We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Garden Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added River Garden Residence to your Saves list
River Garden Residence
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Komur Iskelesi Mevkii Limak Futbol SahalarI YanI C-9, Belek 07050, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Belek
Catalunya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our flat was dirty, the light in one room didn't work, television didn't work, telefone didn't work, the bathroom was nasty, they had just put transparent silicone over the mouldy areas on the bathtub, in all corners there was dirt and even dead flies and insects....
Talking about the whole resort: There is just one single restaurant where you will eat 3 times a day (all inclusive). Ice-cream is out in 2 hours, so the rest of the day there is no ice-cream any more. In the whole resort there is nothing else to do than lying by the pool. The only thing is catching a boat that leaves every 3 hours to a piece of beach that belongs to the resort. This beach is not very beautiful. There you can eat and drink as well whatever you want, but there is not much to choose... Just snacks.....
The only animation that is done there around the main pool was animation for kids. And with loud music that you hear all over the resort. No way to escape... (Only maybe going to the riverside Bar, there is another pool). The children and parents do really nerv when you try to make a calm, relaxing and sunny holiday. No way to escape. It is all focused on families. In my opinion this resort is absolutely nothing for couples!!
The only excursion we did (Antalya by night) started with 3 hours going from one shopping place to the other (jewelery, leather factory....) The whole trip is only focused on making you buy things!!! That REALLY NERVES!!!!!!!!! We better had rent a car and do a trip on our own, even if we didn't dare. The surroundings of the Resort has nothing worth to visit. Only Antalya...
Well.... I don't want to be too negative about this place, but for us both we decided never to go to such a place again....

Room Tip: Die Family-Zimmer sind schön groß, wie eine Wohnung
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
59
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to turkey and as a family or 5 it's hard to find accommodation. This hotel was perfect and offered us 4 bedrooms in a really good location. The staff are so friendly and say hello whenever they see you around the resort. There is a town named Kadriye near and we used the local bus to get there which is much better value than the taxis! Overall a wonderful holiday and I'd happily go back tomorrow if I could! Would recommend :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales - uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

just arrived back after having two weeks at this place - it was fab !!!!!
read the reviews about how dirty this hotel was but we couldn't fault it , our room was cleaned every single day and the general grounds/ restaurant/ were spotless. someone was always around with a brush!!! the staff were so very friendly, always very polite and so lovely with the children , our children are 8 and 11 and had a great time , the water slide was opened for a few hours in the morning and the same in the afternoon. maybe could be opened longer but to be fair i think that time is fine as a few do get a bit mad and it is not manned by staff so you can imagine. The food was brilliant couldn't fault it there was plenty of variety and all cooked fresh , the omelets in the morning were very nice ...yes there were a few fly's around which has been moaned about but i don't know what is expected when the restaurant is opened up to the outside it is impossible to keep them out !!! Not really a popular destination for Brits, not sure why- i we would highly recommend it - During our 2 week stay there were only 2 other Brit families there. This is a 800 person hotel so 785 were mainly German & Russian. Plenty of pool space though even if you are not an early riser! ;-) ice cream 2x a day ( could maybe be a little more !!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

River Garden Belek is relatively new resort based on hotel suites gathered around several pools, and as a concept something which we thought would suite our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens).

Reception / Personnel / Activities:

This is our by far biggest concern with the place, and that is the appalling lack of language ability / service towards anyone who doesn't speak German. 95 % of the guests at River Garden are German, which means that everything is rigged for them. Activities, music, trips, massage, shops are German style, and you could simply see the fear in the eyes to the personnel every time we tried to speak to them in English; as a Scandinavian you were more or less totally neglected and treated as a second class tourist. They also had a so called weekly Turkish night which we hoped was great Turkish food and a display of Turkish tradition. Instead we ended up with a few supplements to the ordinary buffet and some overpriced marked stands / sellers around the pool area; what a wasted opportunity !!

Rooms / Suites:

Nice and spacious suites located close to pools generally cleaned every day, Our biggest upset was that the sunbeds we had paid access to was "towel reserved" by none residents, meaning that we had to set the alarm clock early morning in order to get our sunbeds. This could have been easily fixed by numbering the sunbeds to the different suites, but again addressing the management speaking English was a nightmare.

Food / All Inclusive / Restaurant

Being told that the food was supposed to be great here, we were not very impressed after a fortnight. The restaurant was crowed at 70 % of the time (which means you need to eat early or late to get a decent table sitting), and the food was at best fair enough, but very bland. I do give them credits for very fresh vegetables, but when the dessert table is basically raided before the last hour of the dinner meal services, something is very wrong. Also to my surprise, the bar started to tap beer / soft drinks in advance and place them on the counter for anyone to collect; that is simply something you don’t do when it’s 35 degrees outside and flies everywhere!!
Another issue is the amount of wild cats lurking in the restaurant and the personnel looking at the guests feeding them is not nice at all; it’s totally unhygienic and a sign prohibiting people to feed them should have been placed in the restaurant.

Pools / Beach

There are 7 (2 children) pools at the residence where 2 of them are dedicated residents in Jasmine Pool Suites (we had these). Pools were very nice and generally clean (high chloride though), but if you don’t have a pool suite you can simply forget acquiring any sunbeds as you need “towel reserve” them before 7 AM in the morning. Beach was a 15 minute boat ride from the hotel, and was a very nice option to the crowed hotel pools. Lots of sunbeds with adequate shades, nice pebble beach and good grilled food made this my favorite spot at River Garden.

Conclusion

All in all, the place was pretty big disappointment being a none German citizen. We will certainly not be coming back here, and we can hardly recommend it for others (for the German, it’s probably heaven on earth). The concept idea is very nice, but when everything is rigged for the German preference and there is loud tacky Eurodance music wherever you go, we feel there are some severe flaws to the management which makes it an opportunity not taken.

Room Tip: Jasmine Pool Suites are the only viable options if you want a sunbed....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsberg, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was like a holiday village and Jasmine suites had good location next to pool. Room location was best. Kids playground had near location and its seems safe. Atmosfere and food was good, but cleaness and service was not. For example, our room during the two weeks
Cleaners do not have wiped the tables and dirt on the floor just moved from place to place. Under beds there was much dust and it never gone anywhere. So, if you are allergic to dust then this is not the place for you. In restaurants there was little bit same problems. Glasses, plates and forks and knives was dirty or then there was not any of those items. And there was very much mosquitoes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henri-Chapelle, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well we did not expect much, looking at the price. But when we arrived, we got an appartment instead of a room. That was a nice surprise....until we opened the door. Dirty under the beds, mirrors not cleaned, but sheets were ok. The toillet did not flush well. So we went back to reception, we got another one. Much cleaner but still not excellent.
We had a good tv working and the apartment overall was ok for the price. As others mentioned the road to the Hotel is a bit bumpy but hey that is not that big deal, until we went to the "restaurant". We thought the food was really horrible, so we spent money on bus and taxi to get out of there in the evening... on the bumpy road!!
Well we would have enjoyed the place much more if the food would be better, It was for us worst than in some canteens. Pools were ok, we did not take part on any activity. We had no children but we heared people complain that the slides closed much earlier that the 6 p.m. on the sign. Although it was almost dark at 5.30.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had to say something about the negative review above where the lady mentioned "disgusting standards" firstly there are large placards which state that there is no lifeguard on duty at the pool and that young children should not be left unattended. Secondly at the time I was there there was a doctor there all the time. She admits herself that she was attending to her baby when her 2 yr old fell into the pool and had to be attended to in hospital. It always strikes me as amazing how people always try to find other people to blame for their own mistakes.
OK so here is the review proper.
Food.
The food was OK, the kids loved it I guess you could say though that there was something for everyone.. the fresh salad bar was brilliant , I live here in Switzerland and have to admit that I have never seen such fresh salad.. really good stuff. The main courses and breakfasts offered a good choice and were always warm.. one slight drawback though.. I feel the restaurant is too small. If you want to get a table outside for more than 4 people then you need to be there a half hour earlier and reserve your place ... however if you wait until around 8:30 before you eat in the evening then it generally is not a problem.
Staff
The staff were at all times friendly and helpful, the Animation team asked once if you wanted to participate in an activity , if you said no.. they left you alone, which was fine.. There was just one guy selling massages and reflexology, he was professional , and did not harass you. my Girlfriend , her daughter and Son and my Son all had massages. They said they were great and well worth the money.
Beach
The beach was great, the sand and sea was clean, always plenty of deckchairs and parasols for shade.. lots of small fish and stuff if you do a bit of snorkelling.. Boat sports were a bit pricey 30 euro for 10 mins jetski(but it can take 3 people) The Jetskis were fast ( we got 45 mph from one) Banaboat was 10 euro per person for about 15 minutes.. didn't do it ourselves , but it looked like fun.
Pool.
The pool is really nice, there are plenty of deckchairs and plenty of shade if you want it... If you are a big group(we were seven) and you all want to sit together then you need to get there early.. couples and small families will have no problem.. Music was not too loud and was mixed. The only pool activity was water polo which was good fun and a good way of getting to know other people. It is a bit slippy around the pool as to be expected and I saw one young guy running, falling and smacking his head pretty hard, he was OK.. but just make sure your kids dont RUN and then they will be OK.
Accomodation
We were in a duplex apartment with 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms , 3 double beds and 2 single beds. (2 small brothers had to share one double bed) The apartment was cleaned daily and was a very high standard we were very comfortable with 7 people. Showers were never HOT though, only luke warm, that didn't bother us much because outside it was over 30 degrees C. all rooms had air conditioning.
Insects etc..
there were not many moskitos there (no more than here) and they were not too bad if they did bite however I would recommend long trousers in the evening and bring a Jacket as it tended to get a bit cool(we were there from 12th to 19th October). All around the places where they served the drinks at the snackbars there were a lot of wasps which was fairly offputting, that was just around the hotel though. At the beach there were none.. there is obviously a few wasps nests close by , which they could do with getting rid of. I never saw anybody getting stung and the staff just seemed to ignore them. however it could be nasty if you had small kids there. This is something the hotel should look at.
Animation.
The Animation in the evening was good fun and only went on for about 90 minutes, It was preceded by the kiddies disco ,which my youngest (8) absolutely loved.. They took good care of the children and they had a lot of fun.
Activities.
Tennis, Table Tennis, sauna(free) , Boccia, Darts, Water Polo,Fitness Centre, water slide for kids, This is SAFE and watched all the time, the large windy one is fairly slow and you cannot get hurt on it..
Location.
you are right beside all the belek golf courses, there is a bus which goes every hour to Kadriye. Well worth a visit on a Tuesday when the Bazaar is on.. a taxi cost 15 euro for 7 people, return, the bus costs 2 euro per person return.. If you do go into the town of Kadryie then haggle , haggle and Haggle... all the stuff is fake on the stands , but I have to say, fairly good quailty in most cases.
People.
when we were there there were about 90% Germans there, rest made up of swedish, Dutch, swiss and I think I heard one couple speaking English.There were also a number of Turkish families. They showed the world cup qualifying matches at the beach bar in German. I have no problem with Germans as I speak the language, but if you do not like them , then this is not the place for you.

Summary.
I would highly recommend rivergarden residence as a family destination, My kids were practically crying when we were leaving,the Week we were there absolutely flew by. It was thoroughly relaxing, non intrusive and good fun.. all helped by the great weather.. 7 days all over 30 degrees and not a cloud in the sky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Garden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Residence

Address: Komur Iskelesi Mevkii Limak Futbol SahalarI YanI C-9, Belek 07050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Belek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Belek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — River Garden Residence 4.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River Garden Holiday Village will enjoy the holiday, the hotel offers you the unique opportunity of have a rich cuisine and will benefit from the concept of inclusive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Garden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Garden Residence Belek, Turkey - Antalya Province

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Garden Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.