We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteless food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of O Tabuleiro

O Tabuleiro
Rua Serpa Pinto, 140-148, Tomar, Portugal
249 312 771
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 52 Restaurants in Tomar
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: O Restaurante "Tabuleiro", situado no centro historico de Tomar, procura aliar a confeccao da comida tradicional portuguesa uma rigorosa seleccao dos nossos produtos regionais.Venha conhecer-nos, experimentar uma refeicao na "nossa"casa, a nossa comida e podera contar com o melhor acolhimento.Temos capacidade para 100 pessoas, proporcionamos o ambiente ideal para festas de grupos, aniversarios ou para o convivio que ha muito anseia. Saborear uma refeicao, na companhia daqueles com quem mais gosta de privar. Faz parte dos prazeres da vida!Durante os meses de Verao temos disponivel o nosso servico de esplanada para que sinta em pleno o prazer do ar livre.O nosso Arroz de Peixe, Picadinha a Tabuleiro, Bife a Tabuleiro, Massada de Peixe, Feijoada de Chocos, Caril de Galinha, Arroz de Pato, Cozido a Portuguesa e muitos outros fazem do nosso restaurante um lugar que procura preservar a comida Tradicional Portuguesa, uma das nossas maiores riquezas.Somos um restaurante familiar. Venha fazer parte da nossa familia.Temos em cada cliente um amigo e gostamos de longas e duradouras amizades.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasteless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was in Tomar for a couple of hours and chose O Tabuleiro based on the large amount of reviews, most of which were very positive. Waited for about 30 minutes to be seated, which I can't complain about since was at busy lunch time. Staff is friendly too, so no complaints here either. However, food was simply some tasteless mass one puts in his mouth to feel full for a couple of hours. The choice of salads is green with or without carrots, while my main course (something cod fish) was just a plate of sick previously digested by someone else, then fried in the oven and put on my plate. It did taste fish-like, I admit, but I couldn't find a single piece of fillet in the plate of puree I was given. Fortunately I went for a half portion and it was very cheap (15 EUR for a glass of wine, salad and main course), so no matter. My advice is to overpay some place else, but have a wonderful experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RestTabuleiro, Proprietário at O Tabuleiro, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Google Translation
Boa noite ! muito obrigado pela sua avaliação . Fui eu mesmo que o servi . Era dia 8 de Dezembro , feriado em Portugal e nesta altura do ano temos bastantes almoços e jantares de Natal .Tínhamos também nesse dia um baptizado . A duas salas estavam cheias por isso a espera neste dia . Somos uma empresa familiar , meu pai e mãe são os cozinheiros . O prato que o senhor comeu fui eu que recomendei , Trata se de uma forma de comer o bacalhau das muitas que fazemos e que se fazem em Portugal que é bacalhau desfiado , natas e batata frita muito fininha, tudo misturado e vai gratinar ao forno. . Peço mais uma vez desculpa por não ter gostado , Temos outros pratos de peixe como Salmão grelhado , Linguado Grelhado , robalo grelhado , arroz de peixe com camarão e muitos de carne como borrego , carnes de porco e vitela . Ficamos tristes quando os nossos clientes não saem satisfeitos .. Gostaríamos que voltasse para podermos demonstrar que no nosso Restaurante se come bem , temais mais de 30 anos de existência . Feliz Natal e Bom ano de 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Chose this restaurant based on the recommendation of our Hotel. Affordable prices and tasty food. Had the cod casserole and the pork tenderloin both were good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good food, wonderful service at very reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were drawn by the "recommended" sign at the door of this restaurant -- and seeing there were more people there than in other places we saw nearby (locals, not tourists -- this is definitely not tourist season), knowing that this is always a good sign, we went in. Ordered the ensopado de borrego (lamb roast), and had one of the best lamb dishes I've ever had in any restaurant across this country (i've been to more than a handful, as whenever this appears on the menu -- this is always what I end up ordering) -- it was melt-in-the mouth tender, with the sauce just properly seasoned, and the fried bread below just done so. We also ordered the beef pie (empadão de novilho), and the bacalhau com natas or codfish with cream. All the servings were huge -- we had only half portions of the lamb and the beef, but each could easily be shared by two. The bacalhau, which was one entire portion, and supposed to be good for 2 persons, was so big, we couldn't eat more than half of it. There were 4 of us in the group, but the quantity of the food could easily have served 6 people! The empadão was good, although the codfish dish, as one previous poster has already mentioned, is already a variation of the typical way of doing this particular recipe (it was more creamy, and with less fish than is usual).

We thoroughly enjoyed everything here -- the quality of the food, the fast and attentive service, and the good house wine. We ended up paying just a bit over 40 euros, which was unbelievably cheap -- this included the dishes already mentioned, plus starters (bread, olives, and cheese), the small jar of red wine, and 2 types of dessert, and 2 coffee.

The atmosphere is quite pleasant -- the restaurant has one side which is decorated in the more typical, traditional way, and through a connecting door, and which has a separate opening from the street, another side which is in a modern layout. Location is perfect, as it is on the main walking/shopping street.

Would recommend highly this restaurant for those wishing to try excellent traditional food at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The food was a bit hit and miss - my partner and I shared bacalhau com natas, was really tasty but not the true interpretation of the dish. This was the best of the dishes we had. My partner's parents had feijoada con cocos - lacked taste and could have done with more herbs, and pork in a stroganoff-style sauce. Again lacked taste. Poor chips.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Prepare to wait looooooong!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

I waited for my order 45 minutes. Local people who came after me had their desserts while I was still waiting for my main course. The food was mediocre.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Tabuleiro also viewed

Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 
Tomar, Santarem District
Tomar, Santarem District
 

Been to O Tabuleiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O Tabuleiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.