We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Family run restaurant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ancora

Ancora
Burgau, Burgau, Portugal
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Burgau
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly Family run restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great Food - this restaurant had a rather old fashioned atmosphere nice location - run by brother & sister - really enjoyed our meal here and the service! Food was excellent - staff were so friendly and free Wi Fi too! Would definitely recommend a visit! When it came to choosing a local wine - the owner just kept letting us try the wines until we found one that we liked! How special is that!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    16
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I've visited Burgau for the last three summers and have always planned to visit the Ancora -- and thankfully this year I did.

The food was excellent and quite inventive. The service is the best I had out in both Burgau and Luz (basically they are a family unit who are a polished article). And its just such a lovely quaint and intimate place to eat. Good atmosphere. Basically, everything I had been told before.

One small downside for some I imagine - the menu is quite small. But that reflects the size of the operation more than anything else. Nevertheless, that said there is still steak, chicken, pork, salmon, mussels and an array of fish on the menu.

Really good place to eat, and I'm likely to return in 2015.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
“class as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Amazing food and service provided by the hard working staff in Burgaus classiest restaurant.superbly cooked and garnished food which melts in the mouth. Try for a balcony seat and watch the night go by in style.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently had a family meal here on Friday 20th June,we were greated by the manager who was very accommodating.The food,atmosphere,was just great.It's a must…..


There is a free car park away from the resturant it over looks the beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We ate here twice. We both love fish and the sole was simply stunning. Service cannot be faulted. It is warm and welcoming and efficient. Impossible to eat three courses so skip the starter to leave room for the crepes! Thank you for a high quality dining experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Ancora also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ancora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.