We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Tomar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alminhas Restaurante

Alminhas Restaurante
Rua Dr. Joaquim Jacinto, 48A, Tomar, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Tomar
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: email is restaurante.alminhas@gmail.com
Sintra, Portugal
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“One of the best in Tomar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

One of the best in Tomar!
Just followed earlier suggestions at tripadvisor and went for lunch there today.
Paid 17 EUR total, for two persons, with grilled meat (delicious and tasty with french fries and rice), two drinks, salad, one desert and two coffees).
Atmosphere is nice and staff is helpful.
Located in the old center, with narrow streets.
Better go there walking, no place to park nearby.

Very good option, cheap and delicious to taste authentic portuguese food!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Lovely Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had our Christmas lunch here and we also come in for lunch on occassion. Paula and her staff work hard to please and the food is good and reasonably priced. The desserts are amazing - especially the chocolate cake com piri-pri - (hot and spicy)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant I went to in Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I did lots of research on hotels and restaurants before our trip, and while the hotels worked out well the restaurants were a series of mistakes! Except this one. We went on a Friday night at 8 (too early I have learnt) however there was a big booking and another table already there, so for once we were not the first in the restaurant!
The waitress gave me the menu all in Portuguese, she came back when my partner returned from the bathrooms (these are found behind very cool barrel doors) and went through the menu so we understood, we ordered from the special menu she did not have to go through the whole lot tho she would have if we let her!
We had bread entrees mains deserts and lots of wine and it all came to €35, which was just amazing value!! Food was amazing too, so much flavor and you could appreciate the effort involved!
I could not recommend this restaurant more, there were many places on the main street which are no where near as nice looking, and more expensive, so go here instead!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, warm atmosphere, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had already seen the great write-ups this restaurant had and so was looking forward to eating there. Unfortunately the first night we didn't find it but the day we left we had just visited the old synagogue and there almost opposite was Alminha.

Despite being late (around 3:15pm) they rustled up some great dishes for us and as for the desserts they were just amazing. They were described in loving detail in english and portuguese by the lovely lady who runs the place with her partner. I don't think I have ever seen such a variety of desserts in such a small restaurant. The cheesecake was delicious.

if I go to Tomar again, I will certainly go again.

Thanks to the owners for such a warm friendly atmosphere, they clearly love what they do.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent two nights in Tomar, and the first night we ate at Alminhas after reading the recommendations on Trip advisor. The meal was so delicious, the wine excellent, and the welcome and the way we were looking after in the restaurant were so good that we went back for dinner the following evening.
We are a family of four, and the variety of food on the menu suited all of us.
Nothing was too much trouble, and care was put into everything.
If we lived nearer, we would eat regularly at the restaurant! A wonderful restaurant, and a relaxing place to have a meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alminhas Restaurante also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to Alminhas Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alminhas Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.