We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80801, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Candi Dasa
Darwin NT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We checked in with our friends and expected to be located next to or across from as we were in 216 and they in 218. No.. we were two rows away from them. On entering our Deluxe Garden Bungalow we noticed the distinct smell of raw sewerage and on flushing the loo had actual sewerage come up the drain. The stench was unbelievable. When we called reception to request a change of room we were told they could bring deoderiser but they were full and could not give us another room. So suffer it we did with the promise of a change and an upgrade to a Jnr suite the next day. But alas except for a room 4 flights up they had nothing. One more night with the stench and now a dripping ceiling it was looking like a great entry in to the New Year.
On NY eve we were moved to a Jnr Deluxe Suite with water views and just up from the pool.
I think it was no surprise to the reception staff that this room had an issue; hence the strong smell of deoderiser on entry when we arrived.to the room on the 1st day.
Actually the whole resort has some sort of plumbing problem because when the wind dropped there was always a distinct smell of raw sewerage anywhere you were in the resort,
I wouldn't recommend for a long stay. A night on your way somewhere else maybe but not for your entire vacation.
I have been travelling to Bali for over 30 years and this is the first time I have been unhappy enough to write a negative comment.
Also when ordering cocktails from the bar they were definitely watered down. We tried everything on the menu and weren't even tipsy - that was evidence enough for me

Room Tip: Ask to see before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you and we appreciated your comments.
We regret fail to meet up with your expectation.
We will concern on those problem then assure measures are taken to rectify to our shortcoming.
We hope to welcoming you again in the near future with your family and friends soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    293
    59
    26
    20
See reviews for
116
350
32
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After signing in to stay at Rama we were told we couldn't have our beachfront bungalow which we found deceiving. We were then told we were to be upgraded (very difficult when you're meant to be in their best room).
That room was ok except for a slight smell of sewer. Once again upgraded? to a room which poured water through the window frames in admittedly heavy rain, rain which penetrated one of the power circuits and blacked us out.
You wouldn't believe it, yep another upgrade? The room shown to me was out the back in the Zen Garden and high enough to make your nose bleed.
Unfortunately both levels of this tree house were ankle deep in water and the balcony railing was just above my nervous knee.
Finally after leaving three days early, twice Rama attempted to have us sign documents indicating we had stayed the full originally intended duration.
Sorry Rama Candidasa, we would have dealt with it but for the constant misleading.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you and we appreciated your comments.
We regret fail to meet up with your expectation.
We will concern on those problem then assure measures are taken to rectify to our shortcoming.
Hope to welcoming you again in the near future with your family and friends soon.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been lucky enough to stay at several beachside resorts and this rates as one of the best. It was an all round relaxing and peaceful experience. The staff are very friendly (no surprise as you're in Bali) and I loved how every one you passed seemed genuine in asking how you were.

The restaurant is standard resort arrangement, reasonable in price, and can serve to you poolside. The breakfast has a good variety, with some days having better selection than others. Bali is known for its laid back style and the service speed reflects that - but it was never to the point of being a problem. Just know you will be well looked after...at some stage.

The resort has ample facilities for its size and many little activities that you can do for free. There's a little convenience store across the road as well as a taxi stand so it's quiet location is not an inconvenience.

The spa has a lovely atmosphere, although honestly a little on the pricey side for what you get. The treatments themselves are nice, but not particularly memorable. The helpfulness and kindness of the staff makes up for it and you still walk out with a smile on your face.

All in all, this resort delivered on what it advertised and was a great spot for rest and relaxation.

Be aware there were several families and Candidasa itself does not have a lot "to do", so it's not the place for you if kids playing in a pool annoys you or if you need to consistently venture out from the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our prices/rates, our rooms, our pool, our beautiful resort views, our Spa, our foods and beverage at Garpu Restaurant and our Hotel and Staff services.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The resort is beautiful, well maintained, and quite clean. It's a good place to relax and spoil yourself. I found almost nothing to complain about the room where I and my family stayed in unless bathroom door which sometimes stuck and could not be opened. The pool was nice and clean, my daughter enjoyed it the most. But the resort has no natural beach. We had to walk about 50 meter to reach the closest sandy beach, but due to the continuous rain, the path was covered by mud and water. As many reviewers has mentioned, the restaurant was a bit pricey ~ but I didn't complain because we had a chance to watch traditional dance show performed by beautiful local girls while having dinner. It was wonderful. Breakfast was limited but still good.
The only thing I felt sad about is how the staffs treated foreigners much better than local guests like me and my family. Not everyone, but some. Especially at Garpu Restaurant. While having breakfast, I needed more tea and I asked the waiter three times in Bahasa Indonesia but none really respond. Then I called the waiter in English and one of them approached me... very quickly. The only person in that restaurant that was very friendly while knowing that I'm an Indonesian was the chef behind omelette bar. The next morning, a "nice" lady in front of the restaurant do not even say "good morning" or "selamat pagi" to me, she only cared of our breakfast coupons ~ while I overheard she greeted other guests (foreigners) before politely asked for their coupons.
But that's fine, I think it's common thing in Bali or Lombok. So, if you are foreigners and want to spend some night in Candidasa, you should visit Rama Candidasa. They will treat you like royals.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our pool, our rooms and our beautiful resort views.
Regarding the Restaurant staffs regret to know that you met the staffs treated foreigners much better than local guests as your mentioned below, we are very sorry on this matter and will concern on those problem then assure measures are taken to rectify to our shortcoming.
Hope to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your family and friends soon.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

lovely landscape with the beautiful flowers all around the hotel. great pool, excellent staff. nice idea to share stuff to interested guest like making the flower offering for their god, guided walk to the rice fields. good drivers of their private cars. A great place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our pool, our beautiful resort views, our activities and our Staff services.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very good resort in terms of service, location, staff behavior & rooms etc.
But they don't have private beach which was disappointed. If you are a vegetarian than there were not much options to eat. Rest is all good.

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms in autumn and winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our rooms, our beautiful resort views, and our Staff services.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we were upgradet to get the honey moon suite --> excellent suite!
the service was excellent and some nice and free activities are proposed

In addition a very nice and cheap massage is not so far from the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our rooms, our activities, our beautiful resort views and our Staff services.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80801, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candi Dasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Candi Dasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candi Dasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candi Dasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali/Candi Dasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.