We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel and well situated in the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Uniao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residencial Uniao to your Saves list
Residencial Uniao
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Serpa Pinto, 94, Tomar 2300 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Melbourne
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel and well situated in the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We located this hotel easily and even got free car parking. The check in was great and we even had a pick of rooms and chose one with a double bed and single bed with a large bathroom. Wifi was included and so was breakfast. It is situated on a pedestrian mall and there was no road noise. Daniela was very helpful and even helped us with our luggage. The rate was favourable and good value

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    46
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
57
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We loved Tomar and the Residencial Uniao. It is in the center of the historical district, a short distance from the train/bus station. It is an easy distance to walk. The staff was helpful. We decided to extend our stay because of the "quiet and peaceful" area. It was a useful base for us to take daily trips by bus to other sites in the area. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Stino di Livenza, Italy
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This Pensao it is in the central of Tomar, in the Central Street of this very nice Town.
We found this Pensao when we arrived in the afternoon, we went inside because it is the first hotel we found and it was a very good choice !
The reception it is after the stairs and we met a kind lady that doesn't speaks english but can speaks in italian and spanish and portuguese of course! She explained us the two types of room she has: with a big bathroom or with the small; we decided for the small one.
The Pensao it is very charme! The furnitures are antique and the room was very very beautfil not so big but very clean and unique !
Our room it is also with antique forniture, with television (some channels are internationals) , with soap and towels.
The bed it was a little bit small but like all the Portugal !
The breakfast was also a surprise ! A lot of biscuits, fruits, marmelate, bread, juice, tea, coffe and also something salat.
The price was very economic for this type of accomodation !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Nicely decorated traditional house in Tomar's "Main street". Really recommendable to stay there. Breakfast could be improved with fresh juice, but that does not influence the general positive impression.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

After reading so many positive reviews we decided to spend one night of our road-trip across Portugal here since we wanted to visit "Convento de Cristo" first thing in the morning.
The room we got was really small: we had to open the bags in turns and stack them on top of each other to have access to the toilet.
The room was quite dirty; nothing compared to the toilet.....the shower was rusty, ceiling looked like it was falling apart and the sink was tiny.This was by far the worst room I spent a night in.

The common areas are OK, by far better than the room we got, I assume there are some rooms that still need refurbishing and we were "lucky" enough to get one.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We (my wife and I) stayed only one night at this hotel.
As many has already stated here, the location of the hotel is fantastic, right in the town's center over a pedestrians-only street, a spitting distance from every important landscape (this does not applies for the Castle these days as the road to the Castle is under construction). The room is somehow suffers from archaic and spartan design and smelled a bit with unrecognized smell. Yet, it has a nice balcony facing the street, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom functioned well. So, bottom line, the room met our expectations. The breakfast was fair plus and the dining room is old-style designed and overlooking on a beautiful patio.
Though arrived during the Festival of Human Statues, which was held on September 11th at that pedestrian street, we didn't suffered much from noise, and there was no parking problem (though parking nearby the hotel is impossible).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights at the Uniao toward the end of September 2011. A summary would be great location in the center of the historic old town on a walking street, amiable French-speaking (but also with more than adequate English) hosts, very nice breakfast all for a reasonable price. On the other hand this is one of those places, quite frayed around the edges, that seemingly would benefit from a bit of attention paid to the right places. Some paint here, some hardware replaced there. Our room was quite small and suffered from not having any place to put things after taking them from the luggage. Still we glimpsed other rooms that were quite a bit larger so that may well be a matter of the price range selected. They do not accept credit cards, something I've not seen noted any place. Were we to return to Tomar - a great small town! - I would stay here again though.

Room Tip: Inquire about room particulars if possible. Some overlook the walking street which seemed very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Uniao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Uniao

Address: Rua Serpa Pinto, 94, Tomar 2300 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Uniao 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL LOCALIZADO NO CENTRO HISTÓRICO, FUNDADO EM 1895, DISPÕE DE 28 QUARTOS COM CASA DE BANHO PRIVATIVA, TELEFONE, TV SATÉLITE, AQUECIMENTO, PÁTIO INTERIOR AJARDINADO E BAR. WIFI GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residencial Uniao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Uniao Tomar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Uniao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.