We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel to your Saves list
Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel
Rua Por do Sol 21 | Casal da Capela, Lourinha 2530-077, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penryn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

An AMAZING place to stay - lovley bright clean rooms and kitchen, with a great breakfast every morning. AWESOME evening entertainment - including singing round fires (very loudly), BBQ's with very yummy food, Trips around the local area and even a surprise Candlelit dinner (which was fantastic!!!) The location is perfect, with beautiful views over the local countryside - perfect after a day of surfing, but still close to the town and beaches. There is also a great bar at the surf camp, providing a constant supply of beer and cider :-)
Ana, Daniel and the rest of Da Silva were extremely welcoming and good fun (even joining in with our drunken wine songs on the guitar!) and couldn't do enough for us - THANKYOU!!! It was also lovely that everyone worked together and we often enjoyed evenings with Da Silva, Ripar and all the very friendly locals that we had met! We LOVE Frankey Joe - the local dog (also known to us as Stevie Wonder) who would regularly walk us into town and help us back after a night at Barraca bar ;-)
Ripar Surf school were TOTALLY BRILLIANT!!! The lessons were EXCELLENT with some Amazing instructors. They always took the time to find the right beach to suit your ability, provided you with great wetsuits and even managed to get us to stand up!!!!
We all had the best holiday ever - THANK YOU SO MUCH TO EVERYONE!!!! :-)
We will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
2
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Best camp in town with lovely portuguese owners who love surfing, people and their job.
The house and the rooms are very nice and comfy with a sun terrace and a garden place. You will have a very relaxed stay. We will come back for sure!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Top! Excellente! lovely host. Very friendly. I felt very welcomed. More than I expected. Very clean. Very relaxing. Nice to meet a lot of the lovely locals that came for a visit. They work very well together with the surf school (who are also first class). Beautiful location

Thank you again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If your looking for something unique and welcoming, located in one of the best west coast areas, this is the spot!
The place is perfect, country house close to beautiful beachs and surf spots.
Very clean and warm, the atmosphere its relaxed and friendly.
After a day in the beach you can enjoy barbecues in large bonfire with music and friendly people.
Sunny is the word for Da Silva Surfcamp, dont miss this place...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

hi everyone my name is moire and last year in august diceded to go for a trip in portugal west coast,end up meeting people who advice me to go into dasilva surfcamp:and iam so glad that i have done so:awsome place to be;great people;location is perfect;so close to nature,locals and surf spots:the rooms were clean and bright;Kitchen with all that i need to cook and the team were great ,birthie,ana,daniel and rina;all took really good care of me.there were tasty bbqs with bonfire,wich ill never forget.in areia branca in barraca bar met so many friendly locals and party until sunrise.I also want to advice to take the surf classes cause the teachers were fantastic n made me ride a wave in just 2 days!could not ask for more.thanks dasilva surfcamp for the fantastic hollidays,c u soon.moire

Room Tip: i woul advise to book the honeymoon suite because of the great viwes of the varanda into the ocean n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel

Address: Rua Por do Sol 21 | Casal da Capela, Lourinha 2530-077, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lourinha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Lourinha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Surfcamp Is a typical Portuguese cottage where you can spend an unforgettable surf holiday. Local surfers will teach you surfing within short in a safe way while you get an intense impression of the Portuguese way of life and culture.Surfing is an exiciting game with the elements. At the same time it is absolutely consistent with nature. We want to convey to you the “spirit of surfing” which represents harmony among the surfers, respect towards nature, the ocean and the local culture.The „Da Silva Surfcamp“ is a typical Portuguese cottage amid nature without any traffic nearby. The site is surrounded by spacious field granting a fantastic overall view over the green landscape and a wide valley up to the opposite villages. From the huge sun deck you can comfortably look onto the blue sea and the seaside resort “Praia da Areia Branca” while lying in the hammock. At dawn you can experience gorgeous sunsets. There are several routes across the countryyard to the beach – by foot within 20 minutes. With the beach cruiser which can be rented at our camp, it won’t take 10 minutes and by car on the highway you will arrive at the beach within 3 minutes. Although the camp is located very close to the Atlantic, the feeling of being somewhere in the countryside –far away from the hustle and bustle on the beach – is granted by “Da Silva Surfcamp”.There are two private double rooms, one four-bed room and one six-bed room.. While the two double rooms share a bathroom with shower, both multi-bed rooms have a bathroom of their own. The big kitchen, where breakfast is served every morning, is located on the ground floor. The living-room with its huge sun deck is to be found on the first floor.Our surfcamp is an open house, i.e. there is always a lot going on. Apart from the joint dinners, which are included in the price, spontaneous barbecues or bonfires will often take place. As 50% of us are Portuguese, friends (locals) will come over to join us at the fire. Quite often somebody suddenly takes a guitar and the evening will last far longer than intended. But there are also many, very nice party locations in the surrounding to which we will be pleased to take you in our shuttle bus. After all, we don’t want you to only learn surfing, but also to get to know the pleasant Portuguese nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Da Silva Surfcamp Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.