We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salsalito

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salsalito
Save Saved
You added Salsalito to your Saves list
Alagoas, Burgau, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Burgau B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A paradise retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We absolutely loved Salsalito!! It is stunning, full of character and to be quite honest, it is hard to put into words how amazing this place is! Sally is the perfect host. She made us feel so welcomed, we really felt at home in Salsalito.There are incredible outdoor surroundings with the option for barbecue and your own little kitchen for outdoor dinning. There are welcoming hammocks spread all around, not to mention the fabulous pool and poolside area. There is an honesty bar where you can relax with any drink you could possibly imagine!! (There is even an amateur guide to cocktail-making!). It was just perfect. Also, the village of Burgau is an excellent little retreat (off-the beaten track), the beach is gorgeous and only a 10-minute walk from the wonderful Salsalito. You won't be disappointed. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The Santa Fe is the biggest and in a self-contained area but to be quite frank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Believe what you read about this Haven. You will not be dissapointed!!
Breakfast on the terrace, relax by the pool, well stocked bar. What more do you need? Everything was brilliant!!!
We absolutely loved it and will be back. Thanks Sally and Ralph!!!!!!!!!!! Ali and Lindsay x x x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful haven of peace and comfort. We had a week here in August. Sally is so hospitable and friendly. Breakfast on the veranda was gorgeous. The pool and gardens are perfect, very comfortable sun beds and excellent kitchen available if required. Fabulous restaurants within 10 minute walk. Car is not essential.
We had the Sintra room which was lovely.
The honesty bar is brilliant and very fairly priced.
Would highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Salsalito is a beautiful oasis that has to be seen to be fully appreciated. Sally was a perfect host who helped make our honeymoon everything we wanted it to be. There is little doubt that we will be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Faro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a must for every discerning traveller. It is beautifully appointed and close to all amenities. Even in wintertime this place is a joy with it's enormous logfire.
All the best to the owners Sally & Ralph

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Other reviews are very fair. Great place for couples to enjoy a quiet, laid back time. Not really a place for kids unless they are older and enjoy lazing with a book by the pool.
The kitchen area and fridge for each room gives you the flexibility on days when you don't want to eat out, combined with the service of a good breakfast each day and a maid service.

Burgau, which is easily walkable, has a good selection of simple restaurants although you won't hear much other than English spoken. We stayed two weeks which is perhaps a tiny bit too long in an area which is not exactly peppered with places to visit, but the beaches of Sagres and the hills around Monchique are within easy reach.

Room Tip: Santa Fe is larger than the others and has its own sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We arrived in Salsalito utterly exhausted from too much work and not enough play and it was PERFECT. Comfortable, clean and cool bedroom (Bamboo) with air conditioning, good bathroom and shower...beautiful pool, great temperature and lovely shallow sloping entry for dipping feet into, incredible honesty bar stashed full of tempting beverages - when I said to Sally that I had emptied the fridge of my favourite wine, she promptly restocked! Great kitchen with private cupboard and fridge. Beautiful grounds with incredible trees, all planted by Ralph, and hammocks strung up in the shade of palm trees. Very comfortable sun beds by pool, made by Ralph - amazing. Lots of lilos if you fancy floating while you read. Lots of different areas to sit and relax - lovely tables, big and small, so you can always find an area to sit alone and relax quietly. Gazebo with super comfortable armchairs that seem to hug you. Lovely cleaning lady/maid/general helper to Sally - she prepared a gorgeous breakfast every morning - fresh fruits, cereals, breads, pastries, ham and cheeses...tea, coffee, fresh fruit juice...
Sally was super-obliging - so welcoming and friendly, booking restaurants, giving helpful tips, providing strapping for a broken toe...and she was very excited when we revealed that we had just got engaged! We did not want to leave.
We can't recommend Salsalito enough!
Izzy&Richard

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Salsalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salsalito

Address: Alagoas, Burgau, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Burgau
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Salsalito Hotel Burgau
Salsalito Burgau, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salsalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.