We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Portuguese Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matias

Matias
burgau, Burgau, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 21 Restaurants in Burgau
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Typical Portuguese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had never visited here before but as a friend recently recommeded this small authentic restuarant we deceided to give it a try. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and attentive, the food was well cooked and nicely presented. After the covers, I had the grilled sole fillets which were lovely, my husband had the pork tenderloin with pineapple and our two friends had the Portuguese steak. (it is traditionally served with an egg on top but if you prefer it without, that is not a problem). Everyone was happy with their meals, we also had desserts, which were also nice. The bill was very reasonable, especially when compared to other local restaurants. We had a litre of house wine with the main course and had a mixture of beers, spirits and mixers beforehand and the bill total was €80.00 so we will come back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely selection of food on menu and always a good meal there. It is very reasonably priced too. Good service and nice ambience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here on recommendation from friends. We ordered the portugese steak which was told was really nice, well i have to say we were disappointed it came with a friend egg on top my partner hates fried eggs and a row of potatoes round the pot and that was it, was it worth the money we didnt think so and doubt we would eat here again. The waitress did a good job though being as she was on her own with several tables booked.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everywhere else was booked up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ended up here on a busy evening when everywhere else was booked up (take note if going to Burgau, you'll need to book places!). Nothing particularly wrong with the place it was just very average. They pushed the cover which turned out not to be so cheap. The best part of the atmosphere was Nemo the fish painted on the wall for my toddler to look at!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“off the beaten track, but give it a go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a lovely restraunt with a beautiful atmosphere and delicious food! there was quite a wait for the food to come but that is usually a good sign. there was also a very attentive waitress, who was half english and lovely with children. its always a good sign when its full of locals!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matias also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Matias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matias, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.