We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful and zen atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watergarden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Watergarden Hotel to your Saves list
The Watergarden Hotel
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jalan Raya Candi Dasa, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80871, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“peaceful and zen atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lovely small boutique hotel amid lush garden. So peaceful. Good breakast, staff is vey helpful.
Pool is ok, there is a spa on site with good prices. Wish I could stayed longer...Hotel offers training to learn massage, facial, pedicure half a day or longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    59
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
118
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom villa. What that means was two separate villas in the one walled enclosure. From an accomodation perspective this suited us fine - parents in one building, teenage daughter in the other building five meters away on the other side of our private pool. There was just a few minor irritations...

I would have given the hotel an excellent rating but (call me fussy if you like) there was cable TV on a flat screen TV in one villa and no dvd player and a small tube TV with dvd player in the other villa but no cable TV service there. Given that we were there in low season when nothing much was open in the strip after dinner hours, having to move from one villa to the other to watch the News and then a dvd movie was silly in a hotel of this level.

The pool bar never opened but I think there were probably only two or three other guests in the hotel so that's not surprising. The restaurant staff would happily serve food and drink to your pool side lounge if you went and asked them.

The included breakfast was a continental breakfast. I had this several times and it was perfectly adequate - the warm croissants were lovely and I can drink Bali Kopi all day long. I would say though that he difference in price between a continental breakfast and a full american breakfast equates to approximately $4 AUD. Given that the list price for our room was $320 per night - I wonder at the hotels penny pinching at restricting the included breakfast types when such a small amount is involved

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

After not having been to Bali in 10 years I was a bit apprehensive about staying so far away from the "action" of Kuta. I was so wrong.

It is not very often you are given a recommendation of a Hotel and when you finally arrive your expectations are blown out of the water.

We had the pleasure of staying in the Suite which basically is two Villas and our very own pool and what an amazing experience.

The Hotel is well maintained, the staff go above and beyond your expectations in regards to service and are genuinely hospitable. The spa offers a great range of treatments at fantastic prices, food is amazing whether it's traditional Indonesian, Indian, German etc everything is prepared with love and care and so so fresh!!!

I would suggest and recommend anyone, if you want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and want to enjoy the natural beauty of Bali.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights NYE till Jan 4, 2012 and I got to tell you we have the best time.
Our bungalow (right at the top) was truly so romantic and beautiful.

You can't go past this place, the staff, the atmosphere, the resort itself is just awesome.

We booked another trip for a further 4 nights later this year. It will be great to be back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

This was my 7th trip to Bali and 3rd to Candidasa. The staff are genuinely hospitable people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable - nothing is too much trouble The hotel is clean and the facilities well maintained. The spa offers good services for a very reasonable price. The food is fresh, well prepared and the menu diverse. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful holiday which can offer interesting day trips to the Water Palace, White Sandy Beach, Blue Lagoon with a private driver, then this is the place to stay. I won't stay anywhere else in Bali now and look forward to returning again next year.

Room Tip: The suite is fantastic - private pool and two private bungalows. Room 3 is also good as it has a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It was our first time in Bali, and we were a bit apprehensive about going there with all the negative news reports, but we were pleasantly surprised, we were lucky enough to have the Kul Kul suite which was fantastic, the room was clean & we had a outdoor bathroom which was great and a pool all to ourselves, we felt like we were the only people there it was so private, we had a great massage. The staff were fantastic and the food was great. We also had a great guide who took us to a lot of cultural places in and around Candidasa, all in all we loved the place and will return.
Heather & Greg Paten.Melbourne. Australia.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I loved Candidasa, it has some fantastic diving and is further away so feels a little less touristy. This hotel is fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Watergarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Watergarden Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Candi Dasa, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candi Dasa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Candi Dasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Watergarden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Watergarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Watergarden Hotel Bali/Candi Dasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watergarden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.