We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful way to spend the morning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sabino Boat Tours - Day Tours

Sabino Boat Tours - Day Tours
Av. 5 de Outubro - Cais, Olhao, Portugal
+351 915 661 860
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the wonders of nature on the Ria Formosa and be amazed and dazzled by this fragile and complex ecosystem. Ecotourism in Ria Formosa, Algarve Portugal.
england
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful way to spend the morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had pre booked a fishing trip with Joao on the internet in advance , with all of these types of deals we were not sure what we were letting ourselves in for, but Joao turned at the agreed pick up location exactly on time . There was only six of us , but he let us have the entire boat . Fishing is quite as he warned us in advance at this time of year , however we went in search of cuttlefish ans octopus by line , which was great fun and we caught a number of these , however they were all small so we put them back in the sea.

Joao is an excellent host and as a excellent fisherman brings you to all the best spots whilst always telling you lots of useful information regarding the area . We saw lots of the islands and he took us back through channels that allowed us to see lots of different birds , with binoculars which he supplied.

I never felt Joao at any time pressurised us , the time went very quickly but we were never rushed and I felt we saw everything we had hoped to see , his knowledge of the area is fantastic and he is passionate about what he does.

He is a wonderful host and would recommend the trip to all ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Joao was superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a 4 hour boat trip with Sabino Boat Tours and had a fabulous time! As an extended family of 10 with ages ranging from five to sixty-five (ish!) Joao entertained us all fabulously throughout the tour, but also gave us some privacy when having lunch on the beach. His local knowledge of the islands and area around Olhau were excellent as he has grown up there, and he was very keen to share his knowledge of the wild-life as we came across it. Overall, everyone had a superb time and if we ever go back to that area, I am certain that we would book with Joao again. Thank you!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great trip. We booked an ecotour with Joao Sabino in order to avoid the normal ferry stops and to learn about the abundant shellfish and bird life in the Ria Formosa. Joao took us to the eastern area which we could not have reached any other way and gave us a personalised tour with plenty of time to stop, look and explore on various shores. We also got the chance to swim from the boat, using the masks and snorkels Joao has on board. To maximise out time on the boat we brought our own picnic but had full use of the free drinks chest.
Joao’s long family history in the area and his good command of English gives him plenty of insight to share. He caters to his group, making his trips flexible in duration and destination to suit.
The boat was immaculate and comfortable. Maximum capacity is 14 but although we were only four people we had the whole boat to ourselves and there was no frantic scramble to entice others on board as with some other tour trips. The trip was so good that it was a pleasure to pay!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best boat trip in the algarve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a great afternoon with Joao on his boat. the trip is suitable for all ages. We have young kids and teenagers and they all really loved the trip to the islands. We much preferred this to the two other boat trips from Villamoura Marina which we did the past two years. It was also more reasonably priced.
The boat is very comfortable and super clean. The area around the islands is stunning and Joao knows it like the back of his hand. His shares his knowledge with you in his very good English. and made the trip fun for all of us. The kids (and parents) learnt lots of interesting facts about nature in this part of the world.
We would definitely repeat again next time we are in the area.
thanks Joao!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A wonderful way to see the real Portugal.

A superb boat, with toilet. Cold drinks throughout the day. Captain, excellent English, very handsome and personable.

Swimming in the beautiful clear waters of desert island. Trip into Ria Formosa to observe regional birds. Razor clam collecting on sand banks.

Delicious lunch on Picturesque island of Farol.

We elected to have the delicious lunch at set price arranged by captain Joao

A perfect day enjoyed by a family aged 7 to 70.

Definitely on the list of musts for next year's visit to Grandma and Grandpa.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabino Boat Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sabino Boat Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabino Boat Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.