We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Convento da Ordem de Cristo

Convento da Ordem de Cristo
Colinado Castelo, Tomar 2300-000, Portugal
+ 351 24 931 3481
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Tomar
Type: Religious Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/day tour
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It has everything this place - fortifications, ramparts, towers, ruins, gardens, tiled cloisters, endless monastic corridors, an astonishing octagonal altar/tower - and even, the Sunday we were visiting, a choral ensemble giving a concert in the church. An entrancing place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    83
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Magical Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I recently moved from the United States to Tomar. We fell in love with the town, it's people and the wonderful Convento and Castle. We have been around the world and this a specical place. Not to be missed if you visit Portugal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

nicely conserved a must in religious art ! 2hrs of nice sights and lots of history, sundays are free other days 6E

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, amazing place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Convent of Christ in Tomar is an amazing place to visit. Found high on a hill overlooking Tomar, the place is spectacular and great to wander around and discover all the different architectural details, from Romanesque to Manueline. A must see is the brilliant Manueline window, the best example of this archictectural style in Portugal. It was so atmospheric and was made even better by the very few tourists there. Don't look to make comparisons, but this is probably Portugal's Alhambra, and the crowds were about a twentieth of what you get there. Just awe-inspiring.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
134 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unesco site worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our third world heritage site in one day, since we visited Alcobaca and Batalha monasteries earlier in the day. While it wasn't quiet as impressive as Batalha monastery, it was unique and definitely worth the stop. The Convent is free on Sundays from 9am-2pm. We just missed that but still felt the entry fee was fair (6 Euros). We wandered around the grounds for a long time and felt like we really needed about 3 hours to see it all. If you have a car, I definitely recommend driving to the top and parking. There is ample parking at the top of the hill. We saw people walking, and it was 97 degrees that day so we were relieved you could park at the top.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convento da Ordem de Cristo also viewed

 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Convento da Ordem de Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Convento da Ordem de Cristo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.