We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O Sabor da Pedra

O Sabor da Pedra
Rua do Rio, n0 5, Tomar 2300-152, Portugal
+351 249 371 750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 60 Restaurants in Tomar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the center of Portugal, 4 km from Castelo de Bode Dam, the restaurant has panoramic balcony overlooking the river, rooms with fireplace, meeting area, summer garden, access to the lake. Natural environment. Private park. Traditional Portuguese food, especially meat certified (mirandesa, maronesa, black pork). Sea fish - grouper, sea bass, bream on the grill; River fish - fried shad roe, grilled pike and bass. The season menu offer - roast kid, Rooster field, duck oven, portuguese stew. Our wine cellar boasts a selection of great Portuguese wines. In the lounge bar, you can enjoy premmium drinks, tonics, vintage ports, liqueurs and others delicious cocktails... Throughout the year, we developed private parties, corporate meetings, themed events with the presence of music, among other arts. Come and find a special place that appeals all year ...
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I never tire of the idylic setting overlooking the lake and exceptional service and food in this restaurant. It is ideal for a romantic meal, special occasion and family meal as child friendly too. We wish we could take it back to England!!!! The owners are very friendly and remembered us from our previous visit 2 years ago. It is well worth seeking out Sabor De Pedra!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    22
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Recommend, without a doubt!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived to the restaurante already night time, so the view was nice, but surely is better in day time... this will make us return there sometime! The service was very good, with a excelent service, with attencion to detail and to the costumer! The food was also very good, making the visit even more worth! I surely recommend everyone to go there, see the view and explore the menu, that is very good! Surely recommend it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning Secret to discover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Our parents took us here for a meal. On arrival the restaurant looks inviting and is set in a tranquil location. It's a tale of two halves inside first a traditional cosy room with some lovely features then a contemporary room that almost feels like you are in a tree house since its high up with glass sides. The view is spectacular as you can see from my pictures you really would not expect it to be there. The service was superb and especially helpful with my little boy age 5. The food was amazing, so tasty and well presented. Wine excellent too. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would go back worth a visit. We met the owner Anna whose English was great and told us all about the area, the new campsite by the river, swimming canoeing and other activities. We shall be back since our parents live about an hour away.
Really has to be seen to be believed:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mothers Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A lovely surprise lunch today from my husband.

We love this place, good service, good food and fantasic veiws of the beautiful Castelo da Bode lake.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Notts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by a friend, and decided to go one Sunday lunchtime. The setting is beautiful, high up overlooking the river, surrounded by trees. The restaurant is in two halfs, one a cosy interior, all wood, real fire and traditionally Portuguese, the other is so different, you walk through a small hall way into a glass walled second eating area, this is modern in feel, with stunning views. Now the food, what can I say it was simply fabulous, as it was a Sunday lunch we had Cabrito o forno, and it was to die for, the accompanying vegetAle dishes were inventive and tasty, good service, English is spoken by the owner, who is very welcoming. A great wine list with some nice regional wines. We were so impressed we went back to a special Fado evening, a all inclusive event, food wine and music, It was truly delightful, the Fadista was wonderful and the food terrific, and the price was very reasonable. We have been back a few times since our first visit in November 2012 and have always enjoyed our visits, it will be interesting to go in the heat of summer, when the glass walls/windows are wide open and you would feel part of the scenery, really looking forward to that!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Sabor da Pedra also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to O Sabor da Pedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Sabor da Pedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.