We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Golf Resort to your Saves list
Gloria Golf Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07006, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 80 Hotels in Belek
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic value, relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The hotel (Gloria Golf) without a doubt this is a 5* hotel, kept to 5* standards and with services delivered to 5* by everyone we encountered.

We stayed in a junior suite, which was modern, well equipped, wonderfully peaceful and like every other area inside and outside on the hotel spotlessly clean.

We were all inclusive which is recommended from a value basis. Most days we ate at the buffet restaurant for dinner which can sometimes get a little busy at peak periods but the food was always good if not excellent. At lunch we would eat at the pub with the amazing fresh pasta bar and wonderful sea breezes where the quality of the food and service was superb (we could have dined al a cart at lunch but with child chose not to disrupt other guests!). On a couple of evenings we went al a cart thanks to the all in package and asides from being told off for not being dressed smart enough (my own fault) we enjoyed our visit to the Turkish and Italian restaurants – the food was perfect. I honestly can say I am a choosy customer and I could not fault the dinning experiences at any of the places we ate at. My son loved the never ending ice cream!

All of the staff were helpful, some had a better grasp of English than others but this is to be expected in a foreign country where English is not the first language! Heaven forbid reading some of the other reviews we would be forgiven for thinking we were back in the days of empire and we had managed to somehow include Turkey in the pink bits of the map! Even the hotel owner was very hands on taking time to “patrol” the complex and ensure that all was well, making time to stop and speak with people (like us) and ask how they were enjoying their stay – I bet you don’t get that at a Hilton Resort!

I think this hotel is superb for families like ours who were happy to stay on site and make full use of the excellent facilities (loads of swimming, loungers, water parks, kids clubs, places to eat, entertainment (which was also very good)). When the weather is cooler I can imagine golf would be fantastic we saw a couple of snippets of the greens on the drive home and I would like to hope I will be back as it all looked fantastically well kept.

The best and most relaxing bit about the hotel for me was the walk down to the lovely floodlight pier on an evening and lounging on the loungers with the family watching the stars, listening to the music and the waves on the beach….excellent time was had and for sure we would not hesitate to go back. I will bring some trousers for ala cart dining next time!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    119
    29
    26
    1
See reviews for
267
103
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We were waiting for a relaxing, carefree week in a five star, all inclusive resort. The food is good, specially in the a la carte restaurants. In the buffet restaurants the food is also good, we loved the deserts! BUT the service is very rude. The first day I asked politely the waiter about the buffet, the wines etc. He made faces behind our back and imitated rudely my questions. Most of the time we felt that were very a burden to the waiters.

Seemed like all the other quests were from Russia. Unfortunately they were also very rude to the fellow quests, they pushed each other in the buffet and were being very arrogant. No smiles, no greetings, no "Thank You"s or apologies. NO MANNERS. We had a ground floor terrace, some little boys used our terrace garden fence to pee. Family next door had a several laundry days and completely filled their terrace with underwear and other laundry.

Try to get a bottle of wine in your room - mission impossible! Even though room service is part of the all inclusive, after 23 in the evening, you may only order the house wine, not a very good turkish red and white wine in your room. Be aware where you order your drinks; in the lobby and Oasis bar they seem to know how to mix drinks, but at the beach bar (Galeon?) they give you very odd drinks, mostly only bad-tasting juice with ice.

The disco music is too loud in the pool area. The area is kept very clean, which is wonderful. We never figured out the system with the beach/pool towels; some quests had cards for them, some did not. The staff gave us mixed information about many things, they were not sure what they were selling.

Good things: No drunks! Neither did we have to bother with small talk with the other quest since they ignored all the other ones in the hotel. Staff in reception was usually friendly and spoke English (not everybody).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

The hotel itself was very nice we found the bar staff and restaurant staff very helpful.... the reception desk people were not so good.... but ok.

We were fully inclusive as I read earlier reviews, but they still the put the expensive wine list in front of you and don’t show the inclusive list... you must ask for the inclusive list... but again I read previous reviews and was aware of the tricks they try.

We stayed in the Gloria Golf with the intention of my wife taking up golf, I already played a little. This led to the only real gripe of the holiday. The lessons were excellent and the facilities were very good. But we agreed a price before we started the lessons 270 euro for 2 of us sharing 3 hours of lessons. But when it came to paying the bill at the end of our stay the price was 320 euro... I had a hard time arguing but didn’t get anywhere.. so as not to ruin the holiday I just accepted and paid. This highlights to me to continuing nature of Ex pats being ripped off in Turkey. My recommendation is to pay as you go and not leave it until the bus is waiting to take you to the airport. Incidentally don’t go shopping anywhere it is an uncomfortable expensive experience. Its cheaper in the UK, or buy it at the duty free on the way home.

We were going to go back to Gloria Golf in October, but as a result of this we will be trying the recommended Xanadoo hotel and Robinson Golf course for our next visit. This resort was recommended by people we met at the airport and even our rep recommended it as a quieter alternative.

The only other thing worth mentioning is Gloria Golf is more of a family resort so if you are happy with lots of kids running around its fine. I didn’t mind it but my wife who is Russian wasn’t too happy as the kids were mostly Russian. I couldn’t understand a word but my wife was fed up understanding the language and culture. From my point of view lots of yummy Russian mummy’s around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have just returned from the Gloria Golf after one week there with 3 other girlfriends. We could not fault the hotel or the courses. All were kept immaculate. The gripe we have was on the first evening. We went to dinner in the buffet and there was a botle of red wine on the tabler. The waiter duly opened it, and we thought that this was inbcluded in the meal. We were not offered a wine list on the first two evenings. One of my friends asked for an interim invoice mid week and was appalled yo find that we had been charged 60 euros and 50 euros respectively for the wine!!!!!!!! I had a meeting with the bar manager of the restaurant and also the P.R. lady. I stated that , at no time, were we offered the wine list nor given the choice of the wine being offered. It was opened and poured at the table. We then discovered they had a wine list with expensive wine. They also had another wine list with cheaper wines. Unless you stated that you wanted the cheaper wine list, it was not offered. After having some good days golfing and enjoying the hotel this really did spoil our enjoyment. Be warned - if you go to this hotel make sure yougo All inclusive as it works out a lot more expensive to go Half Board. A tonic water was 2 euros and a can of coke was 2.75 euros. The local vodka was nearly half the price of the imported vodka - which was 9.50 euros for a vodka and tonic. Not much chance of having a hilarious night!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey. Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

What a wonderful holiday, there was 14 of us 11 adults and 2 children and 1 baby, the place the staff , the food and whole resort was just excellent, so much so that we are all going back in 2010 to repeat the wonderful experience. The weather was very hot every day, food was very good, staff were great fun and friendly and helpful, no problems booking what ever we wanted the men played golf on several of the courses which were all in excellent condition with no probelm getting good tee times, we all miss the Glorai Golf Resort and wish we were still there, just looking forward to going back, From Bee, Guernsey.

  • Liked — large comfortable rooms, safe and secure, very clean, well stocked mini bar
  • Disliked — steps up to the top floor
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

Just returned from Gloria Golf. Had a fab time- even though it was VERY hot! Booked two rooms next to each other for the kids, and both were of good size and standard. Stayed all-inc which worked out really well - even mini bar was free with wine, beer, coca-cola, even a toblerone daily! Found food to be of good standard - plenty of choice, but after two weeks, buffet got a little repetitive, but that happens everywhere, Lunchtime food at the Turkish rest and the Gloria pub were excellent.A la carte were excellent. Found staff to be very friendly, and provided good service. Poolside was great, and the kids loved the slides and the poolside entertainment (especially the darts!). The pontoon was lovely with comfy beds and a lovely breeze - we managed to get places one day (it was the only day we tried mind). Heard that it can be a scramble for beds sometimes.
All in all, a great hotel - can't fault it. Would return but not in August - too hot!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

We returned from the Gloria Golf Resort on 17th August after a 2 week family holiday with our two teenage children and from the beginning we had problems and found faults in this hotel.

We arrived 20 hrs late after problems with our flight and an overnight stay in a hotel in England and were obviously glad to finally get to the hotel, only to be ferried across the gardens in a golf buggy, to the wrong room. We had booked one of their "garden villas" (shown on their website) being a stand alone 2 bed/2 bath villa with lounge/kitchen area and terrace - we were taken to what looked like a block of maisonettes to the top floor. On entering it didn't seem right, OK it was a 2 bed apartment but had a tiny balcony and didn't match any of the photos on the website, plus the fact it looked very dated. My husband and I returned to Reception, explained the situation and asked to be moved - only to be told that "this room costs the same as the villas"!!! After about 10 mins of arguing for our garden villa, we were finally moved and were more than happy with what we got - the villas really are amazing, apart from the fact that the bathroom sink is in the bedroom (odd?!) and there's no mirror in the master bedroom - other than that the villa was very spacious, excellent air conditioning and perfect for the 4 of us.

The overall grounds of the hotel were lovely but quite compact, with the main pool being totally separate to the pool with all the slides. We felt this was wrong as it left the area with no atmosphere and the main pool was totally quiet all day and there was no breeze whatsover from the beach, so the 40 degree heat proved too much for us and we stayed in the shade. The beach however was lovely although the bar there was poorly serviced and the food not as good as the other 2 restaurants.

The entertainment team were basically non-existent during the day - apart from the 2 fitness instructors who were lovely - aqua gym and pilates/yoga were fantastic classes to go to and the gym was well equipped also. The evening shows were disappointing (according to the children) but at least they had the Zodiac nightclub to go to at 11 pm.

Overall we found the staff very unhelpful and very rude. The reception staff wouldn't do anything for you, however small your question or request and the bar staff just ignored you for literally minutes on end. One of the main problems being that they seemed to be under staffed with the bars sometimes only having literally one person serving - both at the bar and making up the orders for the tables either at lunchtime in the Galeon Bar, or in the bars in the hotel in the evenings. The food was very repetitive, with chicken and rice being the favourite! - although the Galeon served very good lunches of pasta/pizza/salad which seemed to be a big hit alround and very popular after 1 pm each day. The main restaurant (divided into 2) was poorly staffed also and the clearing of the tables was sometimes very slow. One "half" of the restaurants was open from breakfast for an extra half hour (until 10.30) each day and, as is quite common, was the busiest time but again, they were understaffed and everything was a problem - if you wanted a glass of orange juice you had to order it rather than help yourself and could wait ages for it to arrive on the table. No flasks of coffee left on the table, you were lucky to get the one each and often that was luke warm. The overall cleanliness of the restaurants was however very good.

The other main contention was the fact that we had to each carry round a card all the time and everything you ordered - even bottles of water - had to be swiped and we were all-inclusive! Surely a better system would be for the AI customers to wear a wrist band and for the half boarders to have cards so that they could sign for what they were purchasing. And the day we went to check out they wanted to charge us for drinks in the nightclub that hadn't even been ordered! Copies of the cards were all over the place as we had to have ours changed a few times as they wouldn't open our villa door - a prime example of a waiter taking the card and bringing you the wrong one back! At one point there were apparently 7 copies of cards just for our villa!

The a la carte restaurants (of which there are 3) were very hard to get booked into so book them as soon as you can with guest relations, rather than relying on the computer system in reception and make sure you check what's been booked. We booked into the Ancona restaurant only to find that we'd been put onto the balcony after asking for a room inside with the air conditioning. My husband had 2 very heated discussions both with the restaurant manager and guest relations before they finally agreed not to charge us for a table that we hadn't wanted in the first place.

We did however find the doctor in the hotel very helpful which was a bonus as I had tonsillitis and a stomach bug whilst there and our daughter had an ear infection.

Overall we would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for 5 star luxury as you don't get what you pay for. We had another hotel in Antalya to compare this one to (Lara Hotel & Spa) where we'd stayed the 2 years previously and Gloria just wasn't a patch on it and for the money charged, we feel that Thomas Cook should take Gloria out of their brochure. You have been warned!

  • Liked — the garden villa
  • Disliked — the service from staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Golf Resort

Address: Acisu Mevkii, Belek 07006, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Belek
#7 Business Hotel in Belek
#7 Spa Hotel in Belek
#7 Luxury Hotel in Belek
#9 Romantic Hotel in Belek
#11 Family Hotel in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gloria Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Gloria Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Golf Hotel Belek
Gloria Hotel Belek
Gloria Resort Belek
Gloria Golf Resort Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.