We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place and stay, we'll repeat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herdade do Touril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Herdade do Touril to your Saves list
Herdade do Touril
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pamplona, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Incredible place and stay, we'll repeat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September and all I can say it's perfect. Incredibly calm, very close from a beautiful beach surrounded by cliffs, bedrooms are perfect too... Bikes available for free, great attention from the management.... Great breakfast.... PERFECT!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    32
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
116
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great place to unwind, with loads of local character. Very tastefully done, nice location (shame about dangerous beach access, nothing to do with the estate) and great service, led by lovely Angela, who never tired of my requests and gave me lots of tips to see & eat. Not ideal if you want something near some buzz, but great if you really want to chill and recharge.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent service and location. The surroundings are beautiful and although it seems you are in the peace and quite of the Alentejo you are just 5 mint away from the townZambujeira do Mar. Two excellent restaurants close by and a few more in Zambujeira do Mar. Easy access to beach around the Herdade do Touril. The swimming pool area is excellent with a nice bar for a snack during the day. Excellent for families or for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautifully decorated rooms. It has got a very nice swimming pool which we did not have the chance to enjoy. Very nice breakfast. It is a very good place indeed. Good location too, very near an astnonishing cape. Good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic overnight stay in the Herdade do Touril in Zambujeira do Mar in Portugal last week. The property is absolutely exquisite surrounded by gently rolling hills and sunflowers fields. The Herdade has repurposed an old Portuguese ranch, including the original home, where some guest rooms are located. Other guest rooms are located in adjacent buildings. It has all the modern amenities a guest could ask for combined with an authentic rustic feel. Remnants from the ranch make up a mini museum throughout the main guest house with old farm tools and other items dating back to the 18th century decorated beautifully in the rooms. It is ideal both for couples or families seeking an alternative type of refuge in Portugal. The staff were extremely kind and helpful during our brief stay. They recommended the best restaurants in the local town of Zambujeira and gave us a traditional loaf of Alentejo bread at the end of our stay. In addition, we asked for a pair of sandwiches and a large bottle of water to take out on our initial bike ride which were supposed to be charged to our room. When we checked out we were told they were "on the house" and we weren't charged at all. A very nice little gift. The property comprises many kilometers and you can utilize the bike or hiking trails (with free bikes to use whenever you wish) to get around and explore. About a 5-10 minute bike ride away you'll find a beautiful, secluded beach at the base of some cliffs. If you're brave enough you can climb down the makeshift trail to get to the sand. It was peak beach season in Portugal and we sat on a beach with only a handful of other people. Truly a remarkable and wonderful experience. This was one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever visited and the Herdade do Touril was one of the best rustic/boutique hotels we've ever stayed in. I cannot offer enough praise in this brief review. If you visit the west coast of Portugal in the Alentejo region, the Herdade do Touril in the only place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Herdado do Touril for 4 nights in July 2012 and really enjoyed it. The town of Zambujeira is a little gem. For those used to UK holidays, a bit like Cornwall but hot and sunny. A very civilised and tidy resort, with mainly Portugese holiday-makers, plus a few other Eurpoeans. Ideal for families. The Herdado was delightful, clean, characterful, peaceful and very well equipped. A great pool and surround, not too busy and plenty of loungers. It's a couple of miles from town so you'll need to be driving. Some great restaurants in town and nearby, but all a car drive.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite remote from the central facilities, others are right on top of them, so conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was our 'break' in between hefty sightseeing around Portugal & Spain and what a great choice! From the start, the staff were polite, helpful & informative. We wanted a fridge - we got a fridge! Breakfast great with lots of choice. Lovely pool & a wonderful setting. Free use of bikes & towels. You will need a car if you stay here as it is at least 25 minutes walk from the nearest restaurant, and about an hour's walk to the nearest town - Zambujeira Do Mar (NOT Odemira!). Their 'private' beach involved a rope to get down (!) but with a car you have access to so many beautiful beaches of Alentejo.
Only tiny criticism - if you are looking for a completely peaceful retreat, be prepared to share with lots of children & families which appear round the pool on occasions. And a suggestion - why not do evening meals - they'd make a fortune! And the post box on the wall is a fake!
Overall, amazing and we also enjoyed our surprise when we left!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house - it overlooks pool & in same house as breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herdade do Touril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade do Touril

Address: Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira > Zambujeira do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Zambujeira do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdade do Touril 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4 km from Zambujeira do Mar and about 20 km from Vila Nova de Milfontes, within the Natural Park of south-east Alentejo, this unit provides a new concept in tourism. The Herdade do Touril de Baixo provides a relaxing retreat whatever the time of year. In the summer, cool off in the gorgeous outdoor pool, and in the winter, curl up in the lounge by the warmth and character of our real fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herdade do Touril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Do Touril Hotel Zambujeira Do Mar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herdade do Touril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.