We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home atmosphere budget hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manila International Youth Hostel Federation

Manila International Youth Hostel Federation
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Manila International Youth Hostel Federation to your Saves list
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation
4227-9 Tomas Claudio St | Baclaran Metro Manila, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Paranaque
Philippines
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Home atmosphere budget hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Three things I like about the hostel are its location in the residential area of Baclaran although its close to busy Roxas Blvd; friendly staff; and the atmosphere which is relatively fresh because its a fenced area surrounded by trees which reminds me of my home. It looks more like a big residential house rather than as a hostel. I tried getting a bed in its dorm years back but this year I rented a double accommodation room which had basic furnishings - hot and cold shower, centralized ventilation, electric fan, air conditioning (6 pm to 6 am), three beds (there's a fourth one which could be drawn out from bed 3), table, large mirror and to my surprise lots of outlets for me to charge all my gadgets.
Some things that may need improvement: the same menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant (or is it a canteen ?) daily. You order one dish and rice for Php 65.00 (breakfast) and Php 80.00 (lunch/supper); Wi-Fi is available only in the reception area; and no on-line booking (I had to call the hostel via mobile phone)
With a prize of just over Php 1,000.00 for simple, quiet life in the big city where everything else is expensive, it was worth it.

Room Tip: The double accommodation rooms are better when you are after security and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
4
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you're on a budget, try other hostels. From a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest), I give this old hostel a rate of 3. No wifi. Room's not that clean.

The only good thing about this hostel is the accommodating staff.

Stayed here for 1 night on Nov. 1, 2013.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here March to April 2013. I stayed here for two weeks. The place is typical budget hotel where rooms have basic amenities and beds are lined with a foam instead of a mattress. They can be dusty since this hotel is near Baclaran and the main road. Rooms facing the road can be noisy.

One very notable incident during my stay is the fact that the Ilonggo front desk staff had a fight with the other staff working in another shift. My brother and I finally got a better room and paid for it. The following day, the Illongga staff wants us out of the room because according to her, that room was booked to another guest. To our dismay, we were forced to stay in the dormitory where there is no aircondition and you get to stay with many other guests. We were terribly inconvenient because these two staff had personal issues. I forgot their names but I saw them change shift and they pretend not to see each other and never talk. This kind of problem greatly affects the guests. The other guest is okay but the Ilongga staff needs to get fired for attitude problems. She is very unprofessional and her jokes are offensive and not funny

One positive thing about this hotel is the surroundings. There are so many trees around the hotel and some tables and chairs for guests to relax. Aside from that

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the ladies dormitory with my friends. Not bad for a price of P270 per person/night. The restroom is relatively clean. The downside though is that it can be hot in the room during summer.Nevertheless, still worth the stay. Not to mention the staff are accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked a dorm bed because the place is close to airport. And it looked quite nice on the pictures at booking.com. But in reality it was not a nice place. Everything is old. The beds were not nice and toilets and showers dirty. It's hot and not enough fans. There's no lockers or even a locker to the room. The area outside hostel is not nice. I didn't feel safe when I went to have dinner. But I didn't see any guard at the gate it seemed the gate was open all night. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puno, Peru
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed one week in the hostel and loved my stay there because
Even if everybody there do not english correctly
Even if the light was on most of the time
Even if some guys snored hard
Even if 10 guys (out of 20 possible) slept in the same room
...I didn't care about the attitude of the staff...

I enjoyed my stay because it was so cheap, the bed is comfortable and I took my earplugs!!!!
Well u have to tell them you'll only stay one night and then they don't check if you're gone or not.
So I paid 280PHP for 7 days :-)

Room Tip: There is no choice in the room. You either go to men/women room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apia, Samoa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have NEVER seen such rude flipino in my life. The girls that work there have attitude problems, especially the one in the evening. They dont care about your hospitality or even respect you. There is much better places to stay in Manila.

Besides the staff, it is not bad for a budget place and the location is good.

I have been staying here from time to time for years but I am done. Done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manila International Youth Hostel Federation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manila International Youth Hostel Federation

Address: 4227-9 Tomas Claudio St | Baclaran Metro Manila, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Paranaque
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Paranaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Manila International Youth Hostel Federation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation Hotel Paranaque
Manila International Youth Hostel Federation Metro Manila/Paranaque, Philippines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manila International Youth Hostel Federation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.