We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Club Sandwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watergarden Cafe

Watergarden Cafe
Jalan Raya, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali 80871, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 48 Restaurants in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Club Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Ate here for lunch several times, well priced value for money food. There salads are fresh and crisp and there club sandwich is to die for

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergardenbali, Manager at Watergarden Cafe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are very happy you enjoyed your meals at the Watergarden Kafe. We look forward in welcoming you back here in the future and serve you with more culinary delights

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    67
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissappointing choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although the hotel is set amongst the lily ponds, the restaurant only offers a very small basic garden area. The menu is quite standard and the food average. The staff however

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergardenbali, Manager at Watergarden Cafe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are sorry you did not enjoy your meal at the Watergarden Kafe. We have a new menu now and we hope to welcome you back here in the future to exceed your expectations

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wainiha, Kauai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Relaxing Restaurant with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I eat here most every day for lunch or dinner and take away their delicious pizza when we get hungry later. We love the flavors and I am especially grateful for their delicious vegetarian offerings. True vegetarian food. Not "Oh, we can make it vegetarian for you by leaving out the meat but charging you the full amount" type of meals. Kevin, the owner, has gone out of his way to take care of us vegetarians by offering dishes with Tempeh, Tofu, and even Soya meat!

My husband and I have been traveling around the world for the past year and a half and it can be very difficult to find true vegetarian food, let alone delicious food. We have been craving a vegetarian burger with a "meat" substitute and had the opportunity to ask Kevin if he could do something for us. He said to come back the next day and he will have the chef create a vegetarian burger just for us! Well, needless to say, we came for our usual lunch, ordered the Vegetarian Burger, and the chef had created a delicious soya hamburger, complete with grilled onions, toasted bun, and all the american fixings! The soya was very flavorful, great texture and the closest thing we've had to a Boca burger in ages. Keven also went out of his way to ensure the chef made a fresh coconut cream pie for dessert.

We love the staff here. Always very warm, friendly, and most excited to be of service. The energy in the restaurant is so relaxing and calming. The Koi pond is fun to watch while waiting for the food to arrive.

The restaurant is far enough away from the road to be quiet and with the beautiful garden foliage surrounding the dining area, it is a great place to enjoy a lovely meal every time.

We are staying in Bali another month and a half and will be coming here for our meals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergardenbali, Manager at Watergarden Cafe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are very happy you enjoyed your vegetarian meals at the Watergarden Kafe. We always try to fulfill our customers requests and are happy to do so.

We look forward in welcoming you back here in the future and serve you with more culinary delights

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“"Friendly staff & good food"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food is above-average, portions are good-sized and staff are very friendly. Just make sure jokes and orders are not confused or you may not get what you think you ordered.

WiFi is free and works reliably.

A resident water hen frequents the Kafe and will peck at your bare toes if you sit at a table next to the koi pond.

The Madura Soto and other specials during our stay at Watergarden Hotel & Spa were thoroughly enjoyable, as was the advance-order-required Bebek Betutu and great range of fresh fruit juices. Only kelapa muda (young fresh coconut) is not on the menu but a short walk to Pandan Restaurant across the street will remedy that, and one can take in the beachfront sunset at the same time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watergardenbali, Manager at Watergarden Cafe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we are very happy you enjoyed your meals at the Watergarden Kafe.
We will look at adding Kelapa Mudah to our menu soon. There are 2 Water Hens and one can be hand fed and many guests feed them and the Koi Carp

We look forward in welcoming you back here in the future and serve you with more culinary delights

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Great Little Bar and Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after spending the morning enjoying the adjoining Orchid Spa. The food was delicious and very well priced, even for Bali. The staff are friendly and accommodating and their recommendation's for the specials was spot on. The restaurant area itself is bright and airy and as usual for Candidasa surrounded by beautiful gardens. Strongly recommended

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watergarden Cafe also viewed

Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Watergarden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watergarden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.