We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa do Terreiro do Poco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa do Terreiro do Poco to your Saves list
Casa do Terreiro do Poco
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Largo dos Combatentes da Grande Guerra, Borba 7150152, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Borba B&B and Inns
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Casa do Terreiro do Poço is great. We spent a wonderful three days there last week. We found no flaws. The location (in the centre of Borba), the rooms (full of charm) , the quietness (enjoy the silence), the breakfast (more than you can eat): everything is great.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We had been traveling throughout Portugal for 2 weeks when we arrived at this hotel. It was like an oasis after a long journey. We stayed at a very nice room which was large enough for us to sleep, relax and have our own prepared salad. Our clothes were washed for us. We swam in a very nice pool. The owner and his wife went out of their way to make our accomodation to our personal liking.

The property was newly refurbished and very beautiful. We stayed there 4 nights for a very reasonable price and breakfast was included daily for the price.

I recommend anyone to stay there forever how long. If I return to Portugal, I will stay there again.

  • Liked — It was a place to relax and we could walk to market and restaurantes. We could drive to tourist attractions.
  • Disliked — Hard to find because there weren't adequate signs. This is typical of Portugal. The government doesn't allow signs to hotels.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

My wife and I spent a couple of nights in casa varanda of the Casa do Terreiro do Poço last week. The room itself is very cosy with a good sized double bed and its own verandah which is furnished with table, chairs, a settee and a couple of steamer chairs. The small sea-water swimming pool is just a few steps away with plenty of seating and sunbeds for other guests. Unlike many modern hotels all the rooms and apartments have their own characters and, although we don't make a habit of returning to places, we may well make an exception for this one partly so that we can see what some of the other accommodation is like. The imaginative breakfast included home-made preserves and cake and little freshly cooked dishes that arrived, as surprises, during the meal. The owner, Sr João, took great care in ensuring that everything was to our liking and in pointing and, on one occasion leading us to, local restaurants.
Originally we had planned to stay in Estremoz rather than Borba however we were seduced by other reviewers' comments and are glad that we did so. Even if, like us, Borba isn't on your itinerary it's worth going out of your way for a place this good.

  • Liked — The overall ambience and attention to detail
  • Disliked — The low mirror over the hand basin (but I am well over six feet tall)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

If you plan to stay in Alentejo, we warmly recommend Casa do Terreiro do Poco in the little village Borba.
We (a Norwegian family with 2 children) stayed in this beautiful guesthouse for 6 nights in July this year. The first 3 nights in the very nice and special Tower suite (with 2 bedrooms), and the last 3 nights in the spacious, beautiful Suite Real. We had e great time in both suites, and the kids loved it too. They enjoyed the salt water swimming pool very much. The out door areas, including the garden with orange and lemon trees and lavender make a lovely setting.
The hosts João and Rita are extremely accommodating and helpful. They helped us finding the nicest restaurants in the area, and even escorted us a couple of times.
João has a very good knowledge concerning nice accommodation in other areas of the country and even made a reservation for us in another lovely guesthouse by the sea.
Casa do Terreiro do Poco is a perfect place as a starting point for daytrips in the Alentejo province.
And the breakfast is just lovely.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Casa do Terreiro do Poco is a beautiful tranquil retreat within the quaint town of Borba. The hosts Joao and Rita are very gracious and accomodating. From the moment I contacted Joao for a reservation, he was extremely helpful. When I was having difficulty making travel arrangements for later in our trip, he went out of his way to call the inn's owner and secure us a reservation. When we informed him that we were interested in wine, he took us on a tour of a local winery. He was full of great recomendations for restaurants and sight to see. He called local restaurants and ordered food especially for us.
The inn itself is quite lovely. All the rooms are beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Suite Real which was enormous and truly fit for royalty. There is a lovely garden on the property and a great little pool surrounded by a nice patio with relaxing teak chairs.
The breakfast was wonderful too. There was delicious cake, breads, spanish fritata, a nice selection of meats and cheeses, fresh squeezed orange juice and great coffee.
I would highly recommend Casa do Terreiro do Poco. It is a little slice of paradise and the service unparalleled.

  • Liked — Beautiful place, wonderful service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa do Terreiro do Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa do Terreiro do Poco

Address: Largo dos Combatentes da Grande Guerra, Borba 7150152, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Evora District > Borba
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Borba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa do Terreiro do Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa do Terreiro do Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa do Terreiro do Poco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.