We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vinha Wine and Tapas Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers

Smugglers
Rua da Praia, Burgau, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 21 Restaurants in Burgau
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Vinha Wine and Tapas Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Decided to post under the old "Smugglers" name,as I feel there are some inaccurate posts here.
We found this Tapas bar to be the cosiest spot for an after dinner drink,& although we didn't try the Tapas(we were always too full from dinner!) it did look very appetising.
We found the wine to be quite reasonable,a bottle of house red/white/rose at €9;yes you can get a bottle of wine for €7.50 in the LA Bar, but the Vinha (Smugglers) bar is much more comfortable.
Just depends on what's important to you I suppose.
You can get a beer there,but only in half pints.
There was quite a mixed clientele when we were there,mainly "older" people but also a few youngsters but always a relaxed atmosphere.
Next time we're in Burgau we will be sure to visit again & even give the Tapas a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Too pretentious for Burgau”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very friendly and efficient hosts, could not do more for you.. but a wine bar in Burgau with those prices!! i had the odd glass. Sorry but liked it how it was before.I do like the idea of the olives cheese and bread, and the sharing platter that's a really great idea, as you are not always hungry for a meal..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Sorry to say but not everyone in the party drinks wine some we were expecting to be able to order beer as well. Unfortunatly beer is not on the menu. Couldn't find many mixers for spirits either. We stayed for one and left. Felt sorry for the staff

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice wines and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Tapas was a little on the pricey side and not much variety despite our 'nibblers' choice from the menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Thanks Girls. Great job, introduced us to some fantastic wines. So much better than the 'pub' scene. Would recommend 100% if in Burgau.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Smugglers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.