has several flights daily to Antalya, using Sun express and Condor. We have book our flight from Munique at 7:10 and at 12:30 were already at the hotel having our lunch. On the day of return we had a flight at 19:50 at at 22:00 we were at Munique.
This worked very well as they also allow to make a check in on the day before you depart from Munique and so you only need to arrive in advance 45 minutes. Munique airport for low cost flights works very well

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    113
    50
    17
    14
See reviews for
240
90
6
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My family and I had a great time.All the facilities and room qualities were as expected.
My children made as much noise as they could and no one even complained ,so the
walls were of a sufficient thickeness.Working as a Russian expat in London it was
a great place to be re united with some of my countrymen.The bars were magnificent and we could get our favorite vodka there before breakfast and an extra glass to immerse our cereal in .There were always seats available in the restaurants especially when the English got up to select their next course,though strangely they would leave their hand bags there which I found hard to understand . Entertainment was of a high standard though some of the shows were spoiled by the English who clearly dont know how to behave in social situations showing signs of weakness
by even smiling or laughing occasionally.This would occasionally distract me and my friends when we had our mid afternoon staring session but not enough to spoil it.
Their clothes are absurd ,have the men not even heard of speedos? some of their swim
shorts even go as far down as their upper thigh.It is the english males signs of weakness that sometimes disturbed us ,many of them do not even start drinking until
dinner time and then my family and I had to endure that awful sound that they call `laughter`.Some of them even hold their wives hands or kiss them in public,disgusting.
The waterslides were great fun for my children who never had to queue up for long
once they pushed aside the weaker western european children .The sports facilities
and organised games were most enjoyable especially the beach volleyball though
again they would be occasionally ruined by an English man who didnt mind losing.
I would definately go back to this hotel now I have experienced those awful smiling
English people and I think I know how do deal with them better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Excellent for family with small children, but not for teens and young coupels...very nice and lux accomodatin...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Whilst our family of 4 enjoyed the last fortnight (kids aged 6 and 4) I wanted to add a few additional points to other recent informative reviews.

The HITS - The duplex room in Sovereign's brochure were ideal for us in terms of space and quality of fittings/LCD TV.
- free Wifi throughout the hotel and grounds - I ended up listening to the test match by the kids pool and whilst the wifi coverage was a little erratic it was great to have especially as other resort hotels charge so much for it.
- both kids ,who can can swim, loved the waterslides - 7 in total, 5 of which are a couple of floors up, the other 2 are higher which you use a dinghy/ring to whizz down. The whole pool set up included a 50m olympic size pool for laps which was a nice surprise.
- the restaurants with the a la carte supplement (sovereign gave us 8 vouchers)were all ok in our view - service was slowish, it was uncomfortably hot even at 8pm as you eat outside but the food whilst not memorable made the evening more of an event than the previously described 'underground station atmosphere' of the main buffet restaurant.
- I like going into the Dads and Lads bar(cigar bar on ground floor) for a beer for a half hour before we all went out - always sport on but in two weeks I didnt see anyone else in.
- the kids loved going in Kids club from 8pm til 9.30pm most nights because there was a mini disco, an indoor large soft play area and an outside multi use area with climbing frames and football nets. Theres also free table tennis back in main hotel and we had fun hiring a Segway scooter for half hour(c£20 each so not cheap)
- we had no problems with midges/mosquitos.

THE MISSES - usually service related. On basic requests we found the service to be good with most staff speaking a least a little English - the pool bar people were especially good. It was when anything out of the ordinary happened .Our air conditioning leaked for almost the whole fortnight. The guest relations were abrupt, the engineers numerous but still we ended up having to turn off the system regularly which defeats its purpose.Try as we might to get apple or orange juice instead of all the fizzy pop in the mini bar was impossible so I just took glasses up to the room from the bar. The photographers are a bit intrusive. Changing a restaurant reservation usually ended up with you being encouraged to visit the spa.

Other people have commented on the environment created by such a large proportion of the guests being Russian etc - I wouldnt let it stop me returning but I would want to try and get a better price as it did spoil some of the fun both for us and our kids.

One last point - our 4 year old started the holiday with a sniffle , a coupe of days later this had developed into tonsilitis. There is a doctor on site who referred us to the local private Aspendos hospital about 15 mins taxi ride away and we ended up staying in there for 48 hours - not ideal but our experience might help others in that the treatment whilst brusque was efficient and effective.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

we stayed at the ela in a duplex which was lovely we couldnt find fault with the room and we are so glad we paid the extra to have the room . the food was good , alwys lots of choice my son is a bit of a fussy eater so he often had a job to find some thing he really liked , the pool bar was very nice and the italin was also very good.
the beach wasnt very nice quite stoney so i only went in the sea once.
it was my birthday whilst we was there and my partner decided to book a table at the japanees which was a nice change we was shown the wine list , the wine was expensive, we declined then the waiter bought a bottle over that wasnt on the menu he was very pushy so under pressure my partner said yes ok. we got the bill at the end of the evening and the bottle of wine was 300 euros , i nearly had a heart attack , as i dont drink anyway i complained but go no joy , the next day i went to see the manager who ended up offering us a free turkish bath i refused so after 2 hours of arguing they took 150 euros off the bill, we was conned into this so be carefull please dont repeat our mistake, the wine they gave us wasnt on the menu so they charged us what they liked. this happened nearing the end of our holiday thankfully but it did put a dampener on it the same day my son had a very nasty accident at the pool one of the tiles at the edge of the pool was broken and he fell down the drain so please check as i walked around the pool after this and noticed several in poor condition ,
any questions please feel free to ask , there isnt many english at this hotel we were 1 of 2 other families , if you go into belek then there are a few resturants but not a massive choice, if you have been to other parts of turkey as we have you may find as we did that this is not very commercial as other resorts so tends to be a lot more expensive

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We stayed at the Ela Quality Resort, Belek, Turkey for 10 days from 17th-26th June, my husband, my two children, both boys, aged nearly 3 and nearly 5, and myself.

The Hotel : The hotel is beautiful, set in beautiful grounds, well kept and designed. The staff are generally Turkish and, in the main, we found them to be delightful, happy, kind people who adore children. There were a surprising number of staff from other countries, the Ukraine, Iran, Kurdistan etc. The only places we found staff not to be very helpful were at the main Reception desk and in Guest Relations (yep, the 2 places they should have been the most helpful!). In the main, a large number of them do speak Russian or German, but most do have enough English to get by for the contact you have with them. The one thing that is very impressive is the level of cleanliness of the toilets in the public areas. These are cleaned about every 2 hours all day long, and thoroughly. However, this is a large hotel and if you’re after intimate, this is not the place. I believe they have about 2,000 guests when full.

The Rooms : We had a family duplex on a split level. This comprised 2 twin beds downstairs with a sofa and a couple of other seats, a bathroom, wardrobes and a safe, balcony with two chairs and a little table (or stool!), a flat screen TV and a mini bar. A staircase led to a mezzanine floor where there was a French bed (like a queen size double), an armchair, wardrobes and a 2nd bathroom. There was plenty of space, the bathrooms were well appointed, the rooms nicely decorated and the air-con worked well. We were also delighted to find blackout curtains hidden behind the main curtains and nets which were very effective once we found them. We didn’t have any specific problems with cleaning, but noticed that the furniture in the room had not been moved before our arrival. When we moved the sofa to substitute for a bedguard for our 2 year old, we found an assortment of items lost and left by previous occupants, and there were a couple of stains on the carpets which we would have liked not to have seen. The rooms do NOT come with kettle and tea making facilities, although you can request a kettle which we did. It did take a couple of days to arrive. The cups available in the main restaurant are very small, suitable for strong coffee, so not really suitable for adopting for use in the room for tea.

We felt the balcony was a bit dangerous with small kids as it had rails perfect for two climbing monkeys to scale and fall over (5 floors down) and we had to insist that our children only went onto the balcony accompanied. We had problems with our eldest waking everyone up early (he switched onto Turkish time the first morning at 6am despite going to bed at midnight Turkish time as we arrived late the night before!) and, sleeping in the room all together, he woke everyone up. We really struggled to find any TV station they could watch, despite the promised 2 English cartoon channels in the brochure. Most of the stations were in Russian, Turkish or German with those in English being Sky News, CNN or BBC Worldservice, or bizzarely, a French news channel which broadcast in English! The cartoon channels in other languages did often show cartoons such as Timmy, Bob the Builder, and Harry and his bucket full of dinosaurs, but my children did eventually get annoyed with not being able to understand. On our last day, there were episodes of Tom and Jerry being shown in English, and also the film Shrek.

We spoke to other English speaking couples who also thought their rooms were good, and one couple told us they had a family room with 2 bedrooms, although we hadn’t seen these advertised. Our room was officially a Side sea view, so gave us a great view over the pools, garden, restaurants and the sea.

The facilities : The facilities are generally fantastic. There are 4 swimming pools, plus a children’s pool, a plunge pool and a pool for the waterslides. There is an open air amphitheatre with great quality entertainment every night (all different and high quality), a night club, a cinema, a games room, plus lots of bars and restaurants. One of the rooms little used was a type of library with lots of info in various different languages about places of interest in Turkey and things to do. This room also had a computer with internet access for the use of guests free of charge, bizarre when the games room charged for the use of the computers and internet in there. There are a number of shops in the complex selling clothes, leather goods, shoes, kids clothes and shoes, jewellery, swim wear, rugs etc, but these are largely geared towards the very wealthy Russians who stay at the Ela Resort (more on them later !). A child’s bucket with spade, rake and starfish mould inside cost $20 (yep, US dollars – everything is priced in US dollars, or they will accept Euros. If you try to pay in Turkish Lire, the staff look at you as if you’re a pauper, although they are quite happy with Sterling). The sun creams were $30-200 a bottle ($30-60 for Nivea, Ambre Solaire and $120-200 for the brand Lancaster). Most of the kids stuff (beach balls, body boards etc) were themed Ben 10, with a small amount of Disney princesses and Lightning McQueen thrown in. There were various Haribo sweets, packets of crisps and foreign newspapers on sale, but also at extortionate prices ($5-10 for a large bag of crisps!).


Facilities for kids : The children’s pool is about a foot deep and has a mushroom pouring water down in a circle around its circumference, and an octopus lending 4 of its legs as slides, the other four as stairs to get up to the top of the slides. Again there is water cascading down all the slides. The pool area is covered by a type of marquee roof, with every other panel missing, giving a great mix of sun and shade in the pool and around the pool for the loungers. It looks a bit shabby, in need of a lick of paint and the fabric of the marquee renewed, but it is only aesthetic. Essentially, this is a great facility. We did have one issue with this pool in that one day a child had pooed in the pool and when I raised this with a member of the kids club who happened to be walking by, her reply was that someone was assigned to check the pool every few hours each day and they would eventually find it ! Needless to say, our kids were removed immediately to another pool ! It is worth pointing out that this member of staff wasn’t Turkish. Behind the kids pool is a little covered area with lots of rides (the sort you find outside supermarkets – ones you put coins in and your kids get jigged up and down in Thomas or similar for 2 minutes). The tokens were $2, 1.50 euros, or 3 turkish lire per token. We bought them in 10’s as they could also be used in the games room where there were more traditional arcade games such as snooker, pin ball machines, driving games, bowling etc. and it was a good way to keep the kids out of the sun for 10 minutes.

Kids club : In our opinion, this carries a big warning ! Advertised as taking children from birth with a soft play room, outdoor playground, kids dining facilities etc, this club is not quite as it would seem. There is a room for children aged 0-3 years. This is staffed and equipped with soft balls and some toys, but suitable only for very small children – to my mind less than a year old. Children aged 1-4 are just not catered for. However, if you are minded to do so, you can leave your children there if you want some free time. There is a then a second group of children 4-7 years. However, despite all the great facilities, they have to join a group and do what the schedule says – in Russian ! The soft play area is only open 9-10.30, 12.30-2 and 8-10pm. The staff will supervise your children and even play with them while it is open, and you are welcome to go in with them if you wish, but only during the scheduled times. It is locked outside of these times. There is a projection screen and DVD player which runs episodes of Tom and Jerry, dubbed, almost continuously, but only 12-2, 3.30-4.30 and 6-8pm (ie meal times). There is an activities room with colouring, games, some Montessori items and a wealth of craft activities, but you are only allowed in there if it’s on the schedule, and you cannot go in when you want and use the facilities with your kids. This age group does some baking, craft work etc in the mornings (cookies, fruit kebabs etc). They also put on a “show” once a week with the children performing – mostly dancing or acting – no words. WARNING ! About 90% of the kids in the kids club are Russian. Everything is therefore done in Russian so any non-Russian children just can’t join in. The playground is great and a lovely facility in the evening when the sun is going down and it’s not so hot (it was 35-40 degrees for most of our stay). There are many climbing frames and slides here, one section covered, and a large sand pit with a dinosaur skelton in it, also covered. However, it was nearly impossible to use these facilities during the day because of the heat. There is also a set of 6 outdoor trampolines on the path down to the beach behind the beach restaurant, again good for the evening out of the sun.

There is a kids dining room in the kids club, but it appears to be the only part of the hotel that is not air-conditioned, and it was 35-40 degrees during our stay, and the choice was the same every day – pasta with either a tomato or milk based sauce, either lamb or beef stew in a thin sauce with potatoes and carrots, or grilled meat (lamb or chicken) with mash. They did not serve chips or ketchup ever in the kids dining room ! We took our kids to the main buffet restaurant instead.

The Beach : Although there is a private sandy beach attached to the hotel with a beach bar serving drinks, loungers and parasols provided along the beach, and good shower and toilet facilities on the boundary between the beach and the hotel grounds, the sand here is not soft white fluffy sand, rather a dark, heavy sand with lots of pebbles in it. However, it is a beach and the sea was reasonably warm. I can’t really comment on the quality of the water as I didn’t swim in it, just paddled, but it appeared clean and the beach was cleaned every night and had small bins all the way along, emptied hourly by hotel staff.

Restaurants : There is one main buffet restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night snack, and a large number of a la carte restaurants, some in the main hotel building, others in the grounds. The main buffet restaurant gets the most use and comments made by previous commentators about Russians piling their plates high are not an exaggeration. We don’t however agree with previous comments that the food was poor. In our opinion, the food was generally good, particularly the starters, fish and desserts. The starters and desserts were extensive in range and BEAUTIFULLY presented and the hotel won Turkey Hotel Chef of the year 2010. If you like fish, there was a lot of lovely fish – whole tuna, smaller fish grilled etc, all cut, prepared and cooked in front of you. The salads too were extensive and fresh, with one station in the restaurant manned constantly by someone chopping fresh salads. It was definitely possible to find something you would like to eat, although after 10 days, it did start to get a little samey. There was a huge choice always, but there were certain elements of what was on offer that I would never have touched – the over-boiled brussel sprouts and other vegetables, and the plain boiled chicken for example. I have to assume this was for the Russian palate, particularly the already over-boiled brussel sprouts served again the next morning for breakfast but in a tomato sauce ! There were chips served at every meal, including breakfast – I guess for if you couldn’t get your little ones to eat anything else ! Almost all of the main course food was cooked fresh in front of you, and in many different styles. I did finally brave the “fried dough” as it was labelled which I had shunned all week, only to find it was doughnuts without the sugar coating ! As this is an all-inclusive hotel, there was wine included too. I strongly recommend the sparkling wine which was really very drinkable or the rosé. The white is probably to be avoided though. A highlight of breakfast was the freshly cooked scotch style pancakes, made and served to you as you waited, although with the Russians taking 4 or 6 at a time, the queues were quite long.

We only ate at the Turkish a la carte (kids preventing us from eating at the others – our choice – we could have taken them, but didn’t think that made for a relaxing evening for us or for others). The food was good and interesting. You pay an 8 euro supplement per person to eat at any of the a la carte restaurants, which seems very reasonable. We did speak to another English couple, however, who had been persuaded to eat at the a la carte fish restaurant, were offered lobster and other delicacies, only to find that they were called by the children’s club to collect a sick child, didn’t get their lobster which arrived just as they were called away, and were then charged 230 euros for the privilege, unbeknownst to them ! However, when they challenged the manager, he removed the item from their bill.

There are the usual poolside restaurants serving burgers, salads and baked potatoes at lunchtime, and there is a patisserie open from 2pm to 6pm daily, serving ice-cream and cakes.

My two criticisms would be that you cannot get anything to eat between about 4 and 6pm (7pm if you don’t want to go to the kids club), other than ice-cream and cakes, or room service, which can be an issue if you want to feed your children early and get them to bed.

Milk intolerance : My children are dairy intolerant and therefore have rice milk for cereal or any milk drink they may want. The hotel couldn’t get rice milk for us and so we took 7 litres with us. However, the kids only used 3 litres and, given the weight of it, we didn’t want to bring it home. Therefore, we have left 4 litres of rice milk with the hotel, expiry April 2011, for the use of any guest who may want it. Please ask the Deputy Food and Beverages manager.

Late check out : Standard check out is midday. Our return flight was leaving Antalya at about 9.30pm, and we therefore requested a late check out by email direct to the hotel before our holiday started. On this point, we didn’t get a reply. On arrival at the hotel, we asked for a late check-out and were told, ask tomorrow. We asked the next day and were told to ask on the last day. We asked at Guest Relations and were told Reception wouldn’t know if it were possible until the day of our check out. We asked the Sovereign rep to intervene, only to be told that this is typical of Turkish hotels and that you have to either get a positive response before the start of the holiday, or book an extra day when booking the holiday. On the final day of our holiday, we asked again, only to be told the hotel was full and it was not possible. We therefore had to endure a whole day with a 4 year old with a roaring temperature and a miserable, tired 2 year old, and no room to go to. It is possible to use the spa facilities for showering, storing a change of clothes etc, but as we didn’t have a room number to send it to, the meal we ordered room service to be delivered to Reception for us just before we got our taxi to the airport, arrived in silver foil, with no cutlery, and we were charged 48 euros for it – burger and chips twice and a sald ! If you are leaving Turkey late in the evening, I would strongly recommend booking an extra day at the hotel when you book your holiday !

Currency : Be warned ! The mostly widely accepted currency in this area is US dollars ! Euros are also widely expected, Sterling considered acceptable. Turkish lire is even refused !

The Russians : Sadly, this has to be mentioned. Before booking this hotel, we read Trip Advisor and saw a few comments about Russians. We thought it was just bad luck or exaggerated. It isn’t ! Apparently, they arrive in their masses on 1st June every year, and stay until 31st October. They are rude, surly, greedy people who pay no attention to anyone else. The men pay little attention to their wives or children, unless to hit them. They drink half pints of neat vodka for breakfast, lunch and dinner (no – I’m not exaggerating !). They pile their plates high enough to feed the Russian army, make no eye contact with anyone, steal your table in the restaurant from you if that’s where they want to sit, even when you are still mid meal (gone to get dessert for example) and despite your belongings still being on the table. They don’t look at you when you go to retrieve your belongings and they certainly don’t apologise or offer to return your table to you. This happened twice to us in 10 days, and we were not alone. The wives are generally much younger than the men, extremely glamorous and very expensively dressed. High heels for poolside was not a one-off case ! The children are not disciplined, and they play unattended in such a way as to offend and spoil the fun of anyone else around (near teenagers playing with water guns in the pool for very small children, intimidating children in the playground area etc). They put towels (and other belongings) on the pool or beach loungers at 7 or 8am and then don’t use them all day. They try to squeeze into the already over-full lifts when those in it are trying to get out, thus preventing them from getting out, and would never consider moving slightly to one side so everyone can pass in the corridors. They shout at the staff for nothing and are thoroughly offensive. I don’t know how the staff put up with it. Of the supposed 1, 700 guests at the hotel when we stayed, we counted about 100 from Western Europe (20 UK, 2 French speaking families, about half a dozen German families). This is a HUGE issue and I strongly recommend you do not choose this hotel unless you are prepared to put up with the Russians.

Sovereign / Thomas Cook : We booked this hotel via Sovereign and Thomas Cook. With the exception of Marilyn at Thomas Cook St Albans who came in on her day off to try to sort something out for us just before we left, Thomas Cook were incompetent and uncaring. Sovereign were also incompetent. The rep based there didn’t turn up to the hotel when she said she would, despite a couple of messages from her, detailing her visit times. However, to be fair to her, she is required to be on duty 24 hours a day, 7 days a week !

Phone 1000 : Finally, should you decide you will risk it and go to this beautiful hotel, please remember, phone 1000 for ANYTHING you need (food, cleaning, general information etc). No-one told us this for 2 days and it would have saved a lot of hassle at the beginning of our stay !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Industrial hotel if I can describe Ela Quality Resort in one word - everything is on a large scale, that being not our taste. We stayed there for 10 nights in June and I'm sure I wouldn't repeat the experience. Cons: loud entertainment by the pools, 99% Russian guests and Russian speakers among the employees but hardly any English speaker, low quality of food at the main restaurant where there were too many guests at lunch and dinner time. Hassling over the tables and certain food (like fruits and sweets - most of guests were carrying entire plateaus of food back to their tables). The All Inclusive concept does not include fresh juices or wines, but only poor quality juices.
The worse was the cleaning service. I asked for the cleaning service in the morning (and keep asking for 9 days) instead of 6 PM as they usually came but I didn't have any luck until I passed 5$ to the maid (and that worked only for that day).
I have no time to describe everything that bothered me but there are a lot of details to mention: real bats on the hallway, super busy elevators, dirty beach and sea water, lack of sun beds near the pool or on the beach, the need of tip everywhere, the hassling photographers etc.
I have to congratulate the gardeners though, as it is a beautiful and well maintained garden - it has ecological roofs, fish lake, flowers etc.
Overall, not satisfied. Next year I'll search for a more quiet hotel and probably I'll find one but not in Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ela Quality Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Quality Resort Hotel

Address: Iskele Mevkii, Belek 07500, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Belek
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Belek
#17 Spa Hotel in Belek
#18 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#18 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#18 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ela Quality Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ela Quality Resort is located in one of the leading tourist destinations of the world - Belek, just within 35 kilometres from the Antalya airport. The resort occupies an area of 11 hectares, has a sandy beach and a pier. Ela Quality Resort offers 393 standard rooms, 18 Superior Sea view rooms with Jacuzzi, 70 Family Duplex Rooms, 142 Lake House rooms with direct pool access, 28 suites, and 7 luxury villas with a private swimming pool, Turkish bath, sauna, Jacuzzi and exclusive service. Ela Quality Resorts guests are also offered 8 halls with a capacity from 22 to 500 seats for conferences, corporate events and business meetings. Our professionals will help make your event truly successful and memorable.Every day, Ela Quality Resort introduces you to the culinary traditions of the world. It offers a huge selection of gastronomic delights at seven à la carte restaurants: "Kuşhane" (Turkish cuisine), "Teppanyaki Hida" (Japanese cuisine), "La Perla" (Italian cuisine), "Passion Gourmet" (French cuisine), "La Salsa" (Mexican cuisine), "Kalamata" (Greek cuisine), and "Alarga" (fish courses). In addition, Everland Q kids restaurant also offers a great menu tailored to the preferences of kids, considering the principles of proper nutritionProfessionals at Ela Quality Resort were among the first to develop a unique concept of children's leisure in Everland Q, where children of every age can enjoy fascinating activities, while service and custom childcare distinguishes the hotel from its competitors in the Belek region. A special entertainment complex is available for infants, toddlers, pre-school, junior and senior school children. Everland Q is all you need to have a great time: playground, napping room for kids, children's amphitheatre, a hobby room, Lego room, movie theatre, swimming pools with water slides, computer room, darts, billiards and even a bar offering soft drinks. Everland Q regularly hosts a variety of activities designed to not only entertain the little guests, but also provide opportunities for all-round development.The club employs highly qualified staff responsible for safety and great mood. The Everland Q concept is designed so that all little guests at the club, while having a fun and entertaining time, do not require the supervision of parents who, in place, can spend some time on themselves at the fitness centre or by going to enjoy a SPA treatment. A comprehensive approach to the care of kids will change the way parents think about going on holidays with their children and will replace the idea that a peaceful holiday with kids is impossible.A wellness centre "AB-I ZEN Spa & Rituals Lounge", which holds a certificate of the European SPA Association (ESPA), offers guests a range of one hundred and sixty body care and massage programmes. All cosmetics used by experts at the centre are 100% natural and contain no artificial ingredients. "AB-I ZEN Spa & Rituals Lounge" also holds fitness, yoga and water aerobics classes, dance classes and offers personal training.Stay fit and have a good time by enjoying a game of golf. With its mild climate and the best field in Turkey, the world-renowned golf centre destination Belek offers ideal conditions for golfing. Ela Quality Resort is surrounded by 15 golf clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ela Quality Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ela Quality Hotel Belek
Hotel Ela Quality
Ela Quality Resort Hotel Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ela Quality Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.