We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dos Templarios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dos Templarios to your Saves list
Hotel dos Templarios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Candido dos Reis 1, Tomar, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was surprised by the modern elegance of Hotel dos Templarios. It sort of resembles an upscale chain hotel from the exterior, but the comparison ends when you walk through the door. It has a vast two tiered lobby with comfortable seating. We spent some time on the second tier in the bar and there was ample seating for our group of 12. The hotel rooms were comfortable with spacious bathrooms. The rating is very good, rather than excellent for two reasons: the hair dryer in my room was broken: it was an old fashioned European one with a wand, which had separated from the hose. I advised the desk and they made a note of it but it was never repaired... sort of a shrug. The staff in the bar was also a little distant. It was a little difficult to get their attention. All in all, however, I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in a corner room overlooking the pool and the hill with the castle above.
The bathroom was spacious however a little tired. The room had a sitting area and was excellent.
Breakfast was friendly and fine.
The reception staff were most helpful.
The hotel grounds are very attractive.
All in all we would use this hotel if we come back to Tomar.

Room Tip: I would suggest a superior room, however it may not come with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank encodeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at the hotel at the end of Semptember 2013 for 4 days. This was not my first time staying at the hotel, but this was the most pleasurable time. The room I had over looked the pool and the park, very peaceful and scenic. The staff was friendly but professional at the same time and as a lone woman traveler this was welcomed.

The one thing i was disapointed at was the food quality in the dining room.I seemed as if the food was processed, On both occasions I ate there, there was two groups of diners from different companies so maybe it was mass produced for them or Templarios is cutting down on food costs. I have dined at the restaurant before over the past years and the food was far better. Food at various restaurants around town were much better. But overall I was pleased with my stay and would stay there again If I return to Tomar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A huge, modern well run hotel. The staff is very courteous, the rooms well appointed, beds comfortable and in our case ( twin beds) large, choice of pillows, and nice quality bed linen.
All rooms have a balcony and splendid views of the fabulous Covento De Christy.
Food in the restaurant is good with nicely old fashion service. The hotel all trough out super clean and for us a nice surprise even had rooms were smoking was allowed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumofHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is certainly one of the most beautiful hotels I've been to in Europe. The grounds and fountains are impressive and the hotel's lobby and entrance are simply grand in their beauty.
The rooms are excellent and the view from my balcony was just lovely.
Food at the hotel is quite good. In short, I think it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in in Portugal. The only thing that bothered me was that the water drainage in the bathroom was slow in the tub and the sink and normally no one likes to stand in a pool of water while showering or have a little pool forming in the sink as they wash their hands or face.
Aside from that, everything was great and I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This old hotel is well-maintained and centrally located near the river. The rooms are spacious and modern, as is the bathrooms. Service is in English is desired and very professional. The restaurant is amazingly good, lovely presentation and reasonably priced. Everyone in the hotel is friendly and helpful - a nice surprise to our visit in Portugal.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

On our way from Lisbon to Lisbon to Porto we stopped for a night in Tomar. This 4 stars hotel was a wonderful surprise!We got a huge room with a great bed and a terrace overlooking the pool and the river , The hotel has 2 swimming pools (one of them indoors and small), Breakfast was satisfying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomar
0.2 mi away
Residencial Uniao
Residencial Uniao
#3 of 8 in Tomar
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
Estalagem Santa Iria
#2 of 8 in Tomar
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa da Avo Genoveva
Casa da Avo Genoveva
#4 of 8 in Tomar
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Estalagem Lago Azul
Estalagem Lago Azul
#1 of 2 in Ferreira do Zezere
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel Lusitano
Hotel Lusitano
#1 of 1 in Golega
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
9.8 mi away
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel dos Templarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dos Templarios

Address: Largo Candido dos Reis 1, Tomar, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dos Templarios 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location in the middle of the city of Tomar, close to the historical centre surrounded by majestic gardens and leaned over Nabão River is the Hotel dos Templários. Strategically located in the centre of the Country, with easy access to A1 and A23, 130 Km from Lisbon, 190 Km from Oporto, 80 Km from Coimbra and 31 Km from Fátima. In the Hotel dos Templários you may enjoy life the way it should be lived. With rooms and suites decorated with refinement, and 14 rooms for meetings or businesses. You may also taste a selection of gastronomic dishes accompanied by a selection of local wines with an excellent service rendered in an attentive and discreet way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel dos Templarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Templarios Hotel
Dos Templarios Tomar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing