We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Uniao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Uniao to your Saves list
Residencial Uniao
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Serpa Pinto, 94, Tomar 2300 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I stayed here for 9 days and loved it. First 3 were with a group of friends and rest with my husband. Perfect location on lovely street. ATM outside door and so many restaurants.... Staff were fantastic, great language skills and good suggestions. Very close to the highly recommended Convento de Cristo

Room Tip: Probably courtyard rooms are quieter than ones on front of hotel overlooking main st
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
59
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in the R.Uniao just one night. The place is old fashioned and the owners very kind and nice. The breakfast is not exceptional but anyway very cheap. the position is very comfortable to reach everything in tomar.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We've stayed at the Residencial Uniao twice now, both times staying in a room with a tiny balcony at the front of the hotel overlooking the pedestrian only street leading to the main square. Both the room and bathroom are a reasonable size, basic but clean (I think these rooms may be slightly more expensive than others). The bed wasn't that big, and the mattress fairly flat, but we slept ok. The building is old, with plenty of character although some visitors may it difficult due to the stairs as nothing is at ground floor level. The décor is dated and a revamp would do wonders but for the price you can't complain. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful and luckily for us speak English as well as French.

Friends staying in rooms overlooking the side alley commented on the amount of noise (ranging from arguing neighbours to dustbin lorries), even though our room was at the front of the building, the shutters blocked most of the noise, only the loudest late-night revellers disturbed us. Rooms overlooking the central courtyard would likely be the quietest available.

Continental breakfast is self-service in a large airy dining room, a reasonable selection including fresh fruit, yoghurts, crusty rolls and sweet pastries as well as the usual cold meat and cheese. Depleted items weren't always replaced promptly but any oversight came with an apology.

As other reviewers have mentioned, there is free Wi-Fi on site but other than in the lounge area, the signal is very weak. There is also an honesty bar with a good selection of drinks available. Tomar itself is an interesting small town worth a detour from the main tourist destinations with plenty of interesting places to visit. This hotel is well worth considering if you just want a clean basic room in a central location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had a pleasant stay for 4 days and can well understand some reviewers comments. We stayed when Tomar had its Festa Temparia weekend and therefore this establishment was ideal. The rooms are a bit small and sparse and one could say its tired but some find this more likeable than a posher hotel. The rooms were clean and the bedding/towels were changed every day. The staff were very friendly and the trust placed by them in the open use of the bar was a nice characteristic. Breakfast was fine and I even saw some quests bundling up fruit and bread to take away. You get what you pay for and we certainly did. I see someone has referred to it in the backpacker style and to a degree I would not fall out with this, as I too have experienced a wide range of these and I would put this establishment high up on my list.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are probably best, for the view, some rooms at the side are next to an alleyway w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Very centrally located old hotel. Rooms very small with barely enough room for the furniture and "bathrooms" as small as possible. It was clean and quiet but there were few staying while we were there. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had no Portuguese. Breakfast was much better than the "continental breakfast" we expected. We dined out nearby for dinner.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for its location, character and price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Although the stuff is very friendly and helpful, and the hotel is centrally located, we haven't slept a wink since the mattresses were old and very bumpy, and the walls were paper thin: we heard the TV from the neighbouring room and the loud chattering of a family with children from across the hall! The next morning, most tables at the breakfast room were covered with the remains of breakfast of previous guests, and many staple foods were missing ( milk and bread). After ten minutes of waiting, a stuff member arrived, and to our request immediately supplied the missing ingredients.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
169 hotel reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

It's cheap, but not cheerful. A lot could be done to spruce this place up. Our bedroom was one of the tiniest rooms we've stayed in, with the half-width door barely clearing the bed. The carpeting was thin and stained, furnishings were basic, and not well-maintained (light broken). Overall, the room was quite cold (admittedly, we were here in November and expected the cooler temperatures), the radiator couldn't really heat up the place, and the bathroom was freezing all the time.

The breakfast room was also very cold, and the portable heaters weren't up to the task. Breakfast was basic, and food was mostly packaged.

The staff were helpful and friendly. Location was ideal being right on the main pedestrian mall, close to shopping and several good restaurants. Distance to the Convento de Christo was quite short, but not walkable. There is no parking attached to this hotel, street parking is challenging to find, but there are a few streets nearby where parking is free.

Wifi was very weak.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Uniao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Uniao

Address: Rua Serpa Pinto, 94, Tomar 2300 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Uniao 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LOCALIZADO NO CENTRO HISTÓRICO, FUNDADO EM 1895, DISPÕE DE 28 QUARTOS COM CASA DE BANHO PRIVATIVA, TELEFONE, TV SATÉLITE, AQUECIMENTO, PÁTIO INTERIOR AJARDINADO E BAR. WIFI GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencial Uniao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Uniao Tomar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Uniao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.