We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved MOST of it......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Palms Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bali Palms Resort to your Saves list
Bali Palms Resort
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Nyuh Tebel, Manggis, Amlapura | Jl. Raya Candidasa - Amlapura, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali 80581, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Portales, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“We loved MOST of it......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We arrived to wonderful and attentive staff! To say all rooms are ocean view is a stretch....if you crane your neck out the window you get a glimpse through numerous trees! We had a nice villa! Bed was ok..bathroom was TINY with very little room for toiletries and poor plumbing. Hot water gone after 2 minute shower. Hotel is located adjacent to some community homes (and I mean inches) and by 4:30am every morning you were awake because of the roosters crowing right outside your thin window. Ugh.
However....all this being said....we really did love the spa (very cheap and very nice ) and the hotel staff are all very friendly and wonderful. Wifi rarely works...ugh.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    72
    21
    11
    12
See reviews for
42
83
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We spent 7 nights at the Bali Palms as part of a Barter Card deal. Good choice of hotel we felt, with many in S/E Asia on the Barter Card list. First impression was average as no one was in the lobby area to help get our luggage up the stairs, once checked in, all was smooth. Our room was great, 361, ground floor near the pool but away from the bar noise. Outstanding view from our patio area to the ocean 20 metres away. Room was spacious and very well maintained by the team. On this note, we found all the staff very friendly and obliging. Pool area is great, a nice bar and restaurant also. Food here is of good quality and reasonable prices for a hotel/resort. The only food gripe was a buffet breakfast one morning that was very Spartan and overpriced. The normal breakfast menu is good, plenty of choice and priced ok.
Dinners and lunches that we had were great. Two for one cocktails from 4 to 7 are nice if that's your thing.
Warung De5 over the road is a fun no frills diner option, cheap and tasty.
Cheap laundry and water options are available at Warungs to the left of Palms, also a handy convenience shop in the lobby has Bintang, water, niblies and the odd items that you may of forgot to bring. All well priced. The shuttle bus available is handy, as the other end of town has more dining options. There are plenty of tour driver's on the street or the Palms can arrange. Also ample div ing options and operators in house and on the street.
If you just wanted to just chill out at the Palms you can, as there is regular entertainment and dining events. We found that our week here was relaxing and enhanced by having a room with an outstanding outlook.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My favourite location in Bali as you can easily reach all places of interest from this quiet, relaxing town that still shows you the REAL Bali as well as having everything a holiday maker might want.
The resort is directly at the beach and I loved lying on the sunbeds between the large blue pool and the ocean and feeling the sea spray on my skin on a hot afternoon.
Spectacular view from the balconies and roof top.
Generous happy hours every day, 2 cocktails for the price of one and you can even choose 2 different ones, which most bars do not allow.
The rooms are well set out and clean and the staff is most accommodating.
A well-appointed gorgeous day spa lets you relax right then and there.
The resort’s own dive centre is manned by highly skilled instructors and big on safety.
The resort occupies a large area, nice to walk around in.
The welcoming reception area is right at the main street so it is easy to reach the large variety of great local cafes, warungs, restaurants and shops. Free regular shuttles bus service.
The accommodation is on the quiet ocean side and all you hear is the relaxing sound of the waves.
This resort even has its own shop and medical centre, which lucky nobody I met needed.
The atmosphere of the place is such that you do make a lot of new friends if you wish to, it has a very friendly feel to it. But also big enough to give you privacy. It feels safe to give kids some freedom and there is so much staff present at all times that all your request will be fulfilled immediately.
The open but covered restaurant allows you to eat in the fresh air from breakfast until dinner. The kitchen does not seem to close during the day so meals are available at all times.
Balinese as well as Western style entertainment is organized regularly by the resort.
Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Bali Palms after buying a cheap holiday through Destinations R Us whereby we had to attend a short time share talk. We didn't know what to expect but loved this quiet part of East Bali.

On arrival we were a bit disappointed with the rooms which were a bit dark, had no ocean views, hard beds and dated bathrooms with shower heads that squirted all over the place, but the rooms were very clean and serviced daily and the rooms became less important once we spent some time around the beautiful pool area. It's a relatively small resort and everyone was soooo friendly, from the other guests to the great staff.

The food at the restaurant was very good, and the special dinner nights like "Fire Dance" were great but quite expensive compared to other local restaurants after you add the plus, plus taxes.

My main gripe would be that the owner made you feel bad if you chose not to stay and eat at the resort when he had organised some form of entertainment. There are many great restaurants in Candidasa and I wanted to try them all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late and exhausted looking forward to sleep after been awake for 20 hours only to be disappointed! We were in a 2 bedroom villa type, nice lounge dining area BUT our room was so musty it stunk so bad I couldn't sleep or breath! As soon as the sun came up I went to reception to complain. They said they'll see what they can do after breakfast. They offered us 2 options. Another 2 bedroom BUT it was upstairs and downstairs configuration with no internal access. We were traveling with our 2 children so we weren't happy with this. So the other option was to take 2 interconnecting rooms which were very outdated and the bathrooms in need of repair! ! The rooms were very tight hard to move around the bed and when the interconnecting doors were open it was nearly impossible to move about without hitting a toe or 2 on the bed! We stuck it out but vow never to return and made it clear to them when they tried to sign us up to their timeshare. DON'T DO IT! Candi dasa is a lovely spot but there are plenty of other nicer places to stay than here. Save your pennies stay elsewhere. Forgot to mention brekky is a rip off we never ate there apart from having lunch by the pool once.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

foremost, we thank you for choosing our resort as your base during your holiday in Bali. in the same time we do apologies for unpleasant experience. we have 2 types of 2 bedroom apartment, one is 2 bedrooms connected and the other one is a villa concept 2 stories , master bedroom is on ground and 2nd bedroom on upstairs with the steps to reach 2nd floor is located outside. unfortunately our first style were full booked and just left the 2nd choice

many thanks
Komang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Been to Bali many times, but always stayed in the resorty south, never on the east. This was a whole new experience.

Booked Bali Palms through Interval World, which meant I had a small kitchen. I also was able to walk to many eateries that locals, not just tourists, go to. As a result, I discovered new (to me anyway) ingredients that I wanted to experiment with. The hotel staff was very helpful in helping me figure out what the ingredient are called, and on two separate occasions helped me either get the ingredient or (the less common one) order through the hotel kitchen.

Unlike other timeshare, Bali Palms offers housekeeping service daily, and there are daily supplies of bottled water and instant coffee etc packets. A very nice plus.

Since it is a timeshare, there is not the usual resort-y foo-foo decors with plumeria and other fresh flowers in the apartment. I would pick up fallen plumerias and put them in the room. They don't last long and often come blemished, but I liked the fragrance. One day I came back to the apartment after housekeeping had left, and saw that they went and picked fresh plumerias for me (fresh ones last a lot longer) and added them to where I put my plumerias. I thought that was really sweet.

The swimming pool was a big plus - nice and big and very clean.

There are local people's houses nearby and you hear chickens in the morning, adding to that feeling of being in the countryside.

Bali Palms is conveniently located at one end of the main strip, and is close to many local eateries. there is also a shuttle that runs between Bali Palms and Shangrila (at the other end of the main strip), with stops along the way. Very convenient and a nice option for those who do not wish to walk (especially since there is hefty road work going on right now).

The lounge chair on the balcony is great for star gazing at night. It is not completely dark because the buildings nearby have bright lights, but compared to city skies, this is quite nice.

I had a second floor 1 bedroom unit with a bath tub (room 521) - lots of space for one person. There is no ocean view except for a small wedge of view from the balcony, between two buildings and a satellite dish. But in the evening it does not matter. You can still hear the ocean just fine, as if it is right in front of the apartment.

If wifi signal is important to you, this would be the perfect room because the HUB is right outside roof of the balcony.

Overall a very relaxing vacation, just what I needed to unwind. It is quiet but with just enough excitement and discovery (food-wise) to know that I['m in a different part of the world (but no pressure to do a whole lot). Compared to the resorts in southern Bali, Bali Palms feels more like a community or neighborhood of friendly people. If you are looking for the less manicured, more rustic (relatively speaking - it still has all the nice modern amenities, just not as posh as the big resorts in the south), and a cozier environment where you have access to where locals go, this would be the place.

Room Tip: I had room 521. Strong wifi signal. No real ocean view but if it's the sound you want, this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Have been meaning to write this review for some time now, so here goes. This was our first time staying at this resort and couldn't have been happier. The staff were delightful, the food was delicious (especially the Nash goreng, the best I have ever eaten), and the scuba diving was amazing. Our diving instructor (wyan) was so professional and patient with us, was only our second dive in Bali, we just can't recommend him enough. The pool was huge and so inticing, happy hour was fantastic, the rooms were clean and we went home relaxed and contented. My only gripe is that the bath towels were ratty, please get some new towels!! Thank you to all for a magical holiday xx

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bali Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Palms Resort

Address: Nyuh Tebel, Manggis, Amlapura | Jl. Raya Candidasa - Amlapura, Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali 80581, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Palms Resort is located right on the beachfront with breathtaking views of sea, islands and mountain backdrop. It is a luxury, modern hotel & residential gated resort, offering a full range of high standard facilities to make our guests & owners comfortable for short holidays or medium and long stay residential. Our Resort is just 1 hour 15 mins from the airport on the new by-pass. The Resort has 48 Luxury accommodations set round a very large pool with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. The resort comprises Hotel Rooms, Studios, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments & Villas, many with private walled gardens. Palms Resort is family owned and promotes a strong family atmosphere, with friendly and helpful staff dedicated to your holiday enjoyment. We have a superb beachfront bar & restaurant with Happy Hours 4 - 6 pm plus a weekly entertainment program of traditional Balinese Dance, Fire Dance & Showgirl Cabaret plus Resident Groups. Spoil yourself in Palms Spa centre which offers traditional Balinese massage, therapy treatments and pedicure service. We even have a Medical Centre with resident Doctor and Nurse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Bali Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Palms Hotel Candidasa
Bali Palms Resort Candidasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Palms Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.