We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balissa Restaurant

Balissa Restaurant
JL Raya Candidasa | (Main Street), Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia
0363 – 41181 / 081 338 110 668
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 41 restaurants in Candi Dasa
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The restaurant was fairly full and service a tad slow. The food, however, was tasty and well priced. Overall a positive experience without being outstanding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    27
    35
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have visit this warung ( i cant call this restaurant) on 18 January. We was only visitors. Decorations is really good, but kitchen and service was absolutely disgusting. Food was no fresh, i think snapers was refrozen, like prawns. We were not able to eat this concoction. Credit cards is also not supported.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

perched high up away from the busy road and offering good food for very reasonable prices, this is the restaurant we tend to visit most on our annual trips to Candidasa. We love the friendly staff and the view of the lagoon opposite.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our driver, who asks all his guests to give him feedback on restaurants. This was number 1, given some recent changes in management and staff at a few others (where the quality had declined). And no, he didn't collect a commission.

We were greeted with a free cool drink sampler (home made ginger beer, like my Mum used to make albeit without the exploding bottles). Nice touch, on a humid afternoon.

We ordered a salad (ingredients washed by bottled water), grilled fish with a butter, shallot and garlic sauce to the side (fish was super fresh and accompanied by very tasty salad and rice), nasi goreng and satay chicken (all white meat and with the best satay sauce we have ever had in Bali over 6 trips - plus the offer to top it up).

All of them were really tasty and we kept commenting on the freshness of the ingredients and great quality of the dishes.

Along with a mojito (finally, one with a decent splash of alcohol!) and two milk shakes, the bill came to about 250k rp or about $25 AUD. We thought this was great value.

The setting is by the roadside, but then most places in Candi Dasa are. The benefit was being across from the massive lotus pond, which fronts the ocean, so we got some cool breezes that others along the strip wouldn't enjoy. We also sat a bit back from the roadside and weren't bothered by noise at all.

The female manager serving us was delightful, and offered to have us picked up from our villa free of charge if we wanted to return. Which we are planning to do!

Since being in the area we have ordered in from two other well known restaurants in the area, and you can't compare the quality and value. Our only disappointment is that they don't deliver!

Overall, the chef, the service, the bartender and the price were all great. We'd thoroughly recommend Balissa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good all rounder.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice seafood dinner here.

The location is great looking over the lagoon and the service is very efficient.

The seafood is reasonably priced and quite nice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balissa Restaurant also viewed

Candi Dasa, Karangasem
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
 
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Balissa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balissa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.