We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Ive stayed in, in Portugal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Real Marina Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Real Marina Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olhao
north
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The best Ive stayed in, in Portugal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

pro's - Rooms are great, fantastic view from balcony, everything new and clean throughout and very quiet in the rooms at night.
Great location, about 600 mts to bars and resteraunts.
Breakfast very nice with great service.
Pool with a view
negs - Were not drinking in the hotel bar and by the looks of it neither is anyone else as the prices are extreme.
Reception area is dark and unfriendly with uncomfy cafe chairs and no feel to it.

Room Tip: we are on the second floor, which overlooks the outdoor Sunday night meal and music show, we were sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much that you even consider us to be the best hotel in Portugal.
Unfortunately, not everything was perfect though and we thank you also for having left feedback about the points that in your opinion could be improved. There are no plans to refurnish the Lobby anytime soon, but your remarks will be taken into consideration for the future.

Thank you for having shared your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    308
    67
    12
    5
See reviews for
152
619
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Watched this being built a couple of years ago and decided then that I would like to stay.

Booked through Jet2 and it was excellent.

The hotel was not at capacity so they let us choose (within reason) which room and view we preferred. Ended up choosing third floor, evening sun and view of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve (so the sea view). The buffet meals were wonderful, with plenty to choose from and all the staff were polite and attentive throughout. Rooms modern, minimalistic in style and very clean.

Made use of the pool and gym facilities, which were as good as expected from a hotel of this standard and the views from the front of the hotel are wonderful.

Olhao is a working port town with a population of around 50,000 and can seem a bit run down at bits - but that's what I liked. You are in an authentic environment; that has some of best examples of Moorish architecture in all of the Algarve. It is also an excellent base for visiting the many islands along the eastern Algarve, or the villages of the area.

This has to be one of the best hotels I have ever used - first class!

Room Tip: Front view overlooking the Ria Formosa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are really happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and that everything was as good or even better than expected. We are also pleased that you consider us to be one of the best Hotels you have ever stayed in and will make sure that your comments will be passed on to our entire team.

Thank you once again for having left us your feedback and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA for another first class experience.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just come back from this beautiful place.
The hotel is clean and spotless rooms are very big and comfy, pool area is really very nice and is also very clean. The staff are nice and the breakfasts are very good.
Olhao is still very Portuguese which is lovely. The hotel is quit pricey for drink and food but when you got along the road to the lovely restaurants they are really good prices and the food is delicious we tried a lot of the restaurants and we didn't have a bad meal in any.
We also went on the ferry to the beach and the islands are truly beautiful the island of Falho is the best it has a few places to eat and they have a bar on the beach that does table service or I should say sunbed service..... It isn't a place to go if you want lots of night life it is a quite peaceful little fishing town and I hope it stays this way.

Room Tip: We had a sea view which was lovely our friends were at the back of the hotel and their view was over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciated your kind comments not only about our Hotel, but also about the town and are really glad that you thoroughly enjoyed both.

We also hope and trust that Olhão will stay like it is, a charming fishing town where you will still be able to discover and experience the real, typical Algarve.
Thank you very much for having shared your feedback with us, but also for the useful tips about things to do and visit while in Olhão.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home today after a week stay. Beautiful hotel, close to all amenities. Nice restaurants just few minutes away. Didn't eat at hotel but food reasonably priced.....mains about 15 euros. Boat trip to beaches and islands a must, we did the speed boat trip booked in hotel foyer. You can do trip yourself but the local knowledge of guide was interesting at 25 euros per person. Restaurants I recommend are the Brazilian sabores next to police station, hot buffet and meats carved at table for 9 euros. We also enjoyed barra nova, had two meals there 25 euros for two mains beer and wine. Pizza na pedro more upmarket and live entertainment

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for comparing us to Paradise, which was really gratifying for us.

We are happy that you have had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with us and in Olhão and really hope that you will visit us again, hopefully soon, for another great experience at the Real Marina Hotel & SPA.

Yours sincerely


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel itself is no doubt 5 star. It's modern, spotless, the staff are polite and friendly, and the service is good. The bedroom we stayed in was spacious and clean with a good sized bed and bathroom. Stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast buffet was decent. Nice pool and sun lounge area etc. Overall we enjoyed our stay, it was a relaxing week.
What let it down...
We requested a seaview room (which isn't really a proper seaview, more of a boat yard, estuary on the other side of the main road). Anyway, we didn't get one but would've been 100% better than the view from our balcony at the back of the hotel which consisted of wasteland, run-down buildings and walls of graffiti. Room number tip... even numbers = back of the hotel, depressing view. During our first 4 days we requested to switch to a room at the front of the hotel 3 times, but each time were told no room available - very disappointing as it seemed the reception staff weren't to keen to help us out, but fair enough I guess they must get bored with guests asking to switch rooms from the back to the front.
There are several restaurants down the road inc. a Chinese, Indian, Pizza place, but most eating places specialised in seafood dishes (after all Olhao is a fishing village). Anyway, none of these were fantastic, and the beggars didn't help with the dining experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We regret that your stay although enjoyable was not perfect, mainly due to the view and location of the Hotel.
We understand that you would have preferred a room with a view overlooking the Ria Formosa and sea and are sure that if one would have been available our reception staff would have gladly moved you to a room at the front of the Hotel.
Being the most requested ones, however, the sea view rooms are likely to sell out first and we therefore recommend any guest for whom a sea view is important, to book a sea view room category and to not hope that one will be available for upgrade upon arrival.
We also acknowledged your comments regarding the town itself. Olhão is one of the few typical towns of the Algarve, which makes it attractive for many of our guests who want to get to know the real Algarve. We understand however that some guests prefer a touristic destination with all the comfort, attractions and entertainment options they have to offer. For all those who want to experience this, but do not want to miss the hospitality and quality of the Hotéis Real, we would like to recommend one of our sister Hotels, located in the centre of the Algarve and its capital of tourism, Albufeira.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again to one of the Hotéis Real Algarve and remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place to get away from everyone and everything, including commercialism, but can't quite forgo 'luxurious' accommodation - then this is the place for you.

This place will surprise you. Olhao is a small fishing village without a McDonald's or Starbucks in sight, where you eat fresh fish right out of the ocean. However, there's nothing lacking in this hotel when it comes to modern amenities. We stayed in a jr.suite and it was spacious modern and very clean.

The spa is fun for relaxation, but if you are expecting world class treatments I would give it a miss. The gym is technically opened 24hrs a day, though apparently we were the only people who enjoy working out at 11pm. The hotel graciously accommodated us for our whole stay (5 days).

The breakfast select was quite large and the food was good.

However, the most memorable thing was the surprise birthday cake they sent up for my husband with a card signed from the staff and a single candle with a packed of matches. They must have got his birthday off his passport. This really made an impression and of all the hotels we stayed at, we continue to hope in vain surprise cakes will show up at our door. It hasn't happened yet...

What can't be beaten was the price however. For what you get, this is potentially the best hotel we have stayed at in terms of value for money. If you have a project you are working on, a thesis to write or just need to get away from it all - this is the perfect place as there are no distractions but you will be guaranteed comfort.

Ps. We found all of Olhao shockingly clean, including their public washrooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review, not only because we were able to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and how impressed you were with the service, especially our small birthday surprise, but also because you recognized exactly what we aim to deliver. Memorable experiences of a high standard in an unspoiled town at accessible rates. Thank you so much for pointing this out.
There is just one small point that we would like to mention. Olhão did not resist totally to the influence of modern society and there is indeed one McDonald’s in the outskirts of the town.

We really hope that we will be able to welcome you again to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA and thank you for your kind comments and feedback.

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here in June for 8 nights. weve been to portugal many times but this is the best hotel ever. Huge bedrooms and bathrooms with a fantastic view of marina/sea.. The hotel is spotlessly clean and nothing is too much bother for the excellent friendly staff that work here. Breakfast is fantastic which included champagne. Were already starting to think about it for our next holiday. . .

Room Tip: chose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoteis_Real_Alg, Manager at Real Marina Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is overwhelming and really gratifying to see how many guests are either repeated guests or are already planning their return trip, as you are, and please forgive us for repeating ourselves, but this is definitely the biggest compliment we can hope for, although we have to admit that being considered the best hotel ever, makes it even more special.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon, to the Real Marina Hotel & SPA..

Kind regards


Jorge Teixeira
Manager
Real Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Real Marina Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Marina Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro, Olhao 8700, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Olhao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Olhao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Real Marina Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Escapio, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Real Marina Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Marina Hotel And Spa
Real Marina Hotel Olhao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Real Marina Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.