We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely authentic Portuguese dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Snack-Bar Galactica

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Snack-Bar Galactica
Ave.25 de Abril | Rua da Liberdade, Olhao 8700-011, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 109 Restaurants in Olhao
Price range: $7 - $14
Description: Snack-Bar Galactica is a small family run restaurant situated opposite the Camp Site. Excellent Value for Money – House wine very acceptable. Parking is available outside. The Menu is mainly fresh fish and local fare – all cooked fresh on the BBQ or baked in the oven using traditional methods. We ate here every night and sampled all traditional dishes. Cataplana is truly amazing but also either the King Prawn and Black Pig kebabs or King Prawn & Monk Fish kebabs – presented hanging on its own special plate with chips and salad straight from the BBQ........... Clams Carne de Porco à Alentejana (Portuguese Pork and Clams) – brilliant. We were so delighted by the service/ food and overall ambiance; we ordered the night before and tried something different each night. Highly recommend this restaurant excellent food at very reasonable prices, after the second visit the locals recognise you and make you feel very welcome even practising their English!
Restaurant details
Description: Snack-Bar Galactica is a small family run restaurant situated opposite the Camp Site. Excellent Value for Money – House wine very acceptable. Parking is available outside. The Menu is mainly fresh fish and local fare – all cooked fresh on the BBQ or baked in the oven using traditional methods. We ate here every night and sampled all traditional dishes. Cataplana is truly amazing but also either the King Prawn and Black Pig kebabs or King Prawn & Monk Fish kebabs – presented hanging on its own special plate with chips and salad straight from the BBQ........... Clams Carne de Porco à Alentejana (Portuguese Pork and Clams) – brilliant. We were so delighted by the service/ food and overall ambiance; we ordered the night before and tried something different each night. Highly recommend this restaurant excellent food at very reasonable prices, after the second visit the locals recognise you and make you feel very welcome even practising their English!
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely authentic Portuguese dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The food is excellent (the roasted pork...melt in the mouth). Grilled fish (succulent and very generous serving). Algarve carrots (one of the best in the area). Prices are unbelievable, very inexpensive. The man who runs the place....does it all.....friendly, pleasant, efficient.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very good restaurant with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Take your time here. Don't go when you are in a hurry. But wait and watch what is going on and you have a good time and good food also.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Agree with the comment that dont be put off by the words Snack Bar, the meal warranted Restaurant status in our opinion. We had the best grilled chicken ever, cooked to order and served with chips and salad, all for €4.50 euros! Local caraf of wine cold and very acceptable and fresh bread, butter, olives and carrots in herbs,total for both of us €13.20 bargain. We wlll be back again in the week as there are equally mouth watering things on the menu at great prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijchen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was always our favorite restaurant in Fuseta. But last time we came in Fuseta at may 24th we had a really good meal again en the day after it was closed. After a week it opened again and we went there. There were different people and we were a little dissapointed. But luckely we had a great meal again. We've missed the really nice lady who runned the place before because she was so kind, but we still like going to Galactica

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent November BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This café is listed as being in Olhao but more accurately is in the village of Fuseta or Fuzeta. We came across it after visiting the fish market round the corner, and the item which immediately caught our attention was the pavement (sidewalk) BBQ, a tall metal thing with a up-and-over cowling and a chimney. One swordfish and one salmon steak, cooked while we waited on the BBQ griddle. Also while we waited, a man appeared selling punnets of gigantic raspberries from a tray. We bought four for €5 which is ridiculously cheap compared to prices back home. The grilled fish were served up with basic salad (lettuce, tomato, onion) and boiled potatoes, and were also scattered liberally with sliced garlic and parsley. Wonderful. The sun continued to shine, we continued to catch bits of lettuce that threatened to blow away in the wind, and I was surreptitiously dropping bits of salmon skin to the stray cats hanging around. There were quite a few of them, in several different colours. The cheerful waitress served up carafes of fizzy white wine, coffee afterwards and a chocolate pudding thing. Total cost €25, remarkable value.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snack-Bar Galactica also viewed

Olhao, Faro District
Olhao, Faro District
 
Olhao, Faro District
Olhao, Faro District
 

Been to Snack-Bar Galactica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snack-Bar Galactica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.