We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Grande, Portugal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Grande
Save
You added Casa Grande to your Saves list
Rua Principal | Burgau, Lagos, Algarve, Burgau 8600-113, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Burgau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casa Grande, Portugal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely house very close to the beach. We had a spacious clean room with on the ground floor with an ensuite bathroom. Friendly atmosphere - different nationalities with different stories to share at the breakfast table. Homemade jams and English tea if desired. Sally is the perfect host - welcoming, inquisitive and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
38
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Looking for a place in the Western Algarve, we followed a tip in the guidebook "National Geographic" and found Sally's old manor house in Burgau. We were taken directly from her in the spacious and charming rooms and fell in love at first sight. We felt right at home and adopted by Sally. And yes, it's true, you should be prepared for the interviews :-) Then it's more fun to have breakfast at the large communal table. Absolutely recommended.
Oh yes, Burgau is also very nice :-)
Anne & Uwe from Berlin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herenthout, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great house! Breakfast: very good. Rooms: big and beautiful (badroom is very clean, ground in the room not so clean) Special!!! Sally is a good entertainer. We enjoyed our stay very much!!!!

Room Tip: when you can choose: south side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We just came upon Sally's beautiful Casa Grande by chance and were glad we took the walk down the short dirt path to see if a room was free. It was a wonderful surprise to find a place so filled with charm, history, cross-cultural experiences, and a loving host so full of stories and a love of life, offering her home to complete strangers who would soon feel like distant family. For those interested in the mass-tourism-flavored hotels, B&Bs or luxury hotels with a half-dozen stars pinned to the wall: keep walking. For the rest: this is an experience not to be missed. And the pizza next door is awesome!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We came for one night and stayed five, because everything was so nice and easy going.
Be sure to have answers for Sally's interview at the first breakfast (Where are you from? What do you do?) :)
Abundant breakfast, 5 minutes walk to beach and "city" center, nice italian restaurant at the side with very good pizza. If you're interested in a Fado-night: Sally will arange it.
We enjoyed our stay very much and surely will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We keep coming back every year and visited Sally's fabulous guesthouse many times. It is really unique and very charming. And there is no place we have found like that anywhere else. The days begin with a breakfast on a big table - always the best start into the day and many times we sit there for long. Just because it is always nice to get to know people that way. We met many special people and it is nice crowd of different people. Most of them come back as we do. Sally owns a very good Restaurant as well which is just beside the guest house in an old barn, very nice atmosphere and stunning food. Esspecially the chocolate desert is very good. But try her amazing fish dishes as well! The guest house is a very nice old mansion house. The oldest house in Burgau. It is absolutely beautiful and each room has another colour. Rooms have old Portuguese furniture. You really have to experience it.
And Sally anyway is the best host I have ever met - if you are lucky you get to see the treasure of the house, that Sally has found a couple of years ago... ;-)
There are many stories about Casa Grande.
We will always return to our favourite place.
Burgau is a very nice village which has kept the fishing village atmosphere. Sally knows all the deserted beaches around and will help with advice about the area.
Really there is no better place to relax. And have fun. And good food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Just by chance we found this beautiful house while looking for a stay at the algarve for a few days. It was all we could hope for. A beautiful old house, a wonderful room (turquoise) with special character, wooden floor, old furniture and windows that allow you to see the blue sky and the trees. It was really nice to have breakfast together with the other guests - and with Sally, talking about plans and the best places to visit. It is a very indidvidual place, really worth visiting and probably the last place to stay if you don't want to live in one of the over-developed tourist resorts or uninspired plastic-hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande

Address: Rua Principal | Burgau, Lagos, Algarve, Burgau 8600-113, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Burgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Burgau
Casa Grande Burgau, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.