We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the adventurous” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Manila International Youth Hostel Federation

Manila International Youth Hostel Federation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Manila International Youth Hostel Federation to your Saves list
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation
4227-9 Tomas Claudio St | Baclaran Metro Manila, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Paranaque
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Only for the adventurous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

If you are on a budget AND feeling adventurous, by all means have a go. I shared the dorm with many (migrant?) workers. The lights were on all night, some were smoking, some were playing cards, no a/c, just a few fans so the windows were wide open on a restless street. Couldn't/didn't close my eyes. I was gone by 6 a.m. Quite an experience though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
4
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Three things I like about the hostel are its location in the residential area of Baclaran although its close to busy Roxas Blvd; friendly staff; and the atmosphere which is relatively fresh because its a fenced area surrounded by trees which reminds me of my home. It looks more like a big residential house rather than as a hostel. I tried getting a bed in its dorm years back but this year I rented a double accommodation room which had basic furnishings - hot and cold shower, centralized ventilation, electric fan, air conditioning (6 pm to 6 am), three beds (there's a fourth one which could be drawn out from bed 3), table, large mirror and to my surprise lots of outlets for me to charge all my gadgets.
Some things that may need improvement: the same menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant (or is it a canteen ?) daily. You order one dish and rice for Php 65.00 (breakfast) and Php 80.00 (lunch/supper); Wi-Fi is available only in the reception area; and no on-line booking (I had to call the hostel via mobile phone)
With a prize of just over Php 1,000.00 for simple, quiet life in the big city where everything else is expensive, it was worth it.

Room Tip: The double accommodation rooms are better when you are after security and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you're on a budget, try other hostels. From a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest), I give this old hostel a rate of 3. No wifi. Room's not that clean.

The only good thing about this hostel is the accommodating staff.

Stayed here for 1 night on Nov. 1, 2013.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here March to April 2013. I stayed here for two weeks. The place is typical budget hotel where rooms have basic amenities and beds are lined with a foam instead of a mattress. They can be dusty since this hotel is near Baclaran and the main road. Rooms facing the road can be noisy.

One very notable incident during my stay is the fact that the Ilonggo front desk staff had a fight with the other staff working in another shift. My brother and I finally got a better room and paid for it. The following day, the Illongga staff wants us out of the room because according to her, that room was booked to another guest. To our dismay, we were forced to stay in the dormitory where there is no aircondition and you get to stay with many other guests. We were terribly inconvenient because these two staff had personal issues. I forgot their names but I saw them change shift and they pretend not to see each other and never talk. This kind of problem greatly affects the guests. The other guest is okay but the Ilongga staff needs to get fired for attitude problems. She is very unprofessional and her jokes are offensive and not funny

One positive thing about this hotel is the surroundings. There are so many trees around the hotel and some tables and chairs for guests to relax. Aside from that

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the ladies dormitory with my friends. Not bad for a price of P270 per person/night. The restroom is relatively clean. The downside though is that it can be hot in the room during summer.Nevertheless, still worth the stay. Not to mention the staff are accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a dorm bed because the place is close to airport. And it looked quite nice on the pictures at booking.com. But in reality it was not a nice place. Everything is old. The beds were not nice and toilets and showers dirty. It's hot and not enough fans. There's no lockers or even a locker to the room. The area outside hostel is not nice. I didn't feel safe when I went to have dinner. But I didn't see any guard at the gate it seemed the gate was open all night. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed one week in the hostel and loved my stay there because
Even if everybody there do not english correctly
Even if the light was on most of the time
Even if some guys snored hard
Even if 10 guys (out of 20 possible) slept in the same room
...I didn't care about the attitude of the staff...

I enjoyed my stay because it was so cheap, the bed is comfortable and I took my earplugs!!!!
Well u have to tell them you'll only stay one night and then they don't check if you're gone or not.
So I paid 280PHP for 7 days :-)

Room Tip: There is no choice in the room. You either go to men/women room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paranaque
0.3 mi away
Red Planet Aseana City
Red Planet Aseana City
#4 of 13 in Paranaque
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nichols Airport Hotel
Nichols Airport Hotel
#9 of 13 in Paranaque
3.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nobu Hotel Manila
Nobu Hotel Manila
#5 of 13 in Paranaque
4.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt City of Dreams Manila
0.1 mi away
Crown Towers Manila
Crown Towers Manila
#1 of 13 in Paranaque
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Kabayan Hotel Pasay
#9 of 27 in Pasay
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manila International Youth Hostel Federation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila International Youth Hostel Federation

Address: 4227-9 Tomas Claudio St | Baclaran Metro Manila, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Paranaque
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Paranaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Manila International Youth Hostel Federation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation Hotel Paranaque
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation Metro Manila/Paranaque, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila International Youth Hostel Federation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.