We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a nice place to have breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria

The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria
Jl. Raya Candidasa | ( Opposite Bus & Car Park ), Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80851, Indonesia
0363 42174
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 restaurants in Candi Dasa
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Indonesian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A building with cone shaped alang-alang roof, with a violet lighted bar. In front of Candidasa's car park and side by side with La Rouge Restaurant.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This was a nice place to have breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

We came here for breakfast which was good value for money. Was here last October 2011 when the earthquake shook the floor. Didn't happen this time so we had a nice American breakfast.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    45
    29
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The service and food were excellent. Such a great variety of food it does take time to choose, but worth the effort.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut Dian N, Manager at The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Dining Room guest,
Thank you for dining with us, we're so glad that you happy about us. We will keep improving, our mission is to exceeding our guest expectation. So in the future, if you have anything unhappy about us, do not hesitate to tell our staff. We're considered ourself as a newcomer compared to the other restaurant you have visited, so we need to learn a lot and also quick. Keep becoming our guest and be our partner to delivered the best. Look forward to see you again in Dining Room Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Rather Stale Mediterranean Experience in Candi Dasa”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to Candi Dasa for a day out and decided to try out the much hyped "Dining Room".

First impression, it wasn't very clean. Table cloths were very dirty. But then we've seen worse and didn't let it spoil the appetite.

As we were a rather large group we ordered a wide selection of tappas and appetizers from their Mediterranean menu and juices and lassies to drink.

The staff was friendly, but not knowledgeable about the menu.

The juices were OK and the lassies were fine.

The food unfortunately was rather stale and it more or less all tasted the same. The bread was old and just reheated in a microwave. We could not identify what it was they sold as foie gras, but it tasted "funny" and the bread was stale again. They provided some already brownish apple rings with that dish... I won't go into further details about the food...

All in all not a good experience and rather bad value for money.

Will I go back? No, there are so much better choices in Candi Dasa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut Dian N, Manager at The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks for Dining with us, we're apologized for disappointing. We will fix the problem you have experienced. For the French Cuisine, we're admit that's our major problem as we're only Balinese that trying to cook it, you probably have had taste better than that, but we will soon hire a French Chef to teach our junior chef here how it supposed to cook and taste.
Thank you again for your review, without this we wouldn't know our problem. We will improve so that we can give the better choice.

Best regard,
Ketut Dian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeauville, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Supermarket pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Not good pizza , fakes juices , poor service , not clean. Will not go anymore! They better have to offer less choise , and upgrade quality

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketut Dian N, Manager at The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thanks for dining with Dining Room, we're apologize for disappointing. We were having managerial problem back then, that now is already sorted, We're now cut down almost a half of the menu and only serve the best we can cook. Thank you for telling us, we've got your point of view. Also our pizza is now improving so much since we change the sauce. The juices is now made from quality ingredient. We will make sure our guest don't have to experience the same thing as you do. But once again, without your review we wouldn't know our problem.

Best regard,
Ketut Dian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Touch of Class.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

When my wife and I think of Candi Dasa, we tend to picture it as a kind of "Sanur in the 1980's" - a sleepy little town that doesn't cater for El Touristos all that much. Well, welcome to the 21st Century, Candi Dasa!!
This restaurant, although attached to a hotel, has the ambience of quality. It looks impressive, it serves an impressive range of foods, and even the bill is impressive(ly cheap - for what you get). We enjoyed our lunch here, and will definitely return next year when we visit Candi Dasa again.
Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria also viewed

Candi Dasa, Karangasem
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
 
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
Candi Dasa, Karangasem
 

Been to The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room Restaurant, Bar & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.