We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple hotel doing a good job” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rama Shinta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Candidasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rama Shinta Hotel
Save
You added Rama Shinta Hotel to your Saves list
Jalan Raya, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rama Bungalow)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Utrecht, Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“simple hotel doing a good job”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is located next to the lagoon of Candidasa, a pretty lake full of lillies. The beach is just some 50 metres away however it does not really deserve that name since most of the sand was washed away after the corral reef off the coast was destroyed.
Now the hotel is quite small and our room was quite basic (smallish, no tv) but everything worked and we had a nice view of the surrounding houses, palm trees and the sea behind it.
We tried the restaurant in the evening and it was really good. I had the daily special , barracuda with a very tasty lemongrass sauce. My wife had her indonesian favourite Soto Ayam with a prawn cocktail. It was delicious.
The people who work here are very nice and they treat animals well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
30
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Rama Shinta Hotel in late Feb. 2012. Initially we planned to stay only for 3 nights, but we extended our stay for 6 more nights as we felt so comfortable there. It is very quiet, the rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful and can arrange transportation or tours. The two german owners were staying in the bungalow next to ours and are looking that things are running the right way. As we were travelling in the rainy season we were complaing about mosquitos in the room - they were so nice to place a mosquito-net around our bed.
If you like cats there are always a few around in the hotel's beautiful garden - some love to be pet, if you on the other side are not a cat lover, they will not disturb you.
The hotel's restaurant offers a good variety of local and international cuisine. The prices are quite reasonable for the tasty things you get. Try the fresh caught Mahi Mahi fish and the balinese pancake for desert...
The beach close to the hotel is not the best for swimming, which did not bother us too much as we went diving every second day. On the other days we enjoyed staying on the poolside, reading a book and jumping inside by times to enjoy a few cocktails. in general, we felt like staying in paradise....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here for a week. The rooms are clean and (typically of Bali) the mattresses are very firm. We got two bottles of water on the first day and none thereafter. There was no shampoo or tissues or hairdryer or television but we didnt miss them! The beautifully maintained grounds are a credit to the German lady owner. The breakfast was certainly adequate with a choice of eggs or Indonesian food (with additional food availabe at a cost) As it was our intention to sit by the pool for a week we were not disappointed and the staff were very obliging with any request for a drink by the pool etc ( I think on some days we were the only people there). The food for lunch and dinner was very good and comparibly priced with any other available nearby. We had no problems the mosquitoes and had a room with an open bathroom however the water pressure in the shower was little more than a small trickle. The wait for the hot water to run was explained at checkin so we knew to expect that.
There are some very nice restaurants nearly, Vincents, Rendezvous and Le48 is right next door on the Lagoon.
We were very happy to stay in the lush surroundings after a very bad start at another resort

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel states it is within one minutes walking of the beach but don't expect a swimming beach. This "beach" is about a ten metre wide stretch of sand and dead coral that allows fishing and tourist boat accesss to an artificial harbour. A swimming and relaxing beach it definitely is not. The hotel consists of two, two storey wings with a small swimming pool separating them. There is not much space around the swimming pool. Despite the air conditioner going our ground floor room was very hot. This was because there were openings above both windows that whilst fly screened could not be closed. In the November heat the air conditioner could just not cope. We complained to the owners ( a German couple) who moved us at no cost to an upper floor room in which the window openings could be closed. In this the air conditioner worked as it should. The owners explanation for this weird ventilation system was that in winter some guests liked to turn of the air conditioner and have fresh air. This may be so but it appeared to me that air conditioning had just been added to fan only rooms without adding shutters to the open spaces. Rooms are smallish but adequate but there is no bench for luggage so the floor has to be used.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms 101 and 102 are the only rooms which have shutters to close of fly screened openin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Good average accommodation for Bali. Clean and spacious but basic. Lots of mosquitoes in the ground level due to the large pond/lake next door. There is a lady that offers massage in the open, by the pool. The restaurant food is decent, but pricey. If you are leaving early in the morning, the staff can prepare a take-away breakfast. The staff is very pleasant and welcoming and makes the stay more pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are quieter. Second floor rooms have less mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is a nice little place with a beautiful tropical garden and a pleasant swimming pool. The rooms are good and clean with an outside bathroom. My room was a bit noisy as it was next door to the reception. Wifi is great throughout the resort and they have a small restaurant with good food. As everywhere on the island the breakfast is pretty standard and simple but good enough to start the day. We only had a lunch here and the food quality was very good with many fresh ingredients. Drinks will be served at the pool upon request. The staff is friendly but do not expect any help to get a taxi for your next destination without paying ridiculous high rates; they will call a driver for you and you have to negotiate with the driver on the phone yourself; a bit more service in this field would be appreciated but apart from that our stay was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first real visit to Bali, and I wasn't quite sure what to expect but as soon as we arrived at the Rama Shinta I felt that I had come to the right place. The staff is very welcoming and friendly, the garden breathtakingly beautiful, the rooms spacious and very clean with lovely bathrooms and outside sitting areas, and the pool very inviting. And the restaurant is very pleasant, serving good breakfasts as well as other tasty meals.
I really liked the location of the hotel too - right on the lagoon and close to the main street but at the same time very peaceful.
I am already thinking about my next trip to Bali and the Rama Shinta!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rama Shinta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Shinta Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali, Indonesia (Formerly Rama Bungalow)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Rama Shinta Hotel Bali/Candidasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rama Shinta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.