We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice standard with perfect pool area - well located for central Tomar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel dos Templarios

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel dos Templarios to your Saves list
Hotel dos Templarios
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Candido dos Reis 1, Tomar, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“nice standard with perfect pool area - well located for central Tomar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we stayed for 3 days - saw the templar castle - a must see for a full day - walking distance to the old town center. Very nice pool with good pool restaurant. fitness facility too small - that should be upgraded.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    173
    27
    1
    1
See reviews for
75
197
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great hotel - the only place to stay if you're visiting Tomar. Its big - but seldom seems to be busy. The size of the entrance hall is a bit overwhelming when you arrive, but its well done out in what I imagine is local marble. The rooms are great; and the de luxe ones are worth the little extra that you pay. The staff are friendly, and the restaurant is delicious. This is not one of the best hotels of the world, or anything like that, but for a spa hotel in the middle of Portugal it is an unexpected find.
The wi-fi in the lobby is free, and was good when we were there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Gorgeous hotel and loved the town. Hotel is in a good location - walking distance to all. Pool is nice. Our room was amazing with a lovely view! Hotel staff are okay - not super friendly. And I definitely agree with the Wifi comments. Breakfast was excellent as well. We only stayed one night and in hindsight I wish we'd stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. I echo all of the previous comments. Convenient location to walk into town centre. breakfast buffet was very good. Only (major) irritation was the exorbitant cost of optional wifi. Both nights we were there the hotel seemed very quiet and thus soul-less. The health centre staff appeared to have taken the afternoon off on our first day, so getting pool towels was impossible.


Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was perfectly comfortable and staff were friendly. It is definitely good value. However there is no wifi available in the bedrooms which I consider unacceptable and some of the templar themes are very tacky (lit up neon templar cross outside the hotel for example). Fully fit for purpose though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limmen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here two nights. Really an excellent (business) Hotel. Spacious, modern, good rooms. Location is perfect, near to the center of Tomar and only 15 minutes walk (uphill) to the Convento de Christo. The breakfast buffet was good, also was the diner. The staff was very friendly. One minor detail : we had the bad luck that there were several groups (coach - tour ) in the hotel / dining area. Perhaps due to the celebrations at Fatima that weekend, but the atmosphere was a little bit spoiled. You can imagine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

this place is massive! huge lobby, breakfast room, guest rooms...very nice but rather overwhelming to the independent traveler - we stayed on a weekend, not only bus tours but a local wedding (that was actually fun to see the dresses) - convenient location to stroll along the river side, have dinner at local restaurant (wonderful! read my review), inspect the Convento de Cristo.

loved the big bathroom windows! could soak in tub and gaze at Convento on hilltop

Convenient but service a bit production like as expected given the masses of guests they service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel dos Templarios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel dos Templarios

Address: Largo Candido dos Reis 1, Tomar, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Tomar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tomar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel dos Templarios 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location in the middle of the city of Tomar, close to the historical centre surrounded by majestic gardens and leaned over Nabão River is the Hotel dos Templários. Strategically located in the centre of the Country, with easy access to A1 and A23, 130 Km from Lisbon, 190 Km from Oporto, 80 Km from Coimbra and 31 Km from Fátima. In the Hotel dos Templários you may enjoy life the way it should be lived. With rooms and suites decorated with refinement, and 14 rooms for meetings or businesses. You may also taste a selection of gastronomic dishes accompanied by a selection of local wines with an excellent service rendered in an attentive and discreet way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel dos Templarios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dos Templarios Hotel
Dos Templarios Tomar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel dos Templarios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.