We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Bungalows, too bad no beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Candi Dasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows
Save
You added Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows to your Saves list
Sengkidu, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Candi Dasa
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Pretty Bungalows, too bad no beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed here one night for IDR 200k including breakfast. After checking out a couple places, we decided to stay here as the semi-detached bungalows were nice and seemed reasonable in price. Bathrooms were open-air with plants brightening it. Had a little porch that was separated by our neighbors with a wall. View of ocean was nice with a sea wall but no beach. Although a fair bit of way out-of-town, it wasn't a problem if you had your own car. We would liked to have eaten at the restaurant but felt it was way too overpriced considering the competition in town. Breakfast was included and we loved that the restaurant had sand to wiggle our toes in and ocean views while we enjoyed a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    29
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
19
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

we spent here 3 nights during september and it was very windy and unconfortable. we had the bungalow that was only a few meters away from the sea and over the night the sea is rising very high and some times the waves were so high & nosy that we thought they would hit our bungalow. there are windows, but there is a gap u cannot close - so it is windy in the room too. bathroom is open air, small, nice and clean. you get towels but they don't change them during your stay and you have to ask if they could clean your room. after one day all our clothes and the bed were humid.
nice and cosy terrace with a sofa, chair, table to chill.
the garden is nice, very natural but most of the sunbeds are broken.
the beach can only be used after noon, due to the tide. very nice riff to go snorkeling right in front of the hotel.
best about our stay in amarta bungalows was the restaurant - absolutely perfect. in the evening there are always many people and after his shift, the cook talks personally to every guest to ask, if it was good or what he could do better. (try the chocolate cake ;) !)

Room Tip: if you like higher standart, take a deluxe bungalow. they are new, with aircon, tv, etc. otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at Amarta for 1 week and had a wonderfull time.
The room is good, the garden is beautifull (at day and night), the staff is friendly and helpfull, the food at the restaurant is very good. There is not much more to do then to relax, we played footbal with our son, took a swim in the ocean (there is a small beach) and tasted the great food at the restaurant. From Amarta you can also explore bali by car. Candidasa itself is not much, but only stay at Amarta was so relaxing for us that if we come back to Bali we definetly come back to Amarta!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I stayed one night here with my 'little Balinese family' which consists of two sets of parents, each with one small child. I think we may have disturbed the peace for all the other people staying there - but as it was for just one night - I think they survived. Amarta has all the elements necessary for a total CHILL OUT! Lovely rooms, beautiful scenery, simple restaurant, fishing, lounges under the palm trees with ladies just waiting to massage you. There is absolutely nothing to do there but relax. Ofcourse if you have a car or driver - Candidasa is not that far away. I'll be going back here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackline
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2008

I read about this place in Lonely Planet and had it on my list of places to try for several years.Finally made it in 2007 and loved it.A great location,excellent food,cheap beer,very clean bungalows,and very helpful staff. I'm going back to Bali this year and will be staying at Amarta again for sure.If you are looking for a special place to chill out away from the hustle and bustle this should suit you!

  • Liked — Clean,quiet,friendly and cheap.
  • Disliked — Dodgy hot water system.
  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

If someone is looking for a budget place - cottages like the old Bali right on the beach with a great inexpensive seafood etc and amazing snorkling right off the beach you should definitely stay here... It is not for everyone as the facilities are very simple but at $10 - 15 USD a night including breakfast it is a bargain!
A lot of expats who live in Bali come here as it is a lovely relaxing little get away from it all with no pretentiousness and great food
Amarta Beach Inn Bunglows
Sengkidu
Candidasa
+62 363 41230

  • Liked — the peace and location and price
  • Disliked — hard pillows - I bring my own - Bring your own soap too as it is not provided
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows

Address: Sengkidu, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candi Dasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Candi Dasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows Hotel Candidasa
Amarta Beach Hotel
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows Bali/Candi Dasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.