We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herdade do Touril

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Herdade do Touril to your Saves list
Herdade do Touril
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Herdade do Touril and found it marvelous. It was quiet, out of the way (in a good sense) and exactly what we were looking for. Breakfasts were in a common room in the main building of the hotel, and went from 7:00 in the morning until 11:00. From time to time dinner is also served (to support the hikers on the Rota Vincentina) and was local and delicious. The owner has great recommendations for local restaurants and was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    33
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
120
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

I've stayed in Herdade do Touril four or five times and loved it everytime!
The friendly service is outstanding. The rooms are perfect.
I usually go in June to relax and calm down.
It is very quiet around here but if you like to take bike rides, enjoy the nature and take walks i really recommend this place..there's even a hidden beach and the breakfast is outstanding.

I tavel a lot and see many hotels and i really have to compliment the staff. They are so friendly and go over top to make it a place you always want to come back to. i will for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in early December and really liked the place. We were upgraded to a suite, free of charge, which was a real bonus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The suite was comfortable and well appointed. Freshly baked bread delivered to your door each morning - brilliant. There is a 20 minute walk to spectacular cliffs and we also had free use of bicycles. It is a lovely area and a grat place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velizy-Villacoublay, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We arrived end Oct.'14 initially for three but stayed on for nine days. We felt at home in the well-equipped 'casa' apartment. Excellent and friendly services. Quiet, natural and rural surroundings. Impressive rocky coast interspersed with sandy beaches. Restaurants, chemist's and shops a few kms away. The farewell loaf of local bread in dedicated paper bag was a nice surprise gift.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A beautifully decorated hotel in a farm setting within walking distance of the Rota Vincentina hiking trails. They offer a delicious breakfast and will greet tired and thirsty guest with a cold beverage at the end of a long day of walking. The staff is very helpful and will provide transport from different villages along the trail back to the hotel. We wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Fantastic hotel in a dream location. I was made to feel so at home and welcome, they even gave me a loaf of bread when I left at the end of the visit. You stay in cottages beautifully decorated about half a mile from the sea cliffs. There is only space for 20-30 people so it is a perfect retreat if you are looking for somewhere to unwind. I only stayed one night. Next time it will be longer. I cannot recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: They're all good in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a self-guided walking holiday - it is quite near the Rota Vicentina coastal route. We liked it so much that we shall return, base ourselves there and do some of the best walks again. It is a very low complex with a main block incorporating a lounge and breakfast room plus some bedrooms and outside there is an attractive pool and an area where dinners are served which is semi-enclosed (maybe meals are outside completely in the summer). Then there are two separate blocks of bungalow type rooms: a block of 4 in which we stayed and another larger one, further away from the main complex. Our room was well-appointed, light, excellent bed, well-fitted bathroom - it was simple and stylish. Our room faced towards the countryside and looked south-west, others are less well situated and look east across an area where cars cross. These are less attractive. We have lovely breakfasts and excellent dinners - the chef is a perfectionist and likes to discuss food later with guests. Service was good throughout, professional and friendly. There are bikes to borrow and the hotel is a relaxed place to stay.

Room Tip: Watch which way the terrace faces and avoid the few rooms looking onto the car park. Ask to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Herdade do Touril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade do Touril

Address: Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira > Zambujeira do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Zambujeira do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdade do Touril 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4 km from Zambujeira do Mar and about 20 km from Vila Nova de Milfontes, within the Natural Park of south-east Alentejo, this unit provides a new concept in tourism. The Herdade do Touril de Baixo provides a relaxing retreat whatever the time of year. In the summer, cool off in the gorgeous outdoor pool, and in the winter, curl up in the lounge by the warmth and character of our real fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Herdade do Touril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Do Touril Hotel Zambujeira Do Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herdade do Touril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.