We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service and amazing food. Lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashyana Candidasa

Save Saved
You added Ashyana Candidasa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashyana Candidasa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Jl. Raya, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Fajar Candidasa Beach Bungalows)   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The best service and amazing food. Lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the only hotel during our 4 week honeymoon tour of Java, Bali, Lombok and Gili Meno that recognised our honeymoon by decorating our room so beautifully with flowers everywhere. They gave us a lovely ocean view double room with a terrace. Flowers adorned the steps up to your room, the bed head, on the bed, in the sink and a beautiful big heart shape full if flowers on the floor.
The rooms were traditional Balinese style, of a decent size and the bathroom was perfectly adequate. Good air conditioning. Not 5 star quality accommodation but you don't expect this here. However, the service and food was better than many 5 star hotels. They have all been impeccably trained, are very sweet, welcoming, friendly and do everything they can to make your stay special and memorable. Even the General Manager and the Balinese dancers came round to each table to introduce themselves and chat to you.
It is on a stone beach, the current is strong and there was some rubbish in the water so we wouldn't swim there but otherwise, couldn't fault it. The candles and lights are placed everywhere in the evening making for a very special atmosphere. Highly recommend this place for an authentic stay with a magnificent difference. Go to what is known as the 'white sandy beach' for at least half a day. It was lovely, relaxing, cheap sun beds and a good choice of food and drinks.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan K, General Manager at Ashyana Candidasa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Value Guest,


Warmest greeting from Ashyana Candidasa Beach Resort and Spa.

Thank you for your feedback we are so happy you we're enjoy during your stay with us.

Your return is our future.

Best regards.

Wayan Kariasa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed in a single room and double and both were spacious and clean. Washrooms have hot water and rooms offer a/c. I stayed in a lot of basic hotels but this hotel was the best of them all. The staff is amazingly friendly and will help you with anything. I needed money exchanged and they called a money changer to come to the hotel which was a nice gesture. Breakfast was delicious too and their homemade jam is soo good!

There's not much to do in candidasa but it's a nice quiets area to visit. The hotel is located on the strip which has warungs and clothig places which is standard in all of Bali. Lotus pond is near by and it's a beautiful sight. There are no beaches unless you go to white sand beach but I found this cute little cove right in front of the hotel. There are two huts by the water and on the other side is a little beach cove. It was really quiet when I visited the hotel so i had the cove all to myself. It's surrounded by rocks but there is sand too. You can go snorkelling as well, which is offered by the local boatman nearby. I had a good chat with a very sweet boatman named Nyoman (also known as Will). He was a very nice man that gave me the inside scoop of candidasa. He lingers around the hotel around the water so be sure to use him if you want to snorkel. He will even come into the water with you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayan K, General Manager at Ashyana Candidasa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Value Guest.

Thank you for great comment and that mean you were happy to stay with us, we will always keeping our High standard of Hygiene & Sanitation for all of our hotel area and staff.

Our great team so happy to get your feedback and we hope to welcoming you again in future.

Best regards,

Wayan Kariasa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We chose this resort as we couldn't find anything that great in Pedang Bay. We were only in the area to get across to Gilis...but so glad we stayed here!

We got lucky with a pool side, beach front villa...108 I think?! You could literally walk out the door and into the pool, straight from your bed!

It was very quiet when we visited, so maybe a different experience when busy, but it was so peaceful and the staff were really attentive and friendly. The bar area was lovely and we ate in there both nights...really good food!

Breakfast was pre ordered and served on our terrace. My only complaint was that you had to go across to the restaurant to tell the, you were ready, then they would begin preparing it...not sure what the point is of pre arranging a time?

Had a massage here too, which wasn't the cheapest or best we had, but was on site and still cheap by UK prices, so why not!

There is no beach, but I believe you can get to one nearby really easily. There is a really cool pier, though, where you can claim a sun bed and even have dinner 100m out to sea!

Room Tip: Pool side definitely the one to go for...I think it's room 108. However, as it's pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for two nights before going to The Gili Islands (Bluewater Express collected us from the hotel - recommend!) and were really happy that we did.

We had a sea view chalet bungalow next to the pool & restaurant which was just perfect. The room was very clean, massive bed and nice bathroom. And on the porch is a little tea set that the stag regularly refresh for you.

Highly recommend the restaurant - the food is really good :) Spices and herbs are grown in their own garden and they pride themselves on no MSG!

The people working here are very attentive and friendly so you can 100% relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Escape from the crowded tourist spots and retreat to the Ashyana. Each room is a private cottage set in a beautiful garden. The staff is outstanding. They make you feel like an honored guest. The restaurant does a lovely breakfast; they even write your name or draw a picture across the plate using sauce as 'paint'.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach. There was a problem with noise coming from the next hotel on Fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Our stay here was great very quaint and we loved the chalet style rooms. The staff was very accommodating friendly and anything you wanted and needed they were very happy to help. Loved the pool area and it is a great place to relax and away from the very busy areas. I loved Candidasa

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We did not stay overnight at this little spot. The rooms, set in a tropical garden setting looked sweet. The restaurant on the beach served delicious food and offers cooking classes. It is open to the beach air. Very pleasant setting. Unfortunately there is no walkable beach here. It was all washed away, I understand, after developers blasted out the reef which protected it. Still the water is fine to look at.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashyana Candidasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashyana Candidasa

Address: Jl. Raya, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Fajar Candidasa Beach Bungalows)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candi Dasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Candi Dasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ashyana Candidasa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ashyana Candidasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashyana Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Ashyana Candidasa Bali/Candi Dasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashyana Candidasa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.