We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place for escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort

Save Saved
You added Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Raya no 48, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80851, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Candi Dasa
Manila, Philippines
1 review
“a place for escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Its quietness is what makes it different and attractive to tourists like me. Aside from the lovely room, there are several quiet spots within the hotel premises that will really make you slow down and relax. Food at the restaurant was great and view of the lagoon during breakfast is quite nice, with the lotus flowers all in bloom. 'Will try the outdoor activities next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le48ZenHappy, Manager at Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Ms. Jean,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel. We hope that you will have more time to enjoy the activities around Candidasa next time you come back. We're looking forward to welcome you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    27
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
27
71
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you go to Candidasa, I really recommand you this 7 rooms boutique hotel. It is very charming, nice decor, the staff is always smiling and do what they can for your wellbeing. There is the aircon in the bedrooms, hot water, and a very good restaurant. You have your own bungalow and there are all around the pool but at good distance and you have your intimity. I recommand you this place!

Room Tip: Nice decor, friendly staff, good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le48ZenHappy, Manager at Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hotel, and we're glad that you enjoy your stay with us.
Thank you for your advice on the garden pavement, we have replaced them already with the new garden pavement, and on the process of doing the renovation of the whole property. We hope that some renovation will be done on your next visit to Candidasa. We have added up some new menus on the restaurant during this summer, hope you will have a chance to try it on your next visit.
Thank you, hope you will always enjoy Le 48 & Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the hotel. The main reason we stay is due to being a good location within Candidasa and also it's excellent restaurant.
The accommodation is made up of small cottages/bungalows. With the garden and pool situated in the middle.
The hotel is looking a little tired and could do with some simple maintenance bringing it back up to scratch. The garden pavers are cracked or broken and the small drains need new covers...only small items but would make a difference.
The restaurant overlooks a huge lilly pond which is very pretty especially at breakfast when the flowers are opening up to the morning sun. Of course being next to water you can expect mosquitoes but this isn't a big problem, we bought one of the mosquito tablet repellents which plug into the electric for $2 and haduhh no mosquitoes. It would be advisable also to wear repellent when outside at night. Mosquitoes are part of being in Bali and are NOT a fault of the hotel.
The staff at Le 48 Zen are really nice, friendly and do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place at a very reasonable price with the added bonus of an excellent restaurant on site then this is it!
See you again next year Le 48 Zen!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le48ZenHappy, Manager at Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hotel for the 2nd time, we glad that you enjoy your stay with us. We value your review.
We have changed our garden pave way, and we're in the process of doing some renovation of the whole facility. We created some new menus also on the restaurant during this summer, hope you will be able to try it on your next visit. Thank you for enjoying Le 48 & Bali. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very disappointed the Acrobat Prawns are not on the menu anymore and Salad consisted of Lettus, no Tomato, cumcumber ???. Compared to all other restauarants in Candidasa meals are smaller. I come to Candidasa every 6 months and have eaten at Le 48 many, many times but is has suddenly gone down hill in the last few months???
Service by attentive hostesses, was and still is Excellent. View and restuarant atmosphere is great.
Unfortunately of the 4 red wines available, I was only able to have a glass, before the bottle ran out. Of the 4 reds available I had to drink a different glass of red every time I ordered???? However every Red wine available to be bought by the bottle, not the glass???? Managment needs to resolve this immediately. I am not sure I want to go back but will to see if things have changed in Dec 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le48HotelRestaurant, Manager at Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting Le 48 Restaurant many times, and thank you for your review which we take seriously to heart. We regret that you did not have a pleasant experience on your last visit. We have double checked our menu, and Acrobat Prawns were always stay on the menu. We did not take any menu out, and Acrobat Prawns is still one of our signature dish :). On top of that, we are actually putting several new menus for selection.
There is a possibility that when we edit the menu book to add selection, it was accidentally missed out.

As for red wine, thank you so much for your inputs, for now we do have Aga Red and Explorer Red by glass, but we will try to put more selection that will be available by glass :)

We hope that you will have a very pleasant visit next time to Le48 Restaurant, as all of Le48 staff will try our best to ensure that you have great meal and enjoyable moments.

Thank you for your valuable comments and inputs.

Regards,
Le48 Hotel & Restaurant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a great idea .....in theory!
Although it does need some maintenance as said in other reviews that's not even the deal breaker...
After checking in and being shown to our cottage alarm bells were already ringing when the first thing we were shown in the room was the mosquito spray, after about 10 minutes the room was full of mosquitoes there was a wasp in our outdoor shower a chicken in our back "garden " terrace which is a mud pit because of all the rain. We worked out that here's a lagoon right behind the resort so it's heaven for mozzies and hell for the people staying! The pool was also out of order but didn't matter after 20 minutes we checked out and called our driver to take us back to legian!
No refund offered ,Waste of money. Stay anywhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited this restaurant recently .
Although not a lot of people in the restaurant it still retained its atmosphire.
Food of a tappis plate style.
Situated beside the Lagoon it menu is good and provides a diversified look at food in the area.
Always a must on our calandar.
Only thing missing was the watstaff in the "trademark Blackglove"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our family stayed here for 1 night while travelling around east bali, so for us it was really only somewhere to rest our heads......other wise we would have stayed somewhere else.
Le48 is an interesting place......you can see what they were trying to achieve when designing the property some years ago.......white wash.....white pavers.......white pool lounges with white shade drapes.......white villas.......white restaurant.....funky ibiza med style?
.Virtually every aspect of this property cries out for maintenance and a facelift. The restaurant is an exception, which presents well but we did not eat here. The pool was milky, pool surround dirty/stained, dirt where there would be grass, empty fish/lotus ponds.
For me it doesn't work, and is a champion for the cheap glitzy side of Candidasa.
No beach frontage, no class, no soul........stay here only if the price is right

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort

Address: Jalan Raya no 48, Candi Dasa, Karangasem, Bali 80851, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candi Dasa
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Candi Dasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel - Lounge Restaurant & Bar - Pool Club, located in the very heart of Candidasa, 50m from the beach : 5 Cottages & 1 Villa with A/C, King size beds, TV, DVD, safety deposit box, minibar, indoor & outdoor bathrooms, private garden at the rear. Large designed 100m2 pool surrounded by private daybeds in a wide landscaped tropical garden. French lounge restaurant & Bar overlooking the lagoon providing free Wifi HotSpot (French-Indonesian Fusion Creative Food, Vegetarian, Mediterranean, Desserts, Cocktails, Chill out music, Attentive service & Cheap prices, Kitchen is open from 7:00am till last order 10:00 pm). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 48, Zen And Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort Hotel Candidasa
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort Bali/Candi Dasa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.